We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super tallin”
Review of St Olav Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St Olav Hotel
Ranked #55 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
newry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“super tallin”
Reviewed May 27, 2011

just returned from a five day trip to Estonia and used St Olav hotel as our base.While we found the hotel slightly quirky, with its narrow staircases, old wooden beams projecting in places you would not expect, the absence of a lift to the bedrooms, etc etc I would have no hesitation in recommending . this hotel as an ideal place for your stay in Tallin. It is 2 minutes from the old square, beds are lovely and comfortable and the rooms are lovely and clean, breakfast has not a bad variety on offer,and the staff are very friendly. One word of warning , get a room to the rear as there is a nightclub near the hotel and it can get noisy at weekends. have a lovely holiday as Tallin is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newrysean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    230
    193
    112
    98
See reviews for
136
319
53
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

This is definitely a converted traditional tallinnn hotel that has being modernised. Very nice to look at. Rooms spotless and comfortable. Some staff friendly than others. Location ideal for sight seeing. The old town is worth a visit without doubt. So much history. Buffet breakfast great and in lovely rooms on first level. However, the only let down was when my husband and I arrived the first night we were put in a ground level room to the front of hotel beside reception. Did not sleep well as there was alot of noise, plus it was a saturday night . There was a pub/club across the street from the hotel. So, you can imagine between the hours of 1-3 or 4 am we had no sleep. A bit grumpy the next day but we politely asked to be moved to a room at the rear of the hotel. This was much more pleasant for peace and quiet plus we enjoyed the rest of the stay.:))

Room Tip: Request room above street level or to rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
279 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

St. Olav is a nice place in an excellent location. They put us however, in a room right beside an outdoor atrium-like party room, where a wedding was held. The noise and your typical wedding tunes went on until well after midnight. At 7:15 the following morning, staff started the clean-up, which seemed like a solid half-hour of banging beer bottles against one another. A very decent buffet breakfast is included and the place does have an element of classiness.

Room Tip: Stay away from the atrium-like party room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack-Dru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Was looking forward to my visit to this hotel as I had already read some of the reviews, but I found the hotel very noisy especially after asking for a quiet room and the service from some of the staff was poor especially if they found out you were british you were non existing to them and don't bother handing in postcards to reception as they do not arrive to the people you send them to

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazell_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Stayed here with my partner over Easter 2011, I must say on arrival Andrei the porter was very helpful in carrying our bags to the fourth floor. It is a very old building and as a young couple there was no problem in traipsing up four flights of narrow stairs, but if not very active or have trouble climbing stairs I would request a room lower down. The room was very comfortable and surprisingly warm at all times temp outside was around 10-15 celsius during day and dropped to around 5 celsius at night I was warm all the time and opened the window during the day every day! Bed very comfortable although only one small pillow, shower/ toilet very clean and in general a nice cosy room not too small just enough space for everything in my opinion. Breakfast was superb large selection of hot and cold dishes, meat,fish,potato,salad,bread,cereals I couldn't of asked for anything more very impressed. Young lady on reception very helpful, managed to organise tickets for the ferry to Helsinki for us, Staff in general do not always look too interested but were always helpful with anything needed so no complaints there! Location superb right in the heart of the old town, occasional noise at night but I am a very light sleeper and didn't wake up at all so not really an issue. Overall this hotel comes highly recommended, Its clean, comfortable, ideally located, and not expensive. If I were to visit the beautiful city of Tallinn again I would not hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Howen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

This hotel is very very good value and typically Estonian! Brilliant location in the Old Town steps away from the main square! For the money it's a brilliant hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenrogers87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
672 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 876 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Pros:
Friendly English speaking Reception staff, reasonably priced room (I used a coupon from Hotels.com) with underfloor heating in en suite bathroom!, well located in Old Town with short walk to Main Square, excellent choice at breakfast with selection of hot and cold food plus plenty table space, really cool basement bar (great cocktails!). NB: If in a large group email hotel to arrange pickup from airport (30 EUR return total cost for 6 people). 

Cons:
Squeaky room and corridor floors so top floor room essential, no cupboards for storage (although threre is drawer storage), don't have a room facing the lobby due to noise from guests waiting for friends, some friends complained of the occasional smell of drains.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonotennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Olevi Residents
Olevi Residents
#54 of 83 in Tallinn
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#41 of 83 in Tallinn
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#46 of 83 in Tallinn
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
#38 of 83 in Tallinn
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Olav Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Olav Hotel

Property: St Olav Hotel
Address: Lai 5, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St Olav Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Olav Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Olav Tallinn
Hotel St Olav

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing