We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hestia Hotel Europa
Ranked #16 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great location! Ask for sea view!
Very close to the old town and with easy access to both city airport and main coach station.
Breakfast is buffet but a bit disappointing and staff not friendly at all.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Nato L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 717 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a really enjoyable stay here. Arrived from Helsinki via the sea. I travelled via Linda Lines fast catamaran service (1 1/2 hours) and the hotel is abit of an awkward 15 minute walk around car parks and gravel tracks from Linda Lines terminal, but I think the other larger ferries dock much closer.
The hotel is great, the foyer does have that 80's vibe but the rooms are really nice, well sized and comfortable. They looked recently renovated. The bathroom had a large wet room/walk in shower type thing in place of a bath tub (didn't bother me but some people like a bath).
Fridge included in the room and lots of space and storage for luggage. The TV had a good selection of channels in Estonian, English, Finnish, German, French, Italian and Russian.
Breakfast is a good buffet, lots of selection of the standard hot & cold European favourites.
Staff all appeared very helpful and attentive.
Of particular merit to this hotel is the bus shuttle they run at your request. Only €8 to the airport! Fantastic!
The walk to the old town is about 15-20 mins through the newer shopping districts.
The shopping centre directly next to the hotel has a large supermarket, a selection of other small stores and a great value Estonian buffet place that you can get a great lunch for two for under €15.
I'll definitely be staying here again next time I'm in Tallinn!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Horizonx30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the hotel with the family anticipating to leave by ferry to Finland early the next day. Booking very special (reduced) rates through the internet we still payed more than in previous months, but one is getting used to this in Tallinn where hotel prices seem to be a bit out of control. From the very fisrt moment, the hotel left the impression of being an advanced class (not high class) place for buisiness and more established/distinguished travellers. Interesting enough, most servides are charged additionally (e.g. car park) at rates that are just a little bit over the top. At least the place was clean and the majority of the personell very friendly. A bad taste was certainly left by little Teddy-Bears on the children´s bed (seemingly gifts to the as a courtisy by the hotel) which soon after pciking the up turned out to be charged with 10 EUR each. Well, then rather do not offer them.
Currently the hotel is situated such that it is difficult to reach by car since one has to either break street rules by ignoring streets signs that will not allow trespassing or one has to cross (and immediately leave from the other entrance) a charged supermarket parking lot. I hope this is only due to the heavy road construction going on and that after that at least one decent road ramins to leasd to the hotel. However, for the moment this also makes pedestrian access to the hotel more challenging although its over all position is quite nice to either quickly reach the harbour or down-town at fairly quick walking distance.
Since the next day we had to leave very early, the forn desk told us that we could have an early breakfast the next morning (which as a matter of fact is outside the usual Sunday breakfast hours). We very much appreciated this since it saved us from finding something on our way to the boat. However when we entered the hotel restaurant we were asked to pay a surcharge of 2,10 EUR (small amount, ok, but this is not about money but rather the ideology behind running that buisiness). Breakfast was inculded in our over-all bill, but since we (toghether with a busload of other travellers leaving early for the boat!) got there an hour beofre the time we were not only charged, but the whole thing took place in a rather unfriendly and impolite manner. Pretty poor for a place with the apparent ambition of being a buisiness-class hotel. They could at least be clever enough to hide such charges in the price and then make sure that all staff is euqally friendly at any time of the day.
Facit: there is room for improvement and at the density of hotels in Tallinn I won´t visti this one again in the near future.
On the morning of our departure which was rather early and thus before the usual Sunday breakfast hours, we anyway asked whether having breakfast was possible.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank my-5-p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were tourists in Tallinn, but nevertheless came around to feeling we had selected a decent place to stay. The front-desk staff was efficient; when we reported that our bathroom sink wasn’t draining, the problem was fixed right away. Otherwise, our accommodations were fine. Breakfast was plentiful, varied and of reasonably good quality (the lightly smoked salmon was absolutely excellent – succulent and delicious). We asked for a late checkout and were told the first two hours would be without charge and the third would cost a nominal fee, but we were given that third hour gratis. Very nice. The location is by the waterfront and since we had arrived by ferry from Helsinki, it was an easy walk, even with our rolling bags. We had read that tourists should stay in the old city, but as it turned out we found it quite ho-hum as historical centers go, and the Euroopa was convenient and central to the sights we wanted to see. We patronized the practically next-door mall with its large supermarket more than once. The unpleasant aspect was walking across unattractive pebbled and dirt parking lots and what appeared to be city property to get most places. But other than a few areas, such as the historical center and Kadriorg Park, Tallinn seems to be like that, anyway

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solarvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Really BIG room with lots of space to spread out and relax. Lobby has kind of a 1980s vibe but the rooms are very nice and stylish. Unfortunately my carpet was stained in places; that was the only thing I didn't like about the room, which was otherwise very well appointed and attractive. A nice touch is a stuffed lamb that greets you on your bed; guests can choose to take it home for a small fee.

Hotel overlooks the harbor where the ferries arrive and depart, making life easy for those who arrive and leave by boat. It's about a 15 minute walk into the Old Town. The location is very convenient for everything. Breakfast buffet was just OK - no complaints, just nothing remarkable. Overall, I was very happy with this choice and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hslowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My first experience with this hotel was not great. When I entered my room at about 3 pm, someone has just left it....totally not ready. When I was given another room and key, the key did not work, so another trip to the front desk. They could have cared less! I must say the location is very near old town and right on the harbor which is this hotel's greatest asset. The room was clean but the bed makeup was messy..the towels were frayed. The food in the dining room was adequate but the layout has waitress, patron and table cleaners running into one another. It was touted as being new...but it's cheaply made. There was no air conditioning.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the harbor...otherwise you will be facing a mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jorimrapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The location of this hotel is great (just outside the old town and close to the ferry terminal), our room was relatively large and clean, the view from the room was AMAZING and the price was just right - not to mention the beauty of the city itself and its GREAT people.

We had a very positive overall impression of this hotel and would have given it the highest rating, if it was not for a couple of the girls at the front desk being inattentive at best and quite abrasive or rude at worst. In fact, I would go as far as saying that the two most unfriendly people we came across in Tallin work at the front desk of Euroopa!

The answer to "hello, how are you?" in a hospitality setting is not "fine", even if that's what you're used to uttering to a stranger who approaches you in a bar! It's also not okay to provide arbitrary haphazard directions just to get someone out of your hair when you work at the front desk of a hotel and you're required to be helpful and accurate - not to mention how important it is to leave a good impression with the guests when you are the front face of the establishment.

I hope that the hotel management take a note of that and other than that we would definitely recommend Euroopa and stay there again if and when we return to Tallin.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with marina/water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
2,279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Olumpia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
706 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,541 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#15 of 86 in Tallinn
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hestia Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hestia Hotel Europa

Address: Paadi 5, Tallinn 10151, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#17 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $65 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hestia Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique design and spacious rooms of Hotel Euroopa makes it the most loved newcomer of the year by businessmen, holidaymakers and conference guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hestia Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Tallinn
Tallinn Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing