We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but put off by staff”
Review of Hotel Euroopa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Euroopa
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I would give this hotel a 4 rating but staff brings it down to 3. Its a great hotel if you are arriving on the Tallink or Viking ferries, walking distance. There is also a mini mall across the street with large grocery store. Walking to old town takes 15 minutes. Rooms are large and well equipped. I had a superior room with balcony overlooking the harbor and old town. Great room. The downside of this hotel was some mild scolding on check in for checking in early (12:30pm). The front desk clerk said "check-in is not until 3pm" while he checked us in, a bit of a passing statement, obviously not an issue since rooms were available. So I fail to see the need for mentioning it since it wasn't a problem, other than a mild scold. Next issue was getting ice from the bar, one very unfriendly bartender. I asked for a bucket of ice for my room, he said no buckets, then I asked for a glass of ice and he said no glasses were allowed upstairs. Meanwhile my travel companion orders a double scotch with a glass of ice and is told no problem taking the glasses to the rooms. Long story short the bartender didn't want to give me any ice and concocted a stupid excuse. I was far more insulted by that than not getting any ice. If there isn't enough ice to just hand it out then just say so! Not a problem. Breakfast was very good, quite a lot of variety. We did have dinner on the boat behind the hotel and it was quite good, otherwise there isn't much alternative restaurants from the hotel, unless you want Hesburger (a burger chain in the Baltics) in the mini mall.

Room Tip: Get the superior rooms with balcony overlooking port and old town they aren't that much more in...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Passthescotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Euroopa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 675 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

On a recent summer trip around the Baltic Sea countries, I spent four nights in this harbour side hotel in the beautiful medievel city of Tallinn.

The 4 star business class hotel was excellent in every way, and very good value. Friendly helpful staff, superb buffet breakfast included and the best hotel room on our trip which included superb sea views over the Port of Tallinn. The room was spacious, clean and modern with all the usual facilities expected, and the huge shower was top class.

The ferry port is 5 mins walk and the old town centre is about 10 mins walk away.
There is also a shopping centre adjacent to the hotel. The only thing this hotel lacked was a swimming pool but did not mind this at all in a city that offered lots to see and do.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedonscork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Excellent hotel close to the port of Tallin. Lovely views from our room overlooking the harbour and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very good with lovely choices. We went as a group of six and would definitely return to this hotel. Tallin is a lovely place.

Room Tip: Our rooms were 434, 435, and 436 and we found these good
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briansWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed for one night @ the Euroopa hotel in July 2012 w/family. The hotel has very good premises, it is very close to the port, so it was very convenient if you arrive or leave by ship. The hotel room was big (we were 3 people) and comfortable, flat TV, AC, convenient storage room, good beds and quiet at night.

We had dinner at the hotel an it was cheap and decent.
The hotel offers transportation to Tallin's old town @1€ p/p, but we decided to walk and in 10/15 minutes were there.

The only minus were at check in, because the staff were some kind of surprised why we were there at 10:30am, they take more time than usual checking our reservation (we made it directly @ the hotel website), finally everything was OK. The other issue was that the bathtub has a design that you soak all the bathroom if you take a shower and not a bath.
In sum it is a good hotel for a short stay at Tallin.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseatoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Myself and 3 friends stayed in this hotel in June. There isn't anything I can fault it with really. There were a lot of coach holidays staying, which meant it would be so busy at breakfast you would not always get a table. But we would just grab a tea/coffee and relax in the lounge area until it emptied a little.
I must say that the pillows were the best pillows I have ever had at any hotel I have stayed. The staff were friendly and the location was good. It was a nice quiet hotel apart from the noise of the coaches arriving early to collect the quests.
The supermarket opposite sold everything and was reasonably priced.
Tallin covers a fairly small area, and is easy to walk everywhere. I would warn people who are not very mobile of the paths in the old part as they are very uneven, wheelchairs and pushchairs would be difficult.
I would recommend this hotel, it is good value for money and very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oscar01Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Hotel very nice, staff friendly and helpful. The hotel has a van that can take you to the airport, and to the old city. The breakfast is very nice with a large variety of food items.
My only complaint regarding this city is the taxi service. There is no regulation and some are very crooked. You need to stay away from the white cab's that say Tallincab. You have to ask before entering the cab. Look at the meter, if it starts at over 3euro's get out fast or you will , Be taken for a ride. I had to come up with 30 euro for a 10 euro ride.
Other than the cab's the city is very nice and the population are very nice. Almost all young people Speak English.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Above my expectations-stayed here for 5 nights an found it clean with a pleasant atmosphere and nice view. Most importantly it's a five minute walk to old town which I felt safe doing in the dark, a d a two minute walk to the ferry where you can do a Helsinki day trip. It's also near the rotteram quarter and one block from a grocery store.
Room had a comfortable bed, a big tub and shower, a really nice balcony ( ask for 5th floor) and a refrigerator.
Of note-they have a sauna you can use but it's only free before 10am.
Would recimmense staying here if you want the amenities of a nice hotel while paying reasonable prices, and don't want to stay in the cruise ship chaos of old town but would like to be convenient to it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthernLightsGirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.5 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
878 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#10 of 86 in Tallinn
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Euroopa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Euroopa

Address: Paadi 5, Tallinn 10151, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#17 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#23 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $82 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Euroopa 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique design and spacious rooms of Hotel Euroopa makes it the most loved newcomer of the year by businessmen, holidaymakers and conference guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Euroopa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Tallinn
Tallinn Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing