We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Works ok for 1-2 nights city visit”
Review of Metropol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metropol Hotel
Ranked #39 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Works ok for 1-2 nights city visit”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is sufficient for a few nights stay. Clean and pretty proper without any frills. Good location with short walk to old city center. In an old industrial area with many bars and clubs next door. Not very calm for families with small kids on weekends.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Saxabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    239
    203
    54
    18
See reviews for
80
201
90
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pori, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Hotel Metropol

The hotel room was modest with its equipment: no mini bar (BUT an empty fridge instead, which was great), no bathroom accessories or air conditioning. The room was cold when we arrived but as we could turn the heat on with the radiator it was warm soon enough. I was first wondering how it would be during the freezing cold weather or the heat wave, but since the radiators were working and the windows could be opened it would be fine. We could not use the hotel’s WIFI internet with our mobile phones and there were no instructions in the hotel guide book. We had no time to ask the reception about it either: it would be nice to get the code/instructions from the reception when arriving.
The room and the bathroom, however, were cozy, very tidy and in good condition, as were the public areas of the hotel. I was also glad to see the room floor was not covered with a fitted carpet - always more hygienic and easier to keep clean that way. There was no noise, TV worked well and the location was great: only 10 minute walk to the Old Town.

The staff was very polite and helpful: When I was getting ready to leave for the theater I noticed that my dress was torn and got some thread and a needle from the reception to sew it.

The breakfast in Restaurant Berlin was excellent: lots of dishes, sitting places and staff to make everything run smoothly. The restaurant had a lovely interior and when we had an early diner the day we arrived, there was only one waiter taking care of both the bar and the restaurant: we were really impressed on how she handled the situation: calmly, effectively and with a smile too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maren44Pori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
527 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I had no expectations so was not disappointed. This just off centre 3 * hotel is not pretending to be anything great but is perfectly adequate for a short stay in Tallinn.

The rooms are basic but are clean and comfortable enough. The breakfasts were ok and a walk to the centre took just 10 minutes. It was good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Sauna didn't work. Tv didn't work. No shampoo. Boring breakfast with minimal choice. Room looked old and dull. The only good things about this place are the price and proximity to the old town. Still, won't recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olisiponensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tallinn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

you can hear the next room guy snoring, but the hotel is close to the old town, the bus stop and the Harbour. There are a lot of shopping centers and bars/pubs/restaurants in the nearby. Rooms are big and prices are reasonable.


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

basic room, dated furniture
spacious toilet, but hated the shower curtain
no air con, but window can be opened
free wifi in hotel and room
breakfast is basic, but sufficient
no kettle or tea facilities in the room
5-10mins walk to old town
reception is a bit hostile



  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakupaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Too hot in the room even in autumn. Too noise to keep the windows opened and likely to invite bugs into the room. The bath room is big but the bathing area is too small. Few power plugs. Weak wifi signal in the room (2bars). TV is too old.

Otherwise, good flow of warm water for bathing, room is clean,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank luanma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.7 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#33 of 85 in Tallinn
951 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 85 in Tallinn
1,214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#18 of 85 in Tallinn
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
#41 of 85 in Tallinn
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Braavo
Hotel Braavo
#50 of 85 in Tallinn
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#45 of 85 in Tallinn
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel

Property: Metropol Hotel
Address: Roseni 13, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropol is located in the centre of the Tallinn city, near to the old town. About 1 km from train station, 2 km from the bus station and 4 km from the airport. Hotel offers modern amenities and technologies, meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Metropol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing