We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break in Tallinn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Metropol Hotel
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Leiston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Weekend break in Tallinn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We caught the 90K bus from the airport, 5 euros return. Hotel Metropol was easy to find and not too far from the bus stop.
Check in was quick and easy however, the receptionist was a bit miserable. We had to fill in a form and my pen would't work so she threw another one across the counter to me, nice!!!
Bedroom was basic but can't complain with what we paid.It was clean, comfy beds, two singles pushed together, fridge in room was handy but there was no kettle. We didn't eat in hotel so don't know what the food was like.
Prime location, one direction and approx 5 min walk to the old town and the other direction takes you to the port, approx 10-15 mins. We caught the ferry to Helsinki which took 2 hours and cost £35 return, so very worth it and glad we did. ( I personally preferred Helsinki to Tallinn.) To get from Helsinki port to the center you hop on the number 9 tram which cost 2.20 euro for a single ticket.
All in all if we visited Tallinn again we would stay at the Metropol

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    215
    182
    49
    14
See reviews for
66
185
83
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed for 5 days during Christmas 2012. It was almost the only option to get the hotel in Tallinn that is not too expensive, located in the center and not a hostel type.
When we entered the room, the bathroom trash was full of used condoms and the floor was covered with black long woman's hair. We through the trash packet away and cleaned the bathroom.

Room lacks any good ventilation, so it becomes dry because of heating, so we opened the windows. The look outside is on nearby buildings, so no any good view on the city.
Beds are not very good for sleeping.

This hotel is convenient because of its location. Breakfast is cheap sausages with no meat inside and artificial egg omelette, not recommended to eat it for 5 days.
Instead, Restaurant serves good food.
The hotel stuff looks depressed and does not smile never.
Reception works Ok and fast.
The hotel is full of drunken Finnish pensioners, especially in the evenings.

If you ask taxi in the lobby, it comes in few minutes, but you need to pay by cash and they take each time different prices. We visited some place in the center, once it took 7 euros, another time 10 euros..
They do not use counter. Taxi drivers check were you go. If he does not want to go your short distance, he can pretend he is another taxi not just called by reception.

Anyway, the hotel is Ok because it is easy to book and good location.
Not recommended for families with kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PopperMopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We booked 3 rooms at the Metropol back in July 2012 for a 2 night stay on New Years Eve. Having never been to Estonia, let alone Tallinn before, this booking was a complete stab in the dark. We read into the Metropol on Trip Advisor, and as accommodation was being booked up at an alarming rate, we plumped for it. To be honest, its not the prettiest hotel in the world, but who cares about the outside really!! Check in was quick and painless, and the staff were very efficient. The room was bigger than we expected, with a good sized spotless bathroom. As this was not a holiday, but more of a 'jolly', I didn't really expect too much for the small price that we had paid, so we were very pleasantly surprised. We didn't eat at the Metropol, but a lot of people did, and the food looked very nice, in a buffet style. I can thoroughly recommend the bar though! The local brew, 'A le Coq' is a very palatable lager, and also on draught was a lovely pear cider, both at reasonable prices.
All in all, the Metropol is a well placed hotel, only minutes from the city centre, and moments from the docks, from where we caught a ferry to Helsinki on New Years Day.
The staff, people and party atmosphere in the Metropol were great, and come highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PertLittleBottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I booked this hotel just a few days before the visit, and I got a room at a very good price. The hotel was ok, the service at the front desk upon arrival I was good and the room was found quickly. The room was clean, although somewhat poorly cleaned. Toilet seat was dirty. But it is the only minus I give the hotel. Breakfast is not unusual at this price but pretty good. I recommend the hotel, however the best location if you are traveling by boat, and you want to live close to the city center.

Room Tip: Request a room with a window facing the old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a great value stay at this hotel. Good location, about a 5 minute walk from the main part of the town, and near a lot of nice restaurants - I recommend Limoncello and the Grillhouse Daube.

The lobby and restaurant areas are modern and spotlessly clean. We only ate breakfast there, no other meals - I'd say the breakfast was adequate but there could have been more choice. I understand that may just be what Tallinn hotels serve for breakfast though so not necessarily a criticism of this hotel.

We were really impressed with our room. More spacious than a lot of European hotel rooms (good when you're staying for four nights), very comfortable and clean, and a large bathroom. The best feature was the in-room sauna - we only paid a few pounds extra per night to have a room with sauna and it was well worth it. I'd never seen this before but it was fantastic (see pics below). I think there's also a spa in the hotel that's free for guests.

We only dealt with reception while checking in and out but service was excellent from what we saw.

Overall a very good hotel which I would go back to. We went to Tallinn in September and I'd recommend that time of year to visit. It was a pleasant temperature - warm enough to just wear T-shirts etc - and it was sunny every day. The city centre was lively enough but not too packed which was nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

The lobby and the breakfast bar are great and modern but the rooms are not. The bed was not comfortable and the bathroom was worn out. Breakfast was poorest one I have had in my many visit to Tallinn's hotels. In the same money category there is Park Inn Central that has much better breakfast and rooms are about the same. Location of Metropol Hotel is nice, about a few hundred meters to Viru-centrum and to old town. Hotel staff were not so friendly. No playground for children. Extra bed was not made but you had to make it yourself.
Free parking is a plus. Free morning sauna also.

Room Tip: You can pick a room looking at the harbour or to the old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tessuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We traveled here for our tennis trip. It has good location in the city, well furnished rooms and great service. Breakfast was nice too. The look from the window was not so nice, but actually we have arrived there not to look through the window...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel-breaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#30 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#42 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Euroopa
Hotel Euroopa
#22 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olevi Residents
Olevi Residents
#57 of 82 in Tallinn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tallink Express Hotel
Tallink Express Hotel
#34 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel

Property: Metropol Hotel
Address: Roseni 13, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers modern amenities and technologies, meeting facilities and casino; located near the old city, 1 km from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Metropol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing