We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cheap hotel but clean and well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Varese
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very cheap hotel but clean and well located”
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Ideal for a short stay just to visit the city, the rooms are clean and it is located in a quite area, about 100meter from the center of Tallin. The breakfast is pretty good and the staff
is polite and available for any need.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavel_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    571
    164
    32
    9
See reviews for
151
554
111
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

stayed 4 days with my wife, she said as we entered the room "it even smells clean "
very good hotel , brilliant staff , sadly food so-so, but it filled a hole and great location .
We would certainly go back to the bern

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

I am not fully convinced that this hotel deserves the position it has on the tripadvisor list - although it has a number of positive points. These are, very friendly staff, very clean, perfectly adequate continental style breakfast and close to the old town (but so are most hotels).However, the standard rooms are very standard, quite small as is the wet room (although perfectly adequate). The window in ours did not open (permanently shut although there was air con) and if you are a light sleeper you could hear the thud thud from the nightclub in the basement.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCarvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Even though the entrance is not impressive, this is a really good choice. Nice room and a good breakfast with a nice selection. It is well placed right outside the wall. And that is quite near enough since the town center is small, you need not really stay inside. It takes just a few minutes getting to the main square of the historic center of Tallinn.
There is parkingspace (150 EKR for 24 hours) quite near and the hotel has one, but only one in the yard the you can borrow if it is free. Free WiFi.
The biggest asset of this hotel is the staff. Really helpful receptionists. Our got an earinfection and Olga helpt oss to get in contact with a doctor in no time. Also helping us with written translation into estonian, which was a good thing since the doctor later on proved to know very little english.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sea-mew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norrthampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Checked this hotel out on Tripadvisor and everything written about is all and more.

The hotel is situated right on the edge of the medievil walled area of the town. Five minute walk away. The hotel give a map which is so easy to follow. Lots of bars/restaurants /chuches to see and easy to find.

Got a taxi from the airport which s only 4 kilometres from the airpor this 150 EEK however the No2 bus which goes from the airport to the harbour is only 13 EEK.
The No 2 bus stop is on the pavement outside the bus terminal and the buses run every half hour. Buy your ticket from the kiosk or get a ticket from the driver which I understandis slightly more expensive.

Dont miss the Latvia market of handicrafts in th park on Saturday and Sunday, most of the goods are well worth looking at.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marnie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We have just got back from Talinn Estonia, from the Banks in the UK i got 3900 Kroons for £250, which works out at 15.6 Kroons to the Pound now for an adverage Lunchtime Meal this will cost 300 Kroons, Pint of Lager 60 - 70 Kroons, Evening Meal for Two 600 Kroons. So be aware its not cheap like Latvia or Poland. Tourist attractions in Talinn visit O'Hansa Medievil Pub for a Cinnamon or Honey Beer but assured this is a Tourist Trap and Expensive! We found a great Beer House on a road just off the Main Square that Brews its own Beers and serves great Food in a great enviroment, which is reasonable Prices for Estonia. You will only need two days to explore Talinn anymore and you will get Bored, we stayed at the Hotel Bern which was ok with a great Breakfast and easy walking distance of the Town. We flew EasyJet out of London Stanstead, but you can fly Estonia Air from Gatwick. But make sure you take plenty of Money!

Helpful?
2 Thank BromleyKentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finland
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2009

I stayed in this hotel 1 night in Deluxe room with my two friends. Place doesn´t look really impressive outside, just a normal brickhouse, but it is really nice and comfy inside.
Receptionists were really polite and friendly and ready to help in anytime.

The room was AWESOME!!! It was clean and decorated with style. And own sauna with jaquzzi is pure luxury.

My friend had a birthday and few minutes after we arrived to our room, someone knocked the door. There was our receptionist and she had a bday-card, tulips and little chocolatebox for our bday-boy :-O
How cool is that!!!!

Breakfast was excellent too, lots of things to eat, even for a vegetarist like i am.

I will book this hotel next time too!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kika69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
743 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
2,059 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 82 in Tallinn
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#33 of 82 in Tallinn
340 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 82 in Tallinn
805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#16 of 82 in Tallinn
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Property: Hotel Bern
Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing