We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,394)
Filter reviews
1,394 results
Traveler rating
478
655
208
38
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
478
655
208
38
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeer gardengreat locationsupermarket oppositeold townwet roomnice hotelcold meatsquiet locationquiet roomstayed nightshotel is situatedbathroom floorclean roomsby footair conditioningbudget hotelporridge
Filter
Updating list...
506 - 511 of 1,394 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2014

hotel not disimilar to a premier inn. all staff were friendly and rooms very clean. the only strange thing, which i have read in other comments is the shower. there is no shower base so a bit like a wet room so you are giving a mop to do your own mopping, the best thing about this hotel is the location, you just walk left out of the hotel door and you can see the tower gates , you are just so close to the old town but it is still a quiet rd. also there is a rimi supermarket across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiaHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear kiaHolmfirth,

Thank you for the post!
We are very happy to see you enjoyed Hotel Bern!

Come back soon! :)
With best wishes,
Bern's staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Good location and very helpful and friendly personnel. Breakfast It would though have been good to notice beforehand that our room was located to the yard: the pub was open until 03. am and the noice by drunken people outside it kept us awake until closing time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marianna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Marianna,

Thank you for your post!
We are sorry that you had some trouble haveing a quiet sleep but are still very thankful for your comments about our staff.

Hopefully your next visit will be even better! :)
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Very noisy pub is situated in the same yard and because of the noise of pub clients, sleeping was difficult. On Friday evening it wasn't that noise because of the doorman, but anyway noise enough to disturb sleep

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Riitta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Riitta,

Thank you for the review!
We are sorry if you found the surroundings a bit noisy but you can be sure that we are dealing with this concern every single day and trying to find new solutions to it. As you mentioned before, the addition of a doorman on weekends has already improved the situation.

Hopefully your next one in Bern will be even better!
Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The location of the hotel is good nearby both the Old Town and the centrum of the city. The hotel staff is always friendly. The beds at Bern hotel are too soft! Near the hotel by the Rimi market you may see alcoholics or other addicts, but that can happen anywhere nowadays.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ritva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Ritva,

Thank you for your post!
Hopefully your overall image of Tallinn was not ruined by an unfortunate experience in the Old Town!

We are very glad that you still found the positive side and let us know about it, too.
See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We have just spent four lovely nights stopping at the hotel Bern in Tallinn Estonia. Monday 26 May-Friday 29 May 2014. Although we were a little apprehensive to book this hotel based on some of the reviews about a noisy courtyard , we asked well in advance for a quiet room and we were not disappointed and realised we were worried over nothing. We had four troublefree, noise free sleeps. I have never experienced such a quiet room. We never heard a sound from anyone, such as a tv, running water, banging doors or loud talking throughout the corridor. This may be due to the considerateness of the other guests stopping at the hotel at the same time as us. That said, I cannot speak for any other period .
The hotel is situated in a quiet part of Tallinn. It is conveniently situated opposite a supermarket. It is only a small hotel with about 50 rooms situated on three floors while the restaurant is situated below ground level.
Our room 217, we cannot comment on other rooms to be honest, was not luxurious by any standard, and its contents fairly basic, towelswere changed each day, room cleaned daily, the bathroom is also a wet room, no shower cubical or bath, but there are other nice touches that compensate. Telephone, large tv, free wifi not that we wanted it, air con, in house/room new slippers and a clean dressing gown .
On arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome and a big smile, as nicer a welcome as you may find from any higher rated hotel’s anywhere. We found all the staff extremely friendly and approachable and give a special mention to the manager Sven , and our little night owl from Peru for their help and information during our stay.
As mentioned as there are only about 50 rooms, the hotel Bern is not catering to the thousands that you always find in the larger establishments, so you get the feeling you are a valued customer not just a number. Talking about catering, there is a restaurant, for morning breakfast only as there are no evening meals on the premises. Breakfast consists of a hot and cold buffet . typical daily breakfast consisted of porridge, scrambled eggs, hot pork meatballs, cold fish, various breads yoghurts jams, meats, and cheese coffee tea and fruit juices . There must be a bit of something for everyone’s taste in that selection. On our day out to Helsinki to catch an early ferry we were offered a packed breakfast should we not be able to get down to the restaurant to eat, yet another nice touch.
The hotel is in an excellent location it situated only about five minutes walk or so to the entrance of the Old Town . It is only about seven minutes walk from the New (compared to the old) Town. From the airport catch the bus number 2, (about €1.70 PER PERSON) six stops later, you arrive in the centre of New town opposite the bus terminal which is not visible as it is below ground floor level, and seven easy minutes walk later you are at the Hotel Bern.
For all its simplicity and character the hotel definitely contributed to our wonderful stay in Tallinn. This is not the Ritz but a well run, small, l friendly hotel who staff deserve all the credit they are given in any of the reviews .
Would I go back to Tallinn? Yes, hopefully a little warmer than the 7c temperature that were got while staying there and cannot blame the hotel for that!
Would I stay at the Hotel Bern again? Certainly Yes.
Would I recommend the hotel to any one? Based on our experience Certainly

Hotel Bern Many Thanks
Meanwoodjohn +wife

Room Tip: ask well in advance for a quiet room
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meanwoodjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear MeanwoodJohn,

Thank you very much for this comprehensive review!
It surely shows that there are many people who really take their time to make someone else's day. You certainly made ours!

We hope to see you back for many more times, just let us know! :)
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews