We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant visit”
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Visited Tallin for the weekend. This was the first time to stay at hotel Bern. Nice hotel, the reception staff very friendly, location excellent. The basic double room acceptable, the double de luxe was perfect.
The breakfast staff not the most effective one. If you have glutein-free diet, you have to be active and ask for the options.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sirpa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Sirpa,

Thank you for your feedback!
We are very glad to hear that you were pleased with your stay here at Bern.

Your suggestion is very useful to us and we will work on communicating about the various extras of our breakfast menu. Keeping the seldomly used goods fresh in the kitchen is for the guests' well-being but you are right, we will try to let our guests know better about the possibilities.

Hopefully we will meet again when you are back in Tallinn!
Best wishes,
Bern staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

Nice centrally located hotel. Initial impression was rather hidden away but once we had got our bearings it was good. Breakfast adequate. Room basic but clean and acceptable but with noise outside front of hotel in early hours. Nice hotel bar.
Hotel and holiday made magical by Christmas markets, mulled wine and snow

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Susan,

Thank you for sharing your experience!

We are very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay here at Bern and will be more than happy to have you back as soon as you would like to come to Tallinn. Why not in summer this time? :)

Greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

By Eero N. jan 23-25
Hotell is very nice locating near by ewrything we needed.
Breakfast was lovely, and the ladies in reception and serving us perfeckt.
During the last night in some room we heard wery noicy people, who was noising to the morning and it was a little bit difficult to sleep.
Bern is lovely small and near the old town and shopping centers.
Thank You wery much and we ;ll come again to visit Yoy and the hotell
Sinsierly Eero and Tuula N.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eero N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Eero,

Thank you for the regards!

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Bern. We are working daily to improve on the noise level, cooperating with the nearby locals as well as the owner of the building. For now, we have already managed to have a security personel during the weekends.

We would love to have you both back!
Kind regards,
Bern Hotel's staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Hello

Thank you very much for general good level of comfort of your hotel. I liked location from point - this is center, and same time I have comment, that no parking places. Neighbor hotel Tanallinna had already booked parking places.

Last staying I paid more than 40 euros for parking in the center.
Would be great if hotel will organize a parking place rent agreement with Europark or similar company and guest do not need to care about it (I mean that parking place could be include to invoice)

Breakfast-medium level, there was not any hot dishes ready like sausages , pancakes etc. Kitchen was able to prepared only eggs, Ph scrambled by "made for you" system -that's good, but took more time.

Best regards,
Irina

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Irina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Irina,

Thank you for the letter!

We are very happy to hear that you found Bern Hotel a good place to stay in Tallinn.
We will definately work on improving and your suggestions will be considered, also.

Looking forward to host you here again!
Best wishes,
Staff of Bern Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Bern for 3 nights in January and it was really lovely. The hotel is nice a quiet but still in a great location, close enough to walk everywhere. The main thing we noticed above all else though was that the staff were so friendly, welcoming and helpful. I would really recommend staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Morgan,

Thank you for your warm post and also your recommendation!
We really appreciate your time and effort put into reviewing our hotel.

Hopefully this will be a good tip to other Tripadvisor users, too!
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Nice little and quiet hotel, good location. very clean.
Polite and helpful staff.
Nice little meeting room. Excellent restaurant near hotel name
" Lusikas".

We stayed only one night.
Hotel is perfect for couples for long weekend holidays.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Merja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Merja,

Thank you for your recommendations!
Surely this post will be helpful for other travellers of Tallinn, also. :)

We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed in this hotel over the new period and highly recommend it for your stay in Tallinn. Spotless room, staff very pleasant and helpful and good breakfast. Within walking distance of Old Town Square and ideally suited for most attractions without the need of public transport.

My husband and I are hoping to return to Tallinn for three nights in August before self-drive tour of Latvia and Lithuania and I would defintely consider a return visit to the Hotel Bern.

I agree witgh a previouys posting that it would have been nice if the dining room had been open in the evening but the Beer Garden next door does excellent food so not a problem and loads of eating places within easy reach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Alison,

Thank you for your kind words!
We are very happy to see that you were so pleased with your stay.

Hotel Bern's doors are open for your next visit any time you decide to come back to Tallinn.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
905 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
688 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PK Ilmarine Hotel
PK Ilmarine Hotel
#21 of 86 in Tallinn
1,126 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#23 of 86 in Tallinn
817 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $53 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing