We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel is in the old town and a very short walk from the medieval town square, where the Christmas market is held. Hotel breakfast is very good and plenty of food, staff very helpful and it is clean and comfortable.
The market is small and not the best but the people are friendly, the food is good and there are some good bus tours round the town. Loads of choices for eating and drinking Old Hansa is a must ! Troika is a stunning cellar restaurant with excellent food and superb vodka!
The Church on the hill is stunning and the view is very good but the best view is from the Teletron tower. We did a 3night stay at end of November and it was a great experience, but take your thermals it can get very cold!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Lynne,

Thank you for your view of Tallinn's best sightseeings!
Surely this will be very helpful for other travellers of Tallinn.

Your kind words are very humbling and we are looking forward to see you here again!
Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    566
    162
    32
    9
See reviews for
150
548
112
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Very good location. A very good breakfast. Small rooms but comfortable. Christie at reception was outstanding. The rooms were spotless . Highly recommended. Very close to supermarket and cafes and only ten minutes from central bus station

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Boooofy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Boooofy,

Thank you for your lovely post!
We'll make sure that Christie gets her greetings! :)

You are always welcome back here at Bern, of course!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Good location near the Tallinn old town. Rooms were quite modern. Everything else was good, but breakfast could have been better. We also woke up in the middle of the night when drunken people were leaving from the nextdoor bar. So if you don't sleep tight, this could be a problem.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gauntlet81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Teemu,

Thank you for your comment!
Surely it will be informational for some of the readers of Tripadvisor.

Greetings to Finland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burghead Moray, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay hotel staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful, thought it was great value for money and would certainly consider paying a return visit, We would probably have eaten in Hotel resturaunt
if it had been available
Terry & Pauline Ewen

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pauline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Pauline,

Thank you for your kind share!
We appreciate your time and effort put into writing here and we sure hope to show our gratitude the next time you are here at Bern.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, US
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

I was told by the receptionist that I could pay at the end of my stay. Apparently management changed its mind half way. But instead of putting a note on my door to visit the desk, my door card was disabled without any warning. Such action by management is rude and inconsiderate. It shows that management treats guests as potential thieves.

The shower stall is separated from the rest of the bathroom only by a thin curtain, nothing on the floor to keep the bath water from flooding the entire bathroom. There is a squeegee in the bathroom, but still unpleasant to have a flooded bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Eddie,

Thank you for your opinion!
I am very sorry that you did not feel comfortable by the way we handled this question.
However, I assure you that we do not consider any of our guests to be potential thieves, but there still is a regular policy to make sure everything runs correctly when you manage a hotel.

We certainly did not want to dishonour you in any way. My sincerest apologies.

Best wishes,
Sven Liiv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have just returned from Tallinn after a 5 day stay in the Hotel Bern. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the breakfast each morning. The hotel reception and our room were immaculate. The bed was very comfortable and the only thing change I would make would be a bedroom window that opened but hat is a very minor point. The location could not be better with only having a very short walk into the Old Town. We would definitely highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Tallinn.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lesark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Lesark,

Thank you for your kind words!

It is good to hear that you were so pleased with your stay at Bern. Without a question you will be greeted with gratitude the next time you are here! :)

Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Nice place to stay, good location between harbour and old city. Quiet rooms & Hotel even during New Years Eve! At the reception helpful people, e.g, ordered tickets for us to a concert and suggested good restaurant Leib nearby, which would have been difficult to find......................................

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Marketta,

Thank you for your review!
It is good to see that you can still see the positive aspects despite your partial concerns.
You can be assured that we gave our 100% to make you comfortable and we will definately take your suggestions and try to improve thanks to your advice.

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#31 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#15 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Property: Hotel Bern
Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing