We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, a few drawbacks”
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hotel Bern is situated conveniently just next to old town. It is quite small and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was 68€/night and it was very basic and on street level. Room was otherwise spotlessly clean but there was a good amount of dust under the beds. The breakfast quality was very good, everything is fresh and tasty but the selection is not very extensive. There was no safety box in our room but we could leave our valuables in the reception. They have a free wifi and it was working very good and fast.

There were some drawbacks:
- The bathroom floor was freezing cold, there was no floor heating. Also water in the shower was not hot enough, it was warm but not hot as I like it.
- The blankets on beds were too thin and there was a little bit too cold in our room. We couldn't get the air conditioning system to heat the room.
- We had reserved a double room but our room had two separate beds. It was no problem moving them together but the beds were quite light and moved away from each other too easily. Also moving the beds exposed the dust under the beds.

Despite these things the overall experience was positive and I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a nice and cheap hotel near old town but don't expect to get luxury for that price.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank jibbajaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for the comprehensive highlights of your your visit here at Bern!

We apologize for the minor drawbacks and let us assure you that we take your comments very seriously and hopefully we can make your next visit impecable with the help of your feedback.

Have a lovely Easter time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,234)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bern
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Tomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I'm on a business trip, staying at the Bern in Tallinn. This is a very nice hotel with a great location and attentive service. Right across the street there is a supermarket, a couple of blocks away there are buses and trams and right around the corner the old city. A perfect location to get around Tallinn!

The decor is simple but modern with a welcoming reception and nice breakfast room.

The staff have been very friendly and attentive, my room is impeccably clean and very, very comfortable. The bathroom floor is heated, the sheets are spotless and I've slept like a baby in a big and cozy bed.

In my room there is a flat screen TV, minibar and there are also bathrobes and slippers.

Breakfast is served between 7 and 10 in the morning on weekdays and 8 and 11 during the weekend. There is a fine selection of bread, butter, ham and cheese, pastries, cereal, jams, fruit, juices, milk, tea and coffee.

My only issue would be the shower early in the morning. It took about 10 minutes for the water to become warm, so keep that in mind if you're in a hurry, it could happen. Otherwise, I really cannot complain. This has been a very pleasant stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Room 203 was spacious for one person. I found it quiet and comfortable.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cristinablendea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Christina,

Thank you for a lovely comment!

We appreciate your effort to recommend us for the others and also your coprehensiveness on your feedback.

You are always welcomed back with joy here at Bern!

Happy holidays for the Easter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Staying here now, nice place and good service quality. Breakfast food quite good. Fridge drink prices enormous..:) Place is good as well. I recommend this place.
Staying here now, nice place and good service quality. Breakfast food quite good. Fridge drink prices enormous..:) Place is good as well. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulius_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Paulius,

Thank you and thank you, your compliments certainly worked both times :)

We are sure that your recommendation might help other tripadvisor users see the value of our cozy Bern.

See you next time and have a festive Easter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel is situated on the edge of the Old Town, extremely good location for all the restaurants, bars, and sights! It is a two minute walk from the bus stop where you can get a bus to the airport or out of town. Opposite is a supermarket and next door is a Beer Garden, which shows Premiership football.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were greeted with a smile every time we entered the hotel, and we were provided with very useful tourist information when we asked for it.

Our room was slightly smaller than we expected, but actually was very very clean and decorated to a high standard which we thought was more important, so we weren't so bothered by this. The bathroom was a wet room with heated floor and we had sufficient heating/air condition throughout the room.

The breakfast was good and open until 11am at the weekend. Selection of breads, cheese, meats, fruit, cereals, yoghurt, scrambled egg, sausage balls and porridge. There was also a selection of teas and fruit juices.

As it was our anniversary we were given a small bottle of Champagne!

We really enjoyed our stay here and would fully recommend this hotel :-D

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCliff7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear JCliff,

Thank you for the comprehensive commentary!

We appreciate that you noticed our positive energy and we also want to thank for bringing yet another smile to our faces with your utterly positive feedback!
Hopefully we will meet again in the Bern Hotel when you decide to revisit Tallinn, because thanking you via text only seems not quite enough!

Best of luck to you and your favourite team in the Premier League!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Hotel is located close the old town. In the hotel is not parking places but there is parking hall about 5 min walk from hotel. Rooms are clean but small. Hotel is very quiet. Breakfast is good. Everything is very close.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Viva Stay
2  Thank JarmoVantaa_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Jarmo,

Thank you for your concrete and precise feedback!
Like a true Finn you said it all in a couple of sentences and this is what we, Estonians can understand and value.

See you next time and enjoy the rising of spring's sun in Vantaa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay this week in the Bern hotel in tallinn. We would recommend it to others if they are thinking of taking a short visit to tallinn. Its in a very handy place, nice and near to the old town centre, walking distance from everything nice to see or the public transport locations such as bus stops.
Hotel room was always nice and clean, shame the beds were single beds and not just a double bed though we did move them to be together to try and make a double bed. The bathroom design was lovely and the showers are small but nice. The workers at the reception were friendly and helpful. There is really nothing to complain about there. lovely hotel for the amount we paid!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ruben1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Ruben,

Thank you very much for the kind words!

We appreciate your comprehensiveness and help to the other visitors of Tallinn.
Hopefully we will meet again in the future!

Greetings to Barneveld!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
879 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#21 of 86 in Tallinn
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#30 of 86 in Tallinn
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $62 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing