We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a weird place” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Braavo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Braavo
Ranked #56 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just a weird place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel is weird. The colours are bright orange and greens, the rooms are basic beyond belief and the TV signal is poor and the breakfasts are extremely basic.

We stayed in 3 hotels in Estonia and this was the worst by a country mile.

It does have a spa and gym but it seems to have a timetable for men and women so not much use for a couple.

On the plus, our room was quite, it had parking and it is located right outside of the walls.

However I would not stay here again and would choose the other hotel I reviewed in Tallinn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talktomeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mann700, General Manager at Hotel Braavo, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Good Day
Thank you for your feedback!
Our rooms are bright and colourful and I am sorry that you didn´t find that beautiful. Our advantage is definetly parking in front of the hotel, location in the old town and rooms are big. We don´t have a spa here and maybe that´s why You got confused. We have a pretty big fitness center with a gym and different saunas. But yes, saunas are separately for women and men. In the spa hotels they might be together. Our new water center is opening in 2013 but still it won´t be a spa as it remains a fitness club.
Best regards
Annika Ülem
Hotel Braavo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    105
    70
    43
    22
See reviews for
56
74
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, Hampshire
Level Contributor
190 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

You'll either love or hate the Braavo - as previous reviews prove. Guide books always mention the bright colours on the walls, but you need to know the hotel really plays second fiddle to Estonia's biggest gym which is part of the complex.

It's more like an upmarket hostel than a hotel. Facilities are basic but clean and adequate. The breakfast isn't very good but the prices are so reasonable, you shouldn't really complain.

Good points - free parking in a city with few and expensive facilities. Free admission to the gym and sauna. I tried the latter and it was good. Great location just a couple of steps from the old town. Families will like the Braavo. There's a big supermarket nearby if you're self-catering.

Bad points - well, it's basic. There's an unfriendly system to get into the car park, best to park somewhere near and walk to reception to arrange to get past the barrier. NB it's very busy with gym people in the early evening. Skylights in upper rooms mean you wake up early! I can well believe reports of noisy aerobics sessions although we found it quiet - until the bin lorries arrive after seven.

Would I stay there again? Yes! But it's not a luxury place - best to spend all day enjoying Tallinn instead of lurking about the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the gym if you want to sleep in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farehamvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mann700, Manager at Hotel Braavo, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Good Day

Thank you for bringing out the things that You liked and the as well things You didn´t find so good. True, our biggest values are location in the old town, free parking and a good value of money. As You said we are not a luxury hotel but if You are looking for a good accommodation in the old town then that is what we are offering. Our staff is friendly and always there for You. We give a parking card for each client so they wouldn´t have to come here every time they need to leave the parking place. To me it seems that You didn´t have it. I am sorry that You had come to the reception every time You needed someone to open the gate. I hope to see You on Your next visit to Tallinn!

Annika Ülem
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

location was great! shower was excellent!price was good! breakfast was ok! but......room was right about aerobics studio with classes starting every hour from bout 7am! music blaring nearly caused the whole room to shake! all well and good if you're an early riser but not so good when you've sampled the local beer the night before-also housekeeping didn't change our towels on the first day and phone to reception didn't work! overall 2/5

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadnicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mann700, Manager at Hotel Braavo, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Good Day

Thank you for Your honest feedback. I read that from many places that there are some rooms which are below the aerobic class and people can not sleep in the morning. This is a problem that we need to deal with. In summer time it is not a problem since the sport club is not working that actively. But yes in winter time it is not so pleasant. Today I can only promise You that we will try to work it out this summer that in future nobody would have to suffer about it. Still I hope that You enjoyed Your stay and Tallinn.
Sincerely Yours
Annika Ülem
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We have just returned from Tallinn, where we stopped at the Bravvo Hotel.
If the reception, try to put you into rooms 301 to 309, refuse them !
These rooms are directly over the gym, where the aerobic classes begin at 08:00am.
The sound of pulsating disco music, coupled with the instructor shouting out commands, at this time in the morning is intolerable.
The rooms are very basic, and the breakfast, is poor.

Room Tip: find quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mann700, Manager at Hotel Braavo, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Good Day

Thank You for choosing our hotel for stay in Tallinn. As I wrote in my response I am fully aware of this problem and can just tell You that in the summer time we don´t have any aerobic lessons and it is not interrupting our customers. In winter time I know that twice a week we had a morning class and sometimes the music might have been too loud. At the breakfast we serve boiled eggs, porridge, warm sausages, cereals, yogurth, 2 different juice, water, milk, coffee, tea, toast bread, cheese, ham, fruits, tomatoes, cucumbers. I am so sorry if some items were ran out because the variety itself is good.
Best regards
Annika Ülem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Booked hotel through an online booking website that I have used numerous times with no problems and also use in work so am aware of its capabilities.
When the group arrived at the hotel, the numbers had dropped but on explaining this to the hotel they were happy to change triple rooms to twin rooms, Then when the bill was being paid we learned that the hotel decided to still charge triple room rates and they gave a nonsense story that all rooms are the same and they just put in extra beds. They were happy to move guests to twin rooms which are always cheaper, leaving them with triple rooms free to sell but charged triple room prices. Completely unhelpful and borderline rude. Unwilling to do anything with this situation even as a good will gesture.
The food is also terrible so a disappointing trip all round. Just avoid.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shivers2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mann700, Manager at Hotel Braavo, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Good Day
As I was trying to explain in my several letters, it was not the case. Iif You have a booking through Booking.com that means You should modify Your reservation yourself. You knew it for a long time that the number of guest is less but still expected the hotel to make the changes on the day of arrival. Our hotel was full that day and we had chosen the rooms to the guests as it was indicated in the booking form. It was impossible for us to change the rooms. We always try to help clients if they have some questions regarding their reservations and as well we do change the reservation if it is very urgent and clients don´t have any access to the internet. I completely undertsand that these things can happen and it is our duty to offer the best service. I am still sorry that our communication didn´t meet up Your expectations and hope that You won´t have the same misunderstanings in the future. Best regards, Annika Ülem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Just got back from a four night stay at Hotel Braavo in Tallinn. We are a family of four and we all loved it here. The room was very comfortable and cleaned daily with fresh towels. We were bed and breakfast, but there was also self catering facilities in the room and we did eat in one night. The bathroom had a great shower, with very nice under floor heating. The beds were upstairs and were very comfortable.
None of us had a problem with breakfast at all. It's not a full English, but I wasn't in England !!!There was something for everyone, including porridge, which my youngest loved.
The hotel is situated in a great location. Tallinn is a wonderful city, with so much to see and do. Elk soup in the medieval inn at the town hall was 1 euro and tasted great.
If I had to find a fault about the hotel it would be that we could here the music from the gym, but it wasn't a problem.
We will definately go back to Tallinn and would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aitchjay_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mann700, Manager at Hotel Braavo, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Good Day
Thank you for your warm feedback. It is very nice pleasant to read that You stayed so satisfied and loved everything about our hotel and Tallinn. We do have a really good location in the old town with many extra amenities. We hope to welcome You back soon.
Best regards
Annika Ülem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

I was shocked to see the 'Avoid avoid avoid' comments, discovered after I had booked a couple of months ago. Went expecting the worst and was very pleasantly surprised. Excellent location, just outside the Old Town by 50m, friendly informative staff, very good sized rooms, simply but adequately furnished, comfy bed, great shower/bath, though maybe a little high for people with joint difficulties, walls on the thin side so noise could travel but I was there for 7 days and slept well, curtains could have been thicker to reduce the street lights at night. Breakfast was fine, cereal, muesli, porridge, boiled eggs, breads including the excellent Estonian Rye bread, yoghurt drink, savaloys, cold meat, cheese slices, it was more than adequate, and I didn't tire of it. I used the complementary gymnasium and saunas which were excellent and the WIFI was an excellent connection! And yes I would stay again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trudgerrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mann700, Manager at Hotel Braavo, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Good Day
Thank you for finding time to write souch a long and positive review about our hotel. It is a pity of course that Your expectations were not so high in the beginning but hopefully Your positive review will help other customers.
Best regards
Annika Ülem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
1.0 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel
3.1 mi away
Pirita Spa Hotel
Pirita Spa Hotel
#47 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#42 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#11 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#32 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Braavo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Braavo

Property: Hotel Braavo
Address: Aia 20, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Braavo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Braavo Hotel and SPA is ideally situated in the city center of Tallinn, very close to the Estonian Fairs Center, Saint Catherine's Passage and many churches, guild halls and museums and only few hundred meters away from busy city life - shopping centers, restaurants, museums, boutiques, nightclubs and pubs. Braavo Hotel and SPA is a small private hotel offering personal service to every client. Hotel is also very convenient for clients travelling with a car. Altogether we have 37 rooms. 27 rooms were built in 2006. 9 new room we opened in 2008.In addition we have 8 very special Apartments. These are are just superb for families or just friends visiting Estonia. Apartments are ideal for families with children arriving to the hotel or just friends visiting Tallinn. Apartments have 2 floors where upstairs are beds and downstairs is considered as a living room. The advantage of these rooms is the spacious. All apartments have a click clack bed in the living room. Braavo Hotel and SPA has also great, new attraction, water center. All room rates include morning spa access from 06:00 - 10:00 for 2 hours. Water center has 9 different pools and 5 different saunas on more than 800 m2. Real fun for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Braavo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braavo Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing