We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb business hotel for leisure stays”
Review of Swissotel Tallinn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Tallinn
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Porvoo
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Superb business hotel for leisure stays”
Reviewed December 29, 2010

An elegant business hotel in the city center of Tallinn. The furniture and decoration almost like in design hotels. Very contemporary. Friendly staff for a international chain hotel. Top breakfast, nice spa. A good choice for both business and leisure tourists.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAJORI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,638
    395
    76
    19
    21
See reviews for
265
862
116
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

The hotel has every modern and Western amenity you could need. I was on the 22nd floor and felt quite cozy watching the snow fall outside from the sitting area in my room. The hotel is located in the city's newer section, and is about 20 mins walk from Old Town, about 15 mins from the artsy Rotermann Quarter. If you want to be close to Old Town, there are probably more convenient places to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

The hotel itself is very nice, comfortable and quiet. Not far from the airport and the taxi ride was around 130 kroons, if I remember correctly. It's about 10 mins from the city center, which is a pleasant walk. I got a room with a view of the harbor.

There's also Radisson Blu about 300 m away, which I believe is cheaper, but I don't know how it is in comparison with this one. You could consider that as an alternative.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I've been to Café Swiss 10 times and lots of the times it was good but this time the experience was absolutely disgusting. Was the chef having an extremely bad day and where was the FBM manager ... certainly she had not checked the quality of the dishes?

The Swiss Café lunch buffet has been going down in quality for some time. The cheese like soup had become thick after staying still so long and the fish soup looked and smelled like a soup from hell.

An absolutely disgusting tofu-potato curry with soggy and 100 % tasteless rice was so bad I had to release it from my mouth.

The potato smash was oversalted( as all the dishes here like the carrrot -orange soup two months ago had triple salt and was completely inedible) and the smash had sharp hard bits of lemongrass chopped into. Yuck . . .! Watch out for these bits getting under your teeth or stuck in your throat! They wont dissolve.

The butter fish was dry and was accompanied by the most deappetising black color squid veloute that looked like petroleum!

As bad was the service staff: There were 6 on duty and not a single one approcahed me to offer a drink though the place was almost empty.

Unreceptive, arrogant and contemptuous toward customers, a hotel school rookie started defending their chef's dishes to me and picking an argument with me when : I was told bluntly that's just your opinion and that the tofu stew is one of the best in the world. Oriental Hell's Kitchen I told them Gordon Ramsay would have tossed out of the window the whole buffet.

Finally a pompous FBM manager arrived but i could see she had no concept of food quality since in the midst of her proposals a smirk kept shing through her face and never did they even bother to taste what was wrong with the dishes, yet alone remove t hem from the buffet.

The Swiss café in Tallinn Swisshotel is a dismal experience run by service staff of a look alike backwater country who seem to have repressed inverted notions of hospitality, and no experience in 5 star hotel guest management. Yer the female staff on duty looked like they thought they were working at the Ritz..

20 year old service staff act in complecent way moving about lazy doing nothing and pretended to know better than a seasoned traveller with 25 years of frequent travelling. The GM of this hotel would be well advised to find new staff or close down the Swiss Café altogether based on this experience.

Similarly incredible is the fact that the hotel's pastry chef has been serving all the cakes of the lobby pastry shop with the same vanilla and chocolate custard combination ever since the hotel's been here probably. I tried to ask what had happened to the raspberry coulis and caramel sauces; and why t hey dont match each cake with an appropriate sauce apparently they never had them.
The true test of a hotel comes with frequent visitors. This is when a hotel will show its true face.

This is the kind of hotel you might like to visit once but on repeat visits it starts looking like the most depersonalized and least convivial hotel in Tallinn with the same spaceultrareal' cant feel comfy 'whatever music playing in the background for years.

The money would have been well spent to create for Tallinn a true 5 star hotel and not a mockery of a five star hotel. Combined with the USSR self-effaced style attitude of the service staff and stuck in service and cultural immobility, this experience casts true light on how incompetent and mediocre hotel management in wannabe 5 star facilities regularly fail in their most important job: the provision of hospitality and comfort for diners and travellers.

In ten visits here there was only one person on duty at this hotel deserving of a commendation: a waitress with inborn hospitality concept. Which brings us back to a saying from an old friend: the fact that hospitality is inborn, it cannot be taught.


From
Frequent traveller, restaurant critique
Hospitality Management Consultant

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurre200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL_Swissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
The management of the hotel regrets that the reviewer was dissatisfied with the lunch buffet on the 8th of November 2010.
The General Manager of Swissotel Tallinn cordially invites the reviewer for a (complimentary) buffet luncheon with him in order to better understand the comments and criticism of the reviewer on the product and service. It is the first time in the history of Swissotel Tallinn that wording like this has been used in a review about the hotel.
The management of the hotel is heartened by the fact that 94% of the 135 other reviews on Tripadvisor recommend Swissotel Tallinn. 105 guests rated the hotel 'excellent'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Located walking distance or short drive from both Tallinn International Airport and the Old Town, the hotel is clean and modern. Staff is friendly and speaks good English and some Russian. Rooms are decent though not very big; they also lack drawers for papers/books. Wireless and wired Internet is complimentary but sometimes slow and/or glitchy.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

t is very modern and top quality hotel. The rooms have a luxury “Nespresso” coffeemaker. Be careful you don’t flood the room before you get the hang of the machine. The room was set up with a comfy arm chair and foot stool beside the window and I would have been happy to sit there all day watching the world go by with a coffee in my hand. Free wi-fi was also available.
Location was slightly out of the way, but the old town (15 mintes for us Gen Y’ers trapped in baby boomers’ bodies) , restaurants and attractions are all easily accessible by foot.
Taxi from the airport to the hotel is approx. 120 kronas and from the hotel to the center depending on the taxi is between 35-80 kronas. As usual the one waiting in front of the door is the most expensive one in town; we got ripped off on one of the nights with a bill of 700 kronas while the return trip was only under 200 kronas.
Quite about the only thing, what irritated me was that concierge helps with check-in and we had to wait a mighty long time just to borrow a couple of umbrellas. My only other slight criticism would be that the square shallow handbasin in tasteful black looked good but was rather impractical in use – an example of design before function!
A truly memorable stay, as BeRt would agree…memories are made of this
(www.perfyi.wordpress.com)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauljer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level 6 Contributor
867 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,426 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

this is an excellent establishment, very high level of service, large room, wonderful view (mine was at the 23rd floor), nice and comfortable SPA and very good food. And excellent value for money at 130 euros!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apalmero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
544 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
0.6 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Tallinn

Property: Swissotel Tallinn
Address: Tornimaee 3, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Tallinn 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel is set in Tallinn's city center, 800 meters from the Old Town. The hotel offers 238 elegantly appointed guest rooms. Uniquely in Tallinn, the hotel has Executive Floors and a dedicated Swiss Executive Club Lounge. The hotel houses two restaurants and a deli for guests on the run; Purovel Spa & Sport delivers private fitness and relaxation facilities, including an indoor pool, a gym, a sauna and a steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swissotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Tallinn Hotel Tallinn
Swissotel Hotel Tallinn
Tallinn Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing