We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Tallinn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swissotel Tallinn
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is a glass building (about 30 floors) located not far away from the Old city (about 10 min walk) and 10 min by car from the airport. However, this could be tough to travel as pedestrian roads were not cleaned and after some time we had our leather shoes completely spoiled with salty spots... Next to the hotel there is Scandinavian famous Stockman store where you can buy anything you need (food, clothes, perfume etc.)
We arrived at 10am and, though I asked earlier when booked the hotel that we have an early check in, no room was available, so we left our bags and went to the city to do some shopping (really recommend to buy wool clothes in the Old city). Around 1pm we returned back and got a room on the 17th Floor (we've been upgraded to sea view, though, reception did not inform us on that).
Room is about 30 sqm with excellent bathroom (both bath and walk-in shower). View was not so great, so I would not recommend to pay extra for that. We liked a lot half transparent wall of a bathroom. You cannot see what's inside, but it's a great feeling of extra space in the room. Bed was good, but pillows were small, which is quite typical for Europeans. Coffee machine, some fruits, bathrobes and sleepers we've been given were nice. The only thing we did not really understood was a small TV (probably 26'') that you can hardly see from the bed and absence of drinking water. SPA was medium (strange people inside obviously not hotel guests), but service there was excellent. Breakfast was very good, so could recommend to use their special rate with breakfast. Checking out was quick and easy no extra payments. Overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: we see no reason for sea view. Breakfast was very good, so recommend to book special rate with break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,382
    332
    58
    15
    15
See reviews for
221
716
96
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
243 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The best about this hotel is the decor and the highly professional staff. The spaces are beautiful, modern and very clean. The staff is very attentive, professional and friendly. Everyone were just amazing starting from the bellboy, the receptionist, restaurant staff and the people at the spa and by the pool. We didn't have to ask for anything because absolutely everything was told or offered before we even thought of asking for it.

The room was very spacious and the view was great! Breakfast was very good, but we really didn't like that the staff offered us coffee instead us getting it ourselves - we really had to wait for it for a long time every time. The waitresses were extremely busy and they seriously couldn't keep up with the customers. People were waiting for coffee, spoons, cleaning of the table etc. Also, when we left breakfast on one morning there were about 15 people waiting to get in the breakfast room. The room was full and people had to wait for their turn for quite a long time.

Also, I must complain about how the sleep quality was quite low. We heard the traffic even though we were on 19th floor! We also heard sounds from the room near us during the night. It was quite annoying. Also, the room got really cold during the night even though we adjusted the heating.

The spa and pool area were great! There wasn't a jacuzzi or even a second pool but it didn't matter because the pool area was beautiful, the pool was huge and the two saunas were great! Very nice facilities!

All in all, a good hotel, special thanks to amazing staff. Location is good and central, near Stockmann and Kaubamaja/Viru Keskus, about 10-15 min walk from the Old Town. There's a cute little cafe in the hotel, just by the entrance offering beautiful pastries! =)

The hotel bar was small but nice. Good wine selection.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristiina83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was our first visit in Swissotel Tallinn, and we liked the stay there. The location is a little bit further away from the old town, but convenient thinking about shopping at Stockmann´s or at Kaubamaja or Virukeskus. We found the service extremely professional and friendly.

The standard rooms were spacious and decorated in a calm and even a bit luxurius style. Our double bed was really large and very convenient. The view over the town with lights shining in the dark was special. The bathroom was really nice with the small dark and bronze coloured decoration tiles. The cleaning staff had taken some liberties, though, as the bathroom was a bit dusty.

The breakfast was lavish, with practically anything we could hope for. Even a chef to prepare the eggs to our liking. The fruit selection was fresh. The only minus was that on Friday morning the cafe was full and we needed to wait for a while to be seated. This is definitely not something you expect for this price.

A complimentary use of the small spa area with a gym, a 20-meter long swimming pool and two saunas was a nice extra to our stay.

We felt we got what we paid for, and are happy to return and recommend the hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FinnFtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was the third time my partner and I stayed in Swissotel during our weekend trip in Tallinn.
Tallinn is such a good destination as it's only two hours away from Finnish capital Helsinki by a ferry.
Two previous times in this hotel we have stayed in normal rooms. This time we decided to upgrade us to the executive floor.
Our room was located in 29th floor, the highest floor that accommodate rooms in this building. Fast and smooth check in was made in the executive lounge, one floor lower.
When we got into our room, we found out that it was identical with normal rooms. The only difference we noticed was the bathroom amenities that were bigger in size.
However, Swissotel has nice rooms with comfy beds and pillows. The room also offered amazing views so no complaints.
Soon after checking our room we returned to the lounge to have some "snacks" as they advertise. We were positively surprised.
This so called snacks turned out to be a full dinner buffet and it included, for example, pork escalopes, mussels, pike perch, and ravioli. The quality of food was excellent and we decided not to eat out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelboysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel in 2011 for 2 nights. The rooms were spacious, beds comfortable and the staff at the front desk helpful, they organised an early morning taxi pick-up for us to go to the airport. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naantali, Finland
Level Contributor
242 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

The Swisshotel buffet offers a number of delicious first dishes, main courses and wonderful desserts. The service is very friendly and the staff speaks good English. The space is sober and the atmosphere is paeceful. The hotel parking garage makes the access very easy.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Timo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Modern hotel very quiet rooms and lovely spa. Will happily return to use it again when next in Tallinn. Professional unobtrusive service. Always a taxi outside and very handy for the airport.
Not in the oldtown but only a couple of minutes walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,670 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
#12 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#11 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#4 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 967 reviews
0.6 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#9 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Tallinn

Property: Swissotel Tallinn
Address: Tornimaee 3, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#1 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Tallinn 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel is set in Tallinn's city center, 800 meters from the Old Town. The hotel offers 238 elegantly appointed guest rooms. Uniquely in Tallinn, the hotel has Executive Floors and a dedicated Swiss Executive Club Lounge. The hotel houses two restaurants and a deli for guests on the run; Purovel Spa & Sport delivers private fitness and relaxation facilities, including an indoor pool, a gym, a sauna and a steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Swissotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Tallinn Hotel Tallinn
Swissotel Hotel Tallinn
Tallinn Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing