We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Swissotel Tallinn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Tallinn
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Modern hotel very quiet rooms and lovely spa. Will happily return to use it again when next in Tallinn. Professional unobtrusive service. Always a taxi outside and very handy for the airport.
Not in the oldtown but only a couple of minutes walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,582
    375
    69
    19
    19
See reviews for
251
822
110
556
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for three nights and I wish I didn't had to leave. We booked the one-bedroom suite which was BEAUTIFUL! The staff was excellent and very serviceminded! The suite was absolutely gorgeous with (what I believe) the best view in Tallinn. The bathroom was breath-taking, really spacious with an awesome shower (I usually don't like hotel showers) and a bath-tub. The bed was comfortable, and the livingroom had a sofa, a chair, a TV, coffee maker and a work-desk. I could just stay in that suite for the whole weekend I think.. (I didn't though). The Purövel SPA is also great. Both the SPA section and the gym section.
The hotel is not located in the Old Town, it takes about 10 minutes to walk there, but the Swissotel is worth it! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altforrognan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I, together with my two daughters of 14 and 17 years old, stayed in Swissôtel Tallinn for 10 days in the month of august for the taekwondo world championship that my daughter participated. We chose the “family room plan”, with two connected rooms and two bathrooms. When we arrived, my daughters were welcomed with hot chocolates, popcorn and a nut candy bar, all in the form of a smiley face – extremely inviting after a long flight from Brazil.
The rooms were big, clean and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was very hearty, with hot plates, juices made at the front of the room and beautiful ambient with view to the city.
The hotel was well localized, a small walking distance from the old part of the city; Viru mall and Solaris mall. We made a good use of the heated pool, sauna and gym after a long day of walking around the town.
I would certainly return to this hotel when in a next passage throw Tallinn and recommend to anyone who wants to enjoy a good time in a pleasant atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Loved it! I had read a lot about the before the stay and was pretty hyped to stay in "Estonias best hotel" and it actually was what promised!
Our standard room with harbour view was actually very big for a standard room and bathroom was the nicest I've ever witnessed with separate bath and shover, nice amenities. Staff at front desk spoke very good english and made us feel very comfortable which isn't always the case in this kind of hotels.
Didn't use the spa but took a little peek inside where we were welcomed in right away and taken to little tour around. Topfloors fine dining restaurant was closed so we had dinner in restaurant in some lower floor, nothing memorable but good food for pretty decent price. Breakfast was served in same restaurant and was great! Made to order omeletts and juices etc..
We'll definetely return when in Tallinn again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pajis544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Swiss Hotel in Tallinn. The rooms were very spacious, fresh and comfortable. The food and beverage experience was fantastic, especially at the restaurant on the top floor. We also enjoyed the spa and gym facilities which was a real treat, with really helpful and friendly staff. Overall, the staff was very service minded, friendly and helpful, which made our stay very special, especially the housekeeping staff, the hands-on concierge team and the restaurant team. I can truly recommend this hotel for a nice long weekend in Tallinn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

For a weekend trip to Tallinn we spent 3 nights at the hotel and were very much surprised by the quality and the service. We will go through all items as we more or less experienced them.

- First impression was nice. A spacious lobby with a coffee corner with pastries and a bar on the other side. More than enough places to sit.
- The reception was staffed by professionals, who processed check-in good and fast. We had to wait for our room (we were very early and our room was still being cleaned), but waiting in the lobby was fine, with the Wifi access code available to check email and do some surfing. Another room (with view on the harbor) was offered so that we did not have to wait, but for that one we would have to pay extra, which we did not want.
- Our room was on de 22nd floor with nice views over the snow covered city. The room was immaculate. Design was different from the standard chain hotels (yes, also hotels can be decorated nicely!!) and decorated with modern furniture. The TV was somewhat small compared to the size of the room and the distance from the pillow. The espresso machine was a great touch.
- The bath room was very spacious and looked great. We loved the big milk glass windows, so that for a change real daylight entered into the bathroom. All amenities were present and the shower was awesome.
- Location was also very good. To us it was somewhat unclear when we booked the hotel, but the distance to The Old Town is just 10 minutes on foot. That's manageable for everyone, even when there is a lot of snow (which, by the way, makes great photo ops in the Old Town). Also the airport is so close by; you can see it from the top floors of the hotel.
- Breakfast is very good with lots of choices in warm and cold items. All items were available in smaller quantities, but restocked regularly so they were always available and fresh. Service from the staff in the restaurant was excellent.
- We used the fitness room also. Good equipment, all in good order and towels are available, as is free bottled water from the spa reception desk. Bring your iPod or iPhone for your own music. Check the opening times, the weekend varies from weekdays.
The spa on the same floor looked very very promising, with a large pool. Too bad we did not bring our swim wear, although it is even possible to go into the sauna just wrapped in towels (which are also available at the spa).
- At night, check out the bar on the top floor for some (expensive) cocktails and great views over the city.
- We travel a lot and check-out is - for some reason - always one of the annoying moments: in general it takes too long. We were baffled with the accuracy and speed in which our check-out was handled. Within 5 minutes we were processed, we received our final bill, were escorted to a waiting taxi (luggage was handled and put in car by someone from the hotel) and on our way to the airport. COMPLIMENTS!!

Our cons of the hotel:
- The 3 cons in the bathroom were the square sink (water didn't run off very well), the shower door, which opened the wrong way (to the outside). Also with a closed door some water leaked out of the shower into the bath room and the 3(!!) different switches for the only 3(!!!) different lights in the bathroom. But these were minor issues.
- The safety deposit box in the room has an electric outlet on the inside, so you can charge your laptop or phone when you are away. But... it didn't work for some reason. Too bad that you find this out after a whole day and the battery of your laptop is still almost empty.

Additional (non-related) pros for this hotel are:
- There is a Stockmann (convenience store) just around the corner, where you can buy everything you need. Also food (supermarket), in case you do not want to eat in the restaurant. And at the breakfast restaurant they are more than willing to provide you with plates and cutlery, so you can eat in your own room.
- Just outside the hotel (to your left) is a restaurant called "Caravan" (look for the big orange signs on the wall). It is a very popular Estonian restaurant with very very good local food and live music. When going on Friday or Saturday there is a good chance it is full with large groups and just a few small tables available for walk ins (we were asked if we had a reservation when entering). Recommended!!

In general we enjoyed our stay in this hotel very much. Good, spacious, nicely designed and well kept rooms, good breakfast and a well trained and service oriented staff make this a good place to stay, It is not the cheapest hotel in Tallinn, but worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask what views the different rooms have before you choose. If you don't care, take the cheapest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for two nights and loved it. We got room on 24th floor and the view was simply stunning. The room rate included the access to business lounge which was on 26th floor (if I remember correctly). The lounge was serving excellent variety of snacks and beverages.

The room was clean and very stylish. Bathroom was nice with quite complicated massage shower.

The restaurant at the top floor is for fine dining and the food there is excellent. Top floor bar is also nice, but it is very crowded.

The location is not the perfect, but it didn't matter, since Tallinn is a very compact city.

I can truly recommed this hotel for all couples that like to stay in modern style hotels for weekend getaways.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 83 in Tallinn
467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
2,172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 83 in Tallinn
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 83 in Tallinn
1,237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
0.6 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Tallinn

Property: Swissotel Tallinn
Address: Tornimaee 3, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Tallinn 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel is set in Tallinn's city center, 800 meters from the Old Town. The hotel offers 238 elegantly appointed guest rooms. Uniquely in Tallinn, the hotel has Executive Floors and a dedicated Swiss Executive Club Lounge. The hotel houses two restaurants and a deli for guests on the run; Purovel Spa & Sport delivers private fitness and relaxation facilities, including an indoor pool, a gym, a sauna and a steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Swissotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Tallinn Hotel Tallinn
Swissotel Hotel Tallinn
Tallinn Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing