We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great atmosphere for party-types”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tallinn Backpackers
Ranked #10 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good location, great atmosphere for party-types”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

First and foremost - this place is PERFECT for solo travellers. [Most of] the staff here are friendly and just want to get you to have a good time. The location was really nice - old town Tallinn is beautiful and they've made the most of it - and the rooms were decent. The common room was a really nice place to just chill out as well. Activities [including the sauna] seem to be on a weekly schedule though, so you may not get to experience everything they promise.
That being said, I was a bit conflicted by some of the staff's attitudes - some will punish you for not following every rule of their drinking games even if you're not actively participating, while others lambast you for your inevitably drunken resulting of the night's activities and probably would be better off working in an entirely different industry. It's definitely a party hostel, but I think there really should be a balance here.. only thing stopping me from giving it a 5 star score.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    58
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
8
72
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed here once, maybe twice, when other hostels were full.

Bluntly; the place is like a college dorm; its party non stop. If you're looking for a peaceful night's sleep, or to get work done, forget it. If you're looking to party like college weekends you've found the right place.

The pubcrawl is exhaustive (they seem to hit at least 5 places before people start meandering off). They start off with shots, so expect a memorable night even though you probably won't remember it.

They do also have a wealth of information on other attractions in Tallinn, and all of the staff seem to know a lot about the city both the attractions and also how to get around outside the center.

I'd say it is the best at what it is; a hot spot for partying backpackers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kharaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A warning... this is not a place to go if you want to sleep a lot, but it's sure great fun, especially when travelling alone.
The people there are fantastic, they have activities in the common room every day until 11 pm, and then the "drinking tour" begins.
Great way to discover the city and to meet new people.
The rooms are clean but big (6 people) and mixed, and with a lot of people coming and going.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizzyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Estonia was my first stop destination and couldn't of chosen a better place to stay!! Great atmosphere, great staff who are always on there toes entertaining you, recommending places and helping with any concerns. Rooms and bathrooms were always clean!! And its definetly a superb place to meet people if your a solo traveller :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyMorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights, and yes it's very much a party hostel but what you are going to get is a group of friends by the time you leave.

The hostel staff are awesome and always try to get everybody involved and interacting, which being a solo traveler is perfect.

They cook meals for 3 euros and also have a free pub crawl, so this place is all about socialising, but do plan for a day or two recovery after leaving this place!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwoky86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

..I loved it..the staff is very friendly..ready to help you in every moment and happy to have fun with you in the "movida" of this nice city..me and my 11 friends arrived in the hostel several hours before the check-in but they welcomed us without problems and allow us to rest in the common room..Matt (one of the guy that works there) played and had fun with us, he showed us the night life..we felt like at home!!!..the only raccomandation: follow the only rule otherwise you will regret it!!!..:@)!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michela b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I just want to give a fair review for this, and say that reading the other reviews that are all positive that maybe we came at a bad time. But we just want to warn that maybe certain personalities don't mesh well with the atmosphere here.
This is coming from 2 girls in their early 20s.

Ok, I'll start with what was good with the hostel.
-The people working at the desk and organizing stuff are EXTREMELY helpful and friendly. Anytime we wanted to do something we asked them and they gave us dozens of options. When we mentioned we weren't having the best time they did their best to fix it, and when we said we just needed to get out they helped us book another hostel for the rest of our stay and gladly returned the money for the leftover days of our stay. Absolutely top notch staff.
-Overall a really fun crowd. The location of the hostel is great, we met some great people there and had a lot of fun.
-The tours they put on are really excellent.

The Cons
-The beds are not the most comfortable, but when staying at a budget hostel I'm not expecting too much either.
-We were the only 2 girls staying at the hostel, and at that time it was completely full. So we were always surrounded by men. It wasn't too uncomfortable when everyone was (more or less) sober, but when the drinking started it was a fight to keep them respectable. I did not feel the most safe sleeping there some nights.
-Having a room that was hot, and filled with us 2 girls and 6 men, the room got especially smelly. Like sports-bag sweaty man smelly. To top it off, we were in the top floor room, and the bathroom had an odor just permeating it. It wasn't pleasant. Possibly drunk guys using the jacuzzi/ shower as a urinal when they came back after drinking. Everytime someone opened the door to the bathroom I gagged.
-We had one particular guest that not only pretty much ripped the toilet off the wall, but vomited ALL over the bathroom. Then later in the night proceeded to pee on the wall right by the beds. We informed the night staff, and he was understanding came into our room and mopped everything up right away. I know this isn't an actual reflection of the hostel as a whole, but just one bad guest. But in a party hostel like this, its bound to happen.

We partied with them for a few nights, had a good time, enjoyed their tours. But eventually decided that we wanted somewhere a bit cleaner/less smelly, to get away from all the boys, and just have a time to recover. As I said, when we needed to get away, 3 different staff asked us what's wrong, and if they can fix it, but I just think that the hostel wasn't a good fit for the personality of me and my friend. So they helped us on our way.

If you didn't want to read all that to sum it up: Excellent hostel and customer service, but be a little wary if you are not a heavy partyer there is probably a better place. Maybe just stay for a night or two and then move along like we did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvishswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
777 reviews
0.4 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 83 in Tallinn
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 83 in Tallinn
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Monk's Bunk
The Monk's Bunk
#1 of 111 in Tallinn
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Old Town Alur
Hostel Old Town Alur
#7 of 111 in Tallinn
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Emperor Bar and Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallinn Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallinn Backpackers

Property: Tallinn Backpackers
Address: Olevimaegi 11, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Tallinn Backpackers 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a hostel in Tallinn? Stay with us! We promise you good times and happy memories. We are located in a beautiful Old Town building with top facilities and lots of atmosphere. In Tallinn Backpackers there is always something going on: be it in our huge but cozy common room; be it in town, as we love to take you out to explore the secrets of the city and its best pubs and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tallinn Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing