We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hostel, great craic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tallinn Backpackers
Ranked #10 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great hostel, great craic!”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

if a hostel is what your looking for this is definately the one to stay in Tallin! nice clean rooms and very helpful staff. Pub crawls and games every night. great hostel to meet new people in!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie8597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    58
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
8
72
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lokeren, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Clean rooms, one even had a sauna in there, although I remember it smelled really bad there for some reason.
Common room is decorated very, very cool. They have pub crawl and a lot of activities. Very good staff, very good to meet people. They organise some tours as well, shooting tour, nature park tour,...
One of my favourite hostels, but be aware, you are not allowed to take strangers in the hostels, good for safety, not if you're the adventurous type ;)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2011

This hostel is great if you want to party ! same if theres not a lot of traveller there is so much staff and friend of staff over there that you can enjoy your self there !! But if you are not on a party mode i would not really recommend you this place because you won't sleep well. But thats honestly the only reason of not enjoy this hostel. Everything else is good. Same if the staff probably feel a little bit to much comfy of there and forget that you are there not just for party but also to visit !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karine816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We had a great time at Tallinn Backpackers! The staff is really friendly and nice,you feel like if you are staying with friends. And the bathroom is like in the pictures! They have a nice policy "no shoes" but I think it is to protect they turtle pet "Allan".

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lau8a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at Tallinn Backpackers last year (I had to select November, because that was the earliest date I could select, I actually stayed there around July) and it was brilliant! It is a party hostel (so nightly pub crawls), but if you were going to bed, you could hear virtually no noise when people were heading out or coming back in from a night out.

The room I shared with other people had 3 (I think) bunk beds. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were changed daily. The shower room was shared with other rooms on the floor, but queues were minimal. The shower room was very spacious, modern and clean.

Location was again brilliant. Only 5 minutes away from the Old Town and around a 10-15 minutes walk to the ferry port, good for a day trip to Helsinki.

The hostel offers some tours and they are worth taking a look into.

Like with any hostel, you make your own food or if you chipped in some money, someone from the hostel cooked a group of you an evening meal.

In all I can't complain about the place. A very welcoming and friendly atmosphere for anyone who stays there. For the price of it (around £10 a night when I went) is more than reasonable!

Room Tip: for a cheap night, choose the option of having to share with other people. You get your own locker s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jamesALEX8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This place is amazing, brilliant staff, clean rooms, good people, bar crawl and cheap dinners. Had the most superb time, maybe not the best place if you're looking for a quiet place to stay but if you want to party and meet new people in a beautiful city there is no where better to go!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

A group of 5 of us stayed here at the end of September 2011. The hostel was very easy to get to from the airport. We saved ourselves the bother and coughed up for a taxi which cost us 3 euros each to the door. Our room was decent although it could have done with better curtains. The benefit of a en-suite was appreciated as it added an extra area for getting ready. The upstairs room had a small jacuzzi bath and a sauna that was decidedly cosy with any more than two people in there. The common area was ideal with plenty of sofa space, itunes for you to determine playlists. There was free table football, pet tortoise, happy hours from 5-7 where beer was being sold for a pound. You could get meals for 2.50 euros if you placed your name on the board early enough. If you are caught on facebook, prepare yourself for a random mixed shot. The groups went out each evening so you could get away with being a solo traveller. The location is ideal as it is so central. I would also recommend a cheeky day trip to Finland as the ferry clears your head ;-) Be prepared to stay up late as the place is noisy with the bar opposite. I would recommend this as a visit as it is in the guidebooks as being well hidden behind the wall but is similar in size to The Cavern in Liverpool. I found it at 4am on the last day and it was a bit of a treat.

Room Tip: I would recommend the room that isn't en-suite as this was at the back away from the noise of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
777 reviews
0.4 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 83 in Tallinn
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 83 in Tallinn
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Monk's Bunk
The Monk's Bunk
#1 of 111 in Tallinn
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Old Town Alur
Hostel Old Town Alur
#7 of 111 in Tallinn
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Emperor Bar and Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallinn Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallinn Backpackers

Property: Tallinn Backpackers
Address: Olevimaegi 11, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Tallinn Backpackers 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a hostel in Tallinn? Stay with us! We promise you good times and happy memories. We are located in a beautiful Old Town building with top facilities and lots of atmosphere. In Tallinn Backpackers there is always something going on: be it in our huge but cozy common room; be it in town, as we love to take you out to explore the secrets of the city and its best pubs and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tallinn Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing