We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance and comfort”
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
brooklyn
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegance and comfort”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is my favorite hotel in Tallinn -- I've stayed there on three different occasions, each time for multiple nights, and each stay was absolutely great. The service is superior, the property itself is gorgeous, and every possible detail seems to have been thought of to provide guests with the maximum in elegant comfort and serenity. I'm always sorry to leave!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howard f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,263
    343
    62
    21
    8
See reviews for
213
806
114
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ledbury
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The proximity of the hotel to the main tourist attractions is undoubtedly very useful and the hotel appeared well-maintained. Our room at the back overlooked one of the lesser used streets, was therefore comparatively quiet and was a good size. Because of the unseasonal weather, the terrace area wasn't in use and therefore the public circulation areas, though well set up, were slightly limited (had we been interested in using the spa facilities we might have gained a different impression) The breakfast was excellent in variety, quality and quantity. However, the real strength of the hotel was its staff. The receptionsts and porters in particular seemed genuinely welcoming, were keen to offer help and had the language skills to make communication on our part easy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianc906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Conveniently located in the old town, close to Town Hall square, this hotel is great- from its beautiful breakfasts to its fabulous rooms, decorated in old style it is really a treat to stay here. Staff are lovely- helpful and smiling.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozrob63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Hotel Telegraaf is perfectly located in the Old Town, near the Town Hall Square in a gorgeous historic building. Our room, a Superior Room in the historic part of the hotel, was somewhat small but very nice, with windows that opened to a small balcony, a soft queen-sized bed, and excellent amenities including free Wi-Fi.

We enjoyed using the sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and pool available to guests as part of the relaxing on-site spa. It's not a huge space, but it was not at all crowded when we were there.

Breakfast at the attached Restaurant Tchaikovsky was included in our room rate. It’s a beautiful restaurant, and the breakfast didn't disappoint. You can order from a menu for no additional charge as well as enjoying the amply stocked buffet. (Also, a glass of prosecco with breakfast = fabulous bonus!) Breakfast was tasty and filling, and staff was courteous; every staff member we encountered of both the hotel and the restaurant was friendly and polite.

Overall, we found this to be an excellent choice. Additional photos and information about our stay are available on my website. Location is always my #1 priority, but along with a convenient location, the hotel was beautiful, the staff was professional, and it felt luxurious without seeming stuffy or pretentious.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheRambleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This lovely hotel,just around the corner from the main square in the old city, is highly recommended. Comfortable rooms, beautiful dining room with delicious breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff, a lovely swimming pool.

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms, all very well equipped and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The hotel began life as a residence, became a telegraph office in the early days of independence after WWI, and is now an upscale hotel. It is in the center of everything you will want to see in old town. The staff are very engaging, friendly, and helpful. The street has only limited car access so it is quiet enough to open your window at night. When my wife needed medical attention, Kristi Valing at the front desk found what she needed on a holiday, called a taxi, and gave the driver directions. She is a very competent person. The breakfast is excellent. My only complaint is that the duvets are too luxurious (too heavy). I couldn't get cool enough to sleep comfortably without turning the AC down to ecologically inappropriate levels. Even with nights in the 40's F, and opening all of the windows, that duvet was still too warm. I thought I solved the problem by requesting duvet covers (no filling) but they disappeared with the next round of housekeeping.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wynnetrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamunda, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel is located in the beautiful old telegraph building just around the corner from the main Old Town square. We visited Tallinn in May 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed the service, facilities, breakfast, and very engaging staff of the Telegraaf. The desk clerks spoke good English and went out of their way to give us good advice about things to see and do in Tallinn. While not inexpensive compared to other Tallinn hotels, the Telegraaf is worth the cost and we did not regret for a moment our choice. The hotel's Tchaikovsky Restaurant also is excellent (genuine 5 star). If you enjoy walking to see the sights, you will be pleased with the location of the Telegraaf. Tallinn is a visual delight to explore and there is so much to see within easy walking distance of the hotel that our 5 night stay was not quite long enough. We look forward to returning to Tallinn and staying again at the Telegraaf.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
2,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
891 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Property: Hotel Telegraaf
Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing