We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth returning over and over again.”
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I don't easily give 5 stars to hotels or restaurants. Telegraaf is perhaps my favorite hotel in the world and I am a constantly returning customer. The service in reception has always been exceptional - friendly, helpful and efficient yet subtle. Cosmopolitans in the lobby bar are the best. Rooms are beautiful, I prefer superior rooms with wooden floors. Bathrooms are spacious and pretty. The bathrooms are lightly scented which I love. The scent is quite subtle and not overpowering altough I'm (slightly) asthmatic. The scent comes from a decorational stick-in-aromatic oil (I think) so it could be easily removed.

Restaurant Tsaichovsky is in a beautiful hall with elegant atmosphere. Separated by a wall from the dining hall is the beautiful little spa with its small swimming pool and a hot tub. Even though the are adjacent, no heat, moisture or disturbing noices reach the restaurant. Breakfast is very good with satisfying selection on buffet and alacarte for eggs, pancakes and porridge. And sparkling wine.

If I have to think of improvements, the breakfast staff could be a bit more attentive. Some times you need to holler for a coffee refill, but not loud or for long. :) Also if they had a small gym it'd be close to perfection.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TildeHilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,719)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Telegraaf
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Telegraaf for a kids-free city break. The hotel offers all you wish for: from free wifi, to great breakfast, service, swimming pool and sauna, superb restaurant... Located in the historic Post building, and in the heart of the old city. Several nice restaurants in Vene, I can recommend Dominic on the other site of the street. Two nights in Tallinn offer you all you can and need to see.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank BaakDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed only one night business trip at Telegraaf but have to come back sometime.

Very good location in old town. Nice saff, clean and beautiful rooms and excellent restaurant. Breakfast and lunch was just great there.

Definately coming back to stay a few nights sometime.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Jann3_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I can't say enough about this lovely small hotel centrally located to all sites in Old Town. The staff is warm and helpful, the rooms lovely, and the breakfast buffet in the morning is perfect for starting the day in this wonderfully atmospheric city. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bvanderet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Great atmosphere in excellent location on Old Town in Tallinn. Hotel is great but the safe makes the visit extraordinary. You get treated whit respect but you will not feel embarrassed. It is nice when you ask something special and get responded "sure you can" and the service is delivered whit smile. You can't see the difference that good whit normal hotel visit but try to arrange something more, like romantic dinner. They have good vine cellar and knowledge how to combine those in food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siren_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Tallinn turned out to be a well kept secret.. its a wonderful town with lots of history to explore and charming buildings to see. The resturants and cafes were a delightful.
The hotel Telegraaf proved to be one of the towns highlights. The breakfast was a treat with lots of lovely food from which to choose. The most pleasing and outstanding quality, however, were the friendly and attentive staff. They were always willing to help but were never intrusive.
I hope I have the opportunity to go again .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The beautiful town of Tallinn itself is a gem in Estonia...however, my stay at the Telegraaf Hotel made it into one of my best vacation trips ever! From the general manager 'down' to the bar staff...to the ever-friendly front desk staff, I had an exceptional experience. Our room was warm and cozy, the hotel location was in the middle of 'all-that-was-happening in the village, the spa was exceptional...we added a day to our itinerary because we could not believe the overall care and warmth shown by staff (to a man from Texas!) And to top it all off, staff arranged for lunch boxes to give us (for our train ride to Saint Petersburg...) Exceptional. I have already booked my return stay reservations as I plan now to attend the festival in July.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisBM06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
2,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
911 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $137 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing