We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb gem in the heart of Old Town”
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I can't say enough about this lovely small hotel centrally located to all sites in Old Town. The staff is warm and helpful, the rooms lovely, and the breakfast buffet in the morning is perfect for starting the day in this wonderfully atmospheric city. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bvanderet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,719)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Telegraaf
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

604 - 610 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

Great atmosphere in excellent location on Old Town in Tallinn. Hotel is great but the safe makes the visit extraordinary. You get treated whit respect but you will not feel embarrassed. It is nice when you ask something special and get responded "sure you can" and the service is delivered whit smile. You can't see the difference that good whit normal hotel visit but try to arrange something more, like romantic dinner. They have good vine cellar and knowledge how to combine those in food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siren_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Tallinn turned out to be a well kept secret.. its a wonderful town with lots of history to explore and charming buildings to see. The resturants and cafes were a delightful.
The hotel Telegraaf proved to be one of the towns highlights. The breakfast was a treat with lots of lovely food from which to choose. The most pleasing and outstanding quality, however, were the friendly and attentive staff. They were always willing to help but were never intrusive.
I hope I have the opportunity to go again .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The beautiful town of Tallinn itself is a gem in Estonia...however, my stay at the Telegraaf Hotel made it into one of my best vacation trips ever! From the general manager 'down' to the bar staff...to the ever-friendly front desk staff, I had an exceptional experience. Our room was warm and cozy, the hotel location was in the middle of 'all-that-was-happening in the village, the spa was exceptional...we added a day to our itinerary because we could not believe the overall care and warmth shown by staff (to a man from Texas!) And to top it all off, staff arranged for lunch boxes to give us (for our train ride to Saint Petersburg...) Exceptional. I have already booked my return stay reservations as I plan now to attend the festival in July.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisBM06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Tallinn Old Town is a place of outstanding medieval beauty...and the jewel in her crown is the Hotel Telegraaf.
My wife and I spent a fabulous couple of nights in the hotel in December, and were warmly welcomed by the hotel staff. From check-in to check-out nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were always on hand with a smile and local advice.
Our third floor room overlooked the street, and the sound proofing was superb...as was the insulation against the bitter cold outside. The bed was supremely comfortable...the only mattress I have found to rival the 5 star suites of Las Vegas, in fact.
Breakfast choice was extensive...well cooked and well presented, again by cheerful and polite staff.
I could go on at length, but to be honest, if you want great service, great location and top quality in a hotel...look no further.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farquhar71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed in the hotel with my husband and our 3 months old son. Hotel staff was were friendly and helpfull. We arived at the hotel were early and went there to leave our luggage so that we could wait to get the room in the city. The receptionist was very friendly and took our phone number and promised to call us as soon as the room was cleaned, she also promised to make sure that it was cleaned as soon as possible. It only went an hour or so, when they called us. We got our room as early as 11 a.m
We were very pleased with our stay. Excellent breakfast. If you're going to dine in the hotel, make sure you take your eveninggown with you!! There was an kvartet playing nice music and the restaurant was very classy! Everything was perfect at this hotel! The bed in our room was very comfortable and had lots of different kind of pillows. Hotel has also many various of spa treatments! Probably one of the best stays I've ever had in an hotel! I will definitely go back here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnniinaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

In the middle of Tallinn Old Town the the old Post Office has been wonderfully revamped to a 5-star experience. All rooms are very nicely decorated and all with some sort of seating area which gives the whole hotel a homely feeling. Although located in the old town/fortress, Telegraaf managed to build a good wellness area with pool. Breakfast buffet is 5-star too and includes the best smoked salmon that I have ever had (for that is worth). Pity they do not provide for a smoking/cigar lounge.

Room Tip: Because it is in the middle of town no particular rooms with view available. I would imagine all roo...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendrik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
2,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
911 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $137 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing