We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel”
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a very beautiful hotel located in the middle of the Old Town. The staff are very good, couldn't do enough for you. Rooms are well appointed and warm, important as the temperature drops considerably when the sun goes down. My only complaint about the room is that the beds are too soft, offering no support for you after long days of walking around Tallinn. However, the wifi was free and swift.
Breakfast was good and lots of choice. However, when it got busy, the staff were disorganised and were like rabbits caught in the headlights. No one seemed to take charge and there was no plan as to how to deal with the situation.
Overall a great hotel with issues which are easily solved.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dtaylor65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Dtaylor65,

Thank you for taking time of your busy schedule to write a review about the Hotel Telegraaf.
We read and share all our online reviews with our colleagues as they are a great tool for us to both streamline our training initiatives as well as to use them for motivational purposes.

Thank you also for your kind and encouraging words and comments on the great work of our staff as well as sharing your comments about our hotel rooms.

Our beds consist of box spring, mattress, topper. The topper is there to soften the mattress as previous guest feedback was mattresses being too hard.
Easily that topper could have been removed had we known of your concern, so please allow us to recommend for future stays to request for any mattress toppers to be removed .

Thank you also for commenting on your breakfast experience; your valued comments have been shared with our Service Manager.

We thank you for having been our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Tallinn and to the Hotel Telegraaf.

Thank you again and best wishes,

Irmela Heinsius
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

682 - 688 of 1,769 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I spent a few days in Tallinn ,it was our third time here, we love it. First stay at the telegraaf however.
This hotel is very nice, room was comfortable, as you would expect of a 5 star hotel. All the amenities you need, including a quaint laundry cupboard that is accessible from outside the room so that staff can take your laundry away without disturbing you!
The fly in the ointment however was the breakfast, the staff were not very attentive. The first morning we had finished breakfast from the buffet before a waitress brought a menu for cooked food! second day I had to ask 3 times for an egg to be cooked, buffet food was ok but not outstanding. The tea was undrinkable, being so weak.
We did not try the restaurant which has a good reputation I believe.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingman062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and thank you for your comments regarding the service cabinet in the rooms. It is much appreciated and unique in Hotel Telegraaf.

Also, thank you for your description of your experience at breakfast.

We are encouraging all our staff to read our online reviews, and they are being posted on the staff notice board as well as being discussed internally.

Your feedback will be part of our ongoing in depth breakfast trainings for our new starters as it gives a good and clear “guest impression”.

We would recommend you to dine in the Restaurant Tchaikovsky next time. There is live classical music also starting at 19:00. Very romantic experience.

Thank you again for the time taken for this review!

And we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful city and to the Hotel Telegraaf in Tallinn’s Old Town!

With best wishes,

Irmela Heinsius
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Telegraaf hotel is a high quality hotel and the athmosphere is very friendly and helpful. We got very good service at the breakfast. The breakfast selection was good and sufficient but not great compared to other Scandinavian hotels. Location of the hotel is very good and there are nice cafés and shops close by.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lene67424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Location is great, young staff are extremely helpful, the room we stayed in was fantastic and the breakfasts have everything I could imagine anyone wanting, including the complimentary champagne! We arrived at 23:30 and enjoyed every minute from then on. Do yourself a favour and stay here when in Tallinn.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmell_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

From the quality of the booking process to the cleaning staff this is one classy hotel.
We also celebrated an anniversary at the restaurant, and was truly impressed. Juri and his team were attentive and helpful in selections.
The hotel is central, so there are plenty of other eating options.
Worth every euro charged

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Hotel Telegraaf alone is worth a trip to Tallinn. Location could not be better. It is in the very heart of the Old Town of Tallinn, and everything is within a short walking distance.
The Hotel itself is more than charming. The rooms are very nicely decorated, the staff is friendly and forthcoming, and the Hotel Director, Irmela, will make sure that everything goes way past beyond expectations.
We (3 hard working women from Paris) went on a weekend trip, and stayed 2 nights. Our room was very cozy and tasteful. Everybody was helpful and accommodating, wanting us to have the best experience. Everything is right around the corner. There couldn't be a better location. The Hotel Staff takes pride in their work, and their vocation is to make your stay a worthwhile memory. The rooms are light and spacious. The Spa has a great little pool, and if you have the time, you should definitely try one of their Facial Treatments. The Hotel Bar is a perfect place for a drink before going out, or a nightcap when coming back... their wines are tastefully selected. The Restaurant (called Tchaikovsky) is the first and best restaurant in town. The staff is very attentive, the wine-list is what you would expect from a a high class establishment, and the food is so delicious and well presented that you will want to "stay in" every night... and if you are lucky enough to have Yuri as your head waiter, you will spend a most memorable meal. All of us travel a lot, none of us knew what to expect... we all left the Hotel Telegraaf with the intention to come back soon and re-live this wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henriette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Telegraaf is the best hotel in Tallinn old town. It's a beautiful old building boasting period character with modern fittings. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful (they quickly arranged a last minute car rental for us - with a competitive rate). Make sure you try the restaurant, Tchaikovsky - one of my all-time favourite tasting menus and great wine pairings as well. We've stayed in Tallinn a few times now and Telegraaf is certainly a favourite - if you love boutique hotels with character and great service, this is the a great choice.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Superior Room which is absolutely beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alpine1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
2,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
706 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schlossle
Hotel Schlossle
#12 of 86 in Tallinn
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $140 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing