We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with A+ service”
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel with A+ service”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in a deluxe double room in the older part of the hotel, which had lots of character, a super-comfortable bed, and all the amenities we needed. We enjoyed escaping from the throng of tourists in Old Town to have lunch or drinks on the quiet hotel terrace. The service was all you would expect from a luxury hotel. The concierge, Kristi, helped us with ferry tickets, directions, restaurants and our car rental. She saved us hours of time in trying to make these arrangements ourselves. The wait staff and bellmen were all extremely helpful and cheerful as well. Great breakfast too! Not the cheapest option in Old Town but worth every penny.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the older part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennclinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,243
    331
    61
    20
    8
See reviews for
202
793
110
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Just a few words not this fabulous hotel located in the heart of Tallin.
We were so happy after leaving what was rated number 1 at the time (Schlossel hotel) to this place which was and still is number 2. They were so accommodating and the place had great facilities and the restaurant is simply divine.
Would come back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norvel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

A quaint hotel in Tallinn's medieval old town. Great location. Fantastic service throughout the stay. The pool and sauna area was good, but the hot tub was cold. The room was adequate, but lacked feeling. In addition, a pillow case had a hole and the room was a little worn. The restaurant was really good and the breakfast satisfying.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suur_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Right in the old town. Lovely room - well designed with pretty furnishings, but not over-done. Friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful breakfast buffet to be consumed in the delightfully appointed restaurant or outside on the terasse. Small, but relaxing spa area. Only downfalls: steps into the hotel (not easy with the case, although the porters are happy to help); received an unrequested wake-up call at 4am; some of the guests need to be educated in courtesy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tassieBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Centrally located and spaceous rooms. It's like living in a part of Tallinn's history! The beautiful and private back garden, spa and fabulous restaurant adds that final touch that makes this hotel one of Tallin's best. Highly recomended! Oh, and the beds are to die for!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoEnSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is in a quiet spot but round the corner from the market square in the old town. Everything was within walking distance. The service was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a problem with the shower. When we came back a completely new shower had been fitted. The breakfast was excellent - so much choice, including local delicacies and sparkling wine. It was so nice coming back tired from sightseeing to a relaxing spa and swim. The staff were really helpful providing information, taxis etc.The room was comfortable and a good size. Although the building is old the decor has a contemporary feeling. The extra cost for a higher grade hotel was definitely worth it

Room Tip: We aked for a room with a view so we were on the 6th floor with a view as far as the port, so we cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the telegraaf at the end of May/beginning of June that coincided with a very nice warm spell of about 25C during the day. The hotel is very central and hence everywhere you want to visit is walkable. All of the hotel is beautifully decorated, elegant and smart and it is a pleasure to be inside or on the terrace. Our room was very well presented,medium size and very quiet.
Breakfast, included in the price, was good and was served in a very elegant dining room.
We tried the hotel restaurant and agree that it is excellent.
The terrace/garden is also such a nice place to sit on one of the rattan settees and have a coffee or pot of tea.
Service from the staff in the restaurant, reception or terrace very good and pleasant.
This is an up market hotel at a reasonable price and you can guess we enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: The views over the terrace/garden are probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirflashpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
2,168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 83 in Tallinn
1,232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 83 in Tallinn
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 83 in Tallinn
2,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
777 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 83 in Tallinn
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Property: Hotel Telegraaf
Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing