We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent”
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
“Exellent”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We celebrated our first anniversary and had booked superior room. Big positive suprise waited us when we arrived to our room; got upgraded to Alexander Popov suite! Beautiful spacious rooms with private sauna, stylish decoration and very comfortable beds. Great breakfast and helpfull staff. Our stay at hotel Telegraaf was just perfect and made our first wedding day even more special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annawilhelmiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,224
    328
    60
    20
    8
See reviews for
199
781
108
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and it was a delight. The room was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was very good, it had a buffet table; pastries, cake, breads, cheese, meets, herring, smoked salmon, yoghurts, preserves etc etc. One reviewer said there was no fresh fruit, however when I was there was a platter with apples, pears etc and also a fresh fruit salad. There is also available a menu to orders eggs, bacon and so on. Which we did and they were also very good. The service in the restaurant and reception were excellent. One evening on our way out to dinner, we reported that one of our lights wasn't working, when we returned from dinner the reception told us the light had been fixed.

We didn't use the spa, so can't comment. If only all 5 star hotels were like this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stayathomeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Lovely friendly and helpful staff, superb location, comfortable good sized rooms warmly decorated. Loved the quirky old phones which related to the name of the hotel and it's former use. Excellent restaurant (though so many good ones in Tallinn that we just had the wonderful breakfasts). Couldn't fault it and would go again.
Didn't use the fitness centre or spa since just there for a short weekend. Looking forward to next time!

Room Tip: Nothing to compare with but our room (61x) on sixth floor had lovely views both from room and the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
164 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A four day stay in this hotel for business proved very rewarding. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed, the public areas well designed and attractively furnished.
The house restaurant, based on a Tchaikovsky theme, serves haute cuisine; this while possibly being a little pricey, was immaculately presented and tasty. A string quartet serenaded our dinner.
The location of hotel in unbeatable, right in the heart of the Old Town, with many sights, bars and eateries within half mile walking distance; many a lot closer that than. Take note that the Old Town has a great atmosphere; the rest of Tallinn has almost none.
If you are travelling for pleasure I don’t recommend Tallinn as a long stay location, but well worth a long weekend in the summer time, when all the cafes and restaurants bring out their tables and streets are lined with entertainers.
At the Telegraaf all the staff spoke good English, they were helpful, courteous and pleasant to deal with. What more could we ask?
The price is quite high –compared to Tallinn averages– but it seems worth it.
I would return there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toofastcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Teelegraaf is a nice pittoresque hotel. It had been renouvated in 2007 and is located in the heart of Tallin. The staff is friendly and attentive. They serve a very delicous breakfast with great variety. The roomase are modern and quite.

The hotel is siuated downtown within the old walls, about one minute walk from the old hanse house, 10 to the town hall and about 15 minutes walk to the concerthall and opera.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

In July 2012 I stayed at Hotel Telegraaf for the second time during a second visit to Tallinn (first time was 2009.) I really enjoyed my stay. While my room was a little on the small side, that is typical for many European hotels. The bed was average quality, but everything else about the room was great - very clean, good bathroom, quiet.

The pool and fitness facilities are excellent, especially the hot tub and steam room/sauna. The lobby bar is a great place to relax, read, and get a drink. The service in the bar was very attentive, and I thought the bartenders and servers did an excellent job.

The concierge was very helpful; she assisted me in shipping packages of gifts back to family members in the USA when the post office in Tallinn was closed.

The location of Telegraaf is also well situated. It's still in the historic old Town, and yet only a block from the main town square - walking distance to everything - and yet in a quieter section of Old Town.

This hotel will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laker777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A very friendly, and well run hotel. All the staff are polite, helpful and attentive. Rooms are a decent size, well equipped and with comfy bed and pillow. Our room on the 6th floor had a great view over the city. Although an old building, the rennovations and decor are modern and tasteful. Well situated in the heart of the old town and close to some very good restaurants and cafes. Breakfast was bountiful with a great choice from both the a al carte and/or buffet menu. I would definitely stay here again and will be recommending it to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 580anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 83 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#4 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Property: Hotel Telegraaf
Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing