We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent! It's all been said before.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent! It's all been said before.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

A lovely hotel in the centre of this fantastic medieval city. The rooms are spacious, clean and extremely well equipped with full size sofa and an easy chair. The beds and pillows were the most comfortable I have ever had the pleasure of sleeping on.

It was so wonderful to be back in snowclad Tallinn, we hope to be back.

Room Tip: They do say that rooms in the newer wing are the most comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul123Somerset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    321
    60
    20
    7
See reviews for
196
774
104
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Drammen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Travelled to Tallin for the first time for a weekend, me & my husband, and another couple. Short taxidrive from the airport, 10 euros. The Hotel is excellent located in the middle of old town. Beautiful building and interior, lovely spa & pool/sauna/jacuzzi area.

Friendly, service minded staff helpful in every way. Loved the complemetary water and chocolate in the afternoon. A nice luxury hotel in every way, but with an unpretentious feel.
Breakfast was really nice, but I am a succer for some bubbly in the morning.... A good buffet, with an additonal short selction of warm meals, - eggs benedicte/florentine was really well made. None of us liked the pancakes though...

Do remember too book your spa treatments before your trip, the hotel's beautiful Elemis spa was fully booked when we tried to reserve a treatment friday afternoon. The jacuzzi/pool area was lovely, and the steam/sauna rooms were really beautiful.

The hotel restaurant was excellent!! We dined here our first night in Tallin, and it set a really high standard for the rest of the weekend. Best sorbet I ever had!

Room Tip: It seems each floor is diveded when it comes to rooms. We stayed in the wing with the "worst&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

The perfect hotel. I had a lovely single room in the old part of the hotel. This was, possibly, the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Dinner in the restaurant one night was a real treat, and the bar in the lobby is a great place to relax with a drink. Tallinn is a beatiful place and this hotel is the perfect location from which to explore it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clareuk_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Lovely hotel, position to the old town excellent. Breakfast was everything you could have wanted, loved the fresh orange juice. Little touches like complementory water in your room each evening. Room good size. Used the pool etc. as these were open till late in evening. Did eat in the restaurant on valentines evening as it is extra special even though its a bit expensive as you would expect. Some good restaurants around the town, the Old Hanns being one of our favourites, real medieval feel. Look for the small medieval food drink on the corner of the town hall 1 euro each for elk soup and pasties plus 2 euro's for all drinks, hot wine was good. Used trams and trolley bus for exploring out of town, easy to use. Buy tickets from the Rkiosk's. We got a 3 day one for 6 euro. Tallinn is so lovely with the snow just need to wrap up warm.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with two friends on a girls weekend away in February 2012. The rate was competitive for a hotel of this standard as it's off peak season. A glass of bubbly on arrival set the tone for the rest of the stay. The room was very spacious (315) and the Elemis ammentieis were divine. The view wasn't amazing as we were at the back of the hotel but it didn't matter as the hotel is in the heart of the old town. I'm sure if you ask for a street view they will accomodate. We enjoyed spa treatments in the Elemis spa and took advatange of the other spa facilities, which were very welcome after a day out sight-seeing in the freezing weather. We didn't have dinner in the hotel (would reccommend Musuem and Peppersack for dinner) but the breakfast each morning was very good, with a large buffet selection and a good choice of hot food on the menu too. Service was second to none throughout and we enjoyed a very relaxing few days in this more than comfortable and welcoming hotel.
One thing - we got a taxi from outside the airport which was the only mistake of the holiday as it cost €36, instead of €10 when the hotel booked one for us going back so ask the hotel to book one for you when you land!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

The beautiful cobblestone lanes, iron street lamps, an abundance of restaurants, cafés, shops and churches make medieval Old Town in Tallinn one of Europe's most charming destinations. Regardless of season, really.

Right in the middle of this ancient neighborhood is Hotel Telegraaf.

As self-proclaimed five star property, the Telegraaf is nowhere near the cheapest accommodation available in Tallinn's Old Town.

Unsurprisingly, the hotel belongs to the association "Small Luxury Hotels of the World". Having said that, I absolutely feel that my expectations were met and to an extent, exceeded.

My room (609) was spacious, fully equipped and nicely decorated. I even had a small balcony with providing me with a decent view of Old Town's rooftops.

I opted to eat dinner out at a local pub (the excellent Hell Hut) but Telegraaf's fine dining restaurant "Tchaikovsky" looked nice.

I did enjoy a very nice breakfast there and was impressed with the width of choices and prompt service.

Regretfully, I never tried the spa but I did take a peak and it looked very relaxing.

+/-

+ location
+ large, clean rooms
+ breakfast buffet
+ staff service level
+ airport pick-up
+ complimentary wifi
+ full size bathtub

- room temperature (cold!)
- synthetic comforter– I expected a big fluffy down comforter/pillow.
- minimum mention of environmental or ecological goals or strategy

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joakim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Arrived at the now modern Tallinn airport as a party of four for this three day break ( our 4th visit ) Taxi to the hotel cost less than 9 Euros for a 15 minute journey . On arrival the Hotel Telegraaf lived up to every bit of our expectations of a 5 star accomodation . From the Concierge to the Reception and Bar staff nothing was any trouble and they were always forthcoming with a Good Morning / Evening have a nice day etc . The rooms we were allocated ( Superior ) were excellent in both size and and a great mixture of old and modern . Bathrobes and Slippers were a nice touch as was the bed turn down service and complimentary water and heart shaped chocolates by the bed . Breakfast was suberb with food for all tastes if not on the table certainly by request . Tallin itself was as magical as our first visit and the introduction of the Euro hasn't inflated the prices as much as I would have imagined as we ate and drank well each evening for between 22-25 Euros each with Pepper Sack , Olde Hansa and Brewery serving superb Fayre and hospitality . All in all another wonderful experience in Tallinn and hopefully it wont be our last .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxylot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Property: Hotel Telegraaf
Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing