We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best.”
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Just back from a 4 night stay at the gracious elegant Hotel Telegraaf. Both my husband and I are registered Tour Guides in both Ireland and the U.K. and have travelled extensively. This hotel really is first class in every way. We had just completed a busy 6 month touring season and really needed to relax. The Telegraaf far exceeded our expectations. It was wonderful in every way from the reception,consierge,restaurant staff to the pleasant housekeeping personnel. The rooms are beautifully decorated and maintained together with a 'service cabinet' so that guests are not desturbed when laundry is being collected or room service is delivered. A light illuminates when something is delivered. Breakfast is served in a most elegant restaurant and comprised of a large selection of hot and cold fish and meats together with quality pastries,various breads,cereals and fruit jam. We has fresh orange juice which could be illuminated with a splash of quality splarking wine! The tables boasted high quality china and gleaming fine crystal glassware. We enjoyed the spa and some lovely relaxing treatments while our children had a swim in the pool. We stayed in the historic part of the hotel and had a most beautiful suite overlooking Vene St. Our boys were in an adjacent room with an interconnecting door. The standard of both rooms could not be improved upon. Location is perfect and is two minutes to the main square. Vene Street is quiet with a couple of lovely restaurants and tasteful craft shops. Revellers that frequent the busy town square tend not to venture down this quiet street. Although we did not have dinner in the Tchaikovsky Restautant the menu looked very nice and was reasonably priced for a fine dining experience. If we were just travelling as a couple we would certainly have had dinner there. A super experience in every way. We will return!

Room Tip: We had a suite room 310 and our boys room 309 with a interconneting door. Both rooms were spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trafdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2011

Spent a great weekend in this hotel. It is central, staff outstanding, and breakfast good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnHutcheson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I have visited this hotel on the occasion of a business trip but I would like to come back for a private stay. The standard of the hotel is very high, service very helpfull and friendly, rooms are well equiped and beautifully decorated.
I love the fact that the housekeeping prepares the room for the night for you. It's the small things that make your stay special.
The hotel has a small swimming pool, sauna, jaccuzzi, spa center, award-winning restaurant and a nice bar.
Breakfast is nice and versatile.

The location is perfect for sightseeing and business as well.
I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view as some rooms have a view on a concrete wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at Telegraaf on a weekend break with 2 other couples. We are all in our late 20s. The hotel is located a couple of minutes walk from a few restaurants and bars and the square. We used the spa and the facilities were great. We had lots of fun and the sauna, steam room and pool are all clean and comfortable. Breakfast is in the restaurant and what we had it was gorgeous. The rooms were clean and comfortable (the bed extremely good). As I mentioned we travelled with 2 other couples and we were surprised to see our rooms were so different but were supposed to be the same! There is no iron in the room and I needed a dress ironing and my partner needed a shirt ironing. We reluctantly decided to pay around €8 euros per item to get them ironed but when they came back they were terrible! Was just like they had put them on a hanger! Was the same for someone else we were with. The clothes were really creased and we left them not worn. We mentioned we were unhappy on checkout and they did take the charge off the bill. We were comfortable and had a great stay the hotel really is great but a few aspects let it down for example no late night bar. Would recommend and go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemmaspaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Just arrived home from a hard to describe how wonderful it was visit to Tallinn staying at Telegraaf. So centrally located to all the sights of old town, as well as to all the goods restaurants, was this hotel. Inside it meets and exceeds all our expectations for the service (of its young team), nice public places and wonderfully decorated, comfortable and importantly quiet room. Our was in the new part, which we have chosen due to its decor as well as tranquility. Our view to courtyard was so relaxing. Breakfast served in the main restaurant was very good and choice more than satisfactory. We did not eat there for dinner but we have ordered from its gourmet menu to be delivered via room service. It was nicely presented as it would be in the restaurant but we have enjoyed it with all the comforts of our spacious room. Actually the food in Tallinn generally surprised us by its good quality, interesting recipes and fair pricing. Coming back to Telegraaf we fully recommend it to all for a great visit and stay in very welcoming Estonia!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelalot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a 4 night break in Tallinn, staying at the Hotel Telegraaf. Now that the kids have left home, I'm looking forward to more of the same and hope that future trips can match this one. Very pleased with hotel, polite and helpful staff, clean rooms, good food, quiet at night, excellent facilities. Only minor criticism is that room needed slighter brighter lighting and more/plumper pillows. Hotel is centrally located in old town area - much better than staying in the larger hotels in the newer part of the city. Plenty to see in Tallinn, museums and galleries are cheap and plentiful. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoriniumTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Beautifull hotel, very well located, good service,refined atmosphere, classical music on the background, which pleases me especially

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonna802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,486 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
2,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
674 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schlossle
Hotel Schlossle
#13 of 86 in Tallinn
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $141 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing