We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed in the Telegraf for 3 nights towards the end of June 2011. It was impossible to fault the hotel, for me the five stars were fully deserved. I got off the ferry from Helsinki and it was a short walk of about 15-20mins to the hotel. I stayed in a junior suite room which had a large king size bed and sofa seating area. Bottled water was provided in the room daily as was a "turn down" service for your bed and a chocolate on your pillow (nice touch). I also ate in the restaurant each evening which was part of the hotel, called the Tchaikovsky. I am sure it will not be long before this is given a much deserved Michelin star. Service and quality of food was second to none and the complimentary courses were superb. The hotel is ideally located in the centre of the city and within easy walking distance of all the main attractions and tourist sites.

Room Tip: I'd recommend a junior suite if you want to spread out and have some comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilmac1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,034 - 1,040 of 1,745 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

A great hotel in old town Tallinn. Fantastic rooms both in the old part and the new part of the hotel. Overall great service; reception, room service, bar, restaurant etc. Free internet access (as always in Tallinn). Recommended stay both for vacation and business.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEI-Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We loved the room and the location, and the spa was what we needed after some hectic travelling. But we were flabbergasted that when we arrived early in the morning, exhausted after an all-night trip, it took them half an hour and much discussion to figure out how to get us some coffee! This is a simple service that even the most basic hotel should be able to come up with for its customers. The staff in the spa was fantastic and really helpful, but the front desk and breakfast staff seemed a little inexperienced.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank ats134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Executive room was spacious. Hotel is really clean and feels new but ageless. Terrace is awesome and also really spacious, like it that they havent packed terrace full with customer seatings.

Hotel staff friendly and speak good english.

Restaurant staff is really helpfull and friendly and not that upthight but, service is slow and they need some management as seen example in breakfast they somehow cant predict if some food is about to end, it takes awhile to get a new in.
Even when quiet in restaurant, took some time for food to come BUT, food was delicious and really worth of prices.

Spa / pools and saunas awerage / good but spa area was nice especially with class roof.

One of the best ones we have stayed.
Really really nice place, gonna come again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jvalijar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed for one night with my daughter. Normally we like bed and breakfast type family stays, but now wanted to have some little extra, as we were to stay for one night only and could afford the cost.
The hotel was very elegant, the service good, as can be expected, and the spa especially nice on a rainy morning when we didn't want to rush out to the city. Breakfast was good, but not great compared to Scandinavian hotels.
Extra points for the nice location in the midst of the old city. Nice small restaurants all over and easy to get around.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna66helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

It was not my first stay at Hotel Telegraaf in Tallinn, Estonia - but it could be easily the last. So much I am annoyed of the lack of attention to the experience product and bad attitude in service on this beautifully restored and designed central old town hotel.

As earlier the staff at the reception was helpful and the check-in process went really smoothly.

Room was nice clean and well designed - as rooms in this hotel have been earlier too. The view did really meet the expectations since only thing we saw from the window was opposite wall within couple meters (literally) distance, but it was not a big problem for us. Room was much smaller than the previous rooms have been, but that's how it tends to be in old buildings. Opposite to the copy line on the hotels website, there was no chance to open the window. We didn't even bother that the TV in our room broke during our stay. But...

Biggest problem during the visit was the breakfast. If staying at boutique style five star (they at least claim so) hotel, you expect something spectacular or excellent at least. Far from that was what we got!

When entering the breakfast room (Restaurant Tchaikovsky) at around 10:45am, about 45min before the closing of service, we found almost all plates on buffet table empty. Couple pieces of bread, smelly and clearly tired cheese and meat-wurst slices welcomed us on the plates, while all warm entrees were gone. There was literally nothing on the table. No options were offered in form of breakfast menu either.

We asked where is the food and member of the staff answered "what do you want?". We answered scrambled eggs and something. Reply was something "we will provide it from kitchen". Coffee was good and served quickly, while the eggs took about 20minutes to arrive. TWENTY MINUTES!!! No apologies, no explanation, no nothing, just very nasty attitude towards clients. We asked of the problem and the waitress mumbled something about busy morning, which we could not understand and left away without further answer.

We were not the only ones who noticed the exactly same thing -> very bad client service attitude combined with one of the worst breakfasts I've had for a looooong time in any hotel.

If you have temporarily run out of something in the buffet table, you should let the client know that we're filling it up and it takes a moment. This was not the case. We were not told anything, not apologized of the selection (what selection?) available or anything, most probably because they were not filling up the table!!! Why didn't they fill up the table, present fresh stuff instead of tired left overs???

After talking of the topic with some friends we heard about similar experiences. Why is it like this? Is this a hotel management decision to save up some money and not fill in the buffet table, cause I cannot believe that it could be just the staff who decides not to do so?

This leads into a decision which means that otherwise mostly perfect hotel is going to be banned by the clientele. If not all, at least us and our friends. I'm a bit sorry about that, but what can we do. Experience is what we want, not just nice set up. Part of that is the quality of breakfast as well as level of the service you get while having it. This time it was a disaster.

Room Tip: Try to book top floor towards the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HannuMikael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I didn't want to leave! The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. Had an evening meal in the hotel restaurant and the food and service were superb. Breakfast was pretty good, the room service was quick and use of the free spa was a big added bonus. Would go back without a shadow of a doubt. Cant fault it and great value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SW40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
2,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $124 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing