We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel we've stayed in.”
Review of Hotel CRU

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel CRU
Ranked #21 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best hotel we've stayed in.”
Reviewed July 27, 2009

The Hotel Viru Inn was a gorgeous hotel with excellent staff and a lot of space. We felt like we were staying with wealthy relatives. There was enough closet space for us to be able to unpack our suitcases and even had 2 sofas, a flat screen TV and a desk. Breakfast was delicious and kept us going until dinner. The downstairs sauna and spa was beautiful with a large warm plunge pool which we had all to ourselves and was very clean.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnpToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    84
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
37
122
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

I met up with my brother in Tallinn and we wanted a hotel which had large enough rooms to accommodate us on a twin-share basis as we were staying for 8 nights. Viru Inn ticked all the boxes. It is an old merchant's house, converted into a boutique hotel with a modern Italian restaurant downstairs. The room we were given was charming with 2 very comfortable beds, a very large room complete with sofa (so we didn't have to sit on our beds) and large antique desk. The bathroom had a large separate shower & bathtub. The upside & downside is that it's right on one of the main Old Town streets. So whilst you have everything on your doorstep, it gets very noisy at night, especially on Friday & Saturday nights. The staff are very helpful and what they don't know, they will find out. The food in the restaurant is excellent and very good value. The breakfast is included and although fairly basic, is plentiful and tasty. Guests can also use the sauna in the mornings for free, but we didn't so I don't know what it's like. One (sort of) negative is that you have to get buzzed into the hotel from reception. It's for security purposes, but it would be better if guests were given a door code which they could punch into the keypad themselves rather than having to wait to get let in & presumably more convenient for the staff.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meanlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

This is the type of Hotel we normally book for short break holidays, and it certainly lived up to all our expectations,
From the moment we e-mailed the booking, the response was very quick, and professional, Tarmo who handled everything was one of the best Managers we have come across, nothing was too much trouble, and he gave us some good detail on the city itself ( Insider knowledge )
Location is perfect, Old town centre, All the best bars restaurants, Attractions within easy walking distance.
Their own Restaurant is probably one of the best in Tallinn, Staff Knowledgable, Attentive, and very friendly, Mainly Italian style but all very Authentic.
Recommendations from Ivan were spot on.
Rooms clean and comfertable,
Overall this Hotel comes highly recommended,

We will be back and leave it all in the hands of the Viru Inn.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesverne96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Sussex
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Where do I begin, we just loved it! The Viru Inn is a delightful small hotel close to the main square, but in a quiet side street.

The hotel's website shows each of the rooms and they are even better than they look on their site. We chose room 9, as we had two children aged 5 & 6 with us. We had a 4-poster bed and they had a very comfortable sofa-bed in our room. It's in an old merchant's house, with lots of character. Some of the rooms were larger than others, e.g. room 2 looked huge, whereas room 8 was a small double, however, that's reflected in the price.

The staff were so kind and attentive, we felt as if we were being looked after by long lost relatives. We had the downstairs sauna, steam room and plunge pool complex to ourselves surprisingly, and the staff were kind enough to find toys for the children to play with there, including water pistols!

We ate in the restaurant on the evening we arrived, for convenience as the children were tired and enjoyed the Italian food. There's plenty of Estonian food round town, should you wish to try anything local.

For breakfast, there was a good buffet with freshly baked bread and the staff wanted to make hot chocolate for the children and generally pamper us! Everyone spoke perfect English, which made it so easy.

We spent 2 weeks round the Baltic States and wish we could have had longer. I don't know if the weather was typical when we went mid May, but it started out at about 18C for the first couple of days and then went up to 25-28C + no rain for 2 weeks!

(Don't confuse it with the Sokos Hotel Viru, a 22 storey 1970's block outside the old town!)

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeLoveEurope_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
211 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2008

I booked this hotel for me and my 3 friends and waited a lot from this "boutique" hotel. Location is perfect and building is very beautiful with some nice details.

At first when we arrived, we got to know our room is not ready yet. Lady at reception said at first its going to be ready 15.00, when she saw our faces :-/ she said 14.30 and finally promised 14.05! We were back 14.15 and all was still messed up. She said they will serve some sparkling wine for us at their restaurant. Well, restaurant was full, we got wine at some corridor of second floor. Finally we got a table from restaurant; and didnt like our pizzas either. Anyway we were in a better mood because of the cava :-).

Room (nr.16, suite) had nice setting. We had a lack of (small)towels and when I went to my bed after some bars around 3.00 I got to know that I dont have a pillow at all. We also got only one key. I think good quality means you dont have to ASK and DEMAND for everything.... all just works fine.

For a breakfast we either dont give any good points. As a decoration some strawberries with mold, salads were from the day before yesterday..

When paying our bill, I said were not quite satisfied into service we got. Lady at reception was quite friendly, but explanation was confused (whole Tallinn fully-booked?). I didnt want to pay whole price, but she said the bill is already written half an hour ago and complaints should tell immediately. Anyway she turned her mind after couple of minutes. We were the first customers with complaints, she said.

I really hope its like that, but we are not going to return. Tallinn has many nice hotels.

  • Liked — location, building
  • Disliked — not so warm welcome, breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank File101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2007

Had a long-weekend here.
Felt very welcomed and the staff at the hotel did everything to make us feel comfortable.

The rooms were just sooo fine, beds wear great and very good breakfast!

The best of all: Viru Inn is in the middel of "everything" ...

My varmest recomandations!

Tone

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ToneNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solbergelva
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2007

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed inn!! I have tried a lot of hotels, this is far better than the rest.
We were 7 "girls" that went for a long weekend from Norway. We were met at the airport (complimentary pick-up service),
The hotel is located inn the old town at a "quiet by night" but verry central spot withCulture, Shopping and Dining too.
This is and old merchants house renewed with the most charming rooms.
The staff did EVERYTHING to make us feel special.

This is a small boutique hotell with no rooms like eachother .

You just have to experience this hotel!

Marianne

  • Liked — Rooms ,location and service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessaMilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#5 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
0.1 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#4 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#23 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel CRU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel CRU

Property: Hotel CRU
Address: Viru 8, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel CRU 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Late Medieval architecture in one of the oldest houses in Tallinn together with first-class service and possibilities create a unique atmosphere which connects with the environment surrounding the hotel. When renovating the house we respected both the initial architecture and the strict national heritage protection requirements that ensure that both the location and design of the hotel rooms is as loyal to the original concept of the house as possible. In 1997 Tallinn Old Town was included in the UNESCO World Heritage list and that can be regarded as the highest international acknowledgement to any historic town! In addition to a usual lodging experience we offer you an exclusive luxurious boutique-type experience, deriving from the unique design of the hotel building and its medieval legacy. Since all the rooms are unique and different from each other, the visitors may choose the intimacy or luxury of their preferred environment. Our breakfast is made of self-made or farm-grown fresh high-quality ingredients that are not so easily, if at all, found in shops. Natural and fresh breakfast is a unique experience that lights up the whole day! On the lower storey of Hotel Cru you will find a cosy and highly regarded restaurant of the same name. Hotel guests enjoy 10% off all items on the restaurant menu. Dmitri Haljukov, the head chef of the restaurant Cru, represented Estonia in the chef olympics final Bocuse d'Or in Lyon 2015. CRU Hotel is a good choice for both - leisure and business trips! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel CRU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Viru Tallinn
Viru Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing