We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit different but enjoyable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel CRU

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel CRU
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A bit different but enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Viru Inn for three nights on a city break with a Ryanair flight from Edinburgh, the hotel is a bit cookie and very laid back with a very informal check in at the hotel bar (after office hours) our room was on the first floor (85 euros a night) it was small but clean although the carpet was very stained, bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet at night as it looked over a small courtyard at the side of the hotel, breakfast was very basic but enjoyable, the tv in the room only had two channels strangely enough, an Estonian entertainment channel and Eurosport in German?!? Tallinn is fabulous and this hotel has a brilliant location right in the center of the old town, you have to walk about three hundred yards from Viru Gate as it is pedestrianized so may be a bit of a hassle for older couples as it is not easy lugging cases along cobbled streets, all in all we had a great time at this hotel and it was well worth the money we paid.

Room Tip: front rooms may be noisy overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJPDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    82
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
36
117
39
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over weekend. Very central hotel literally 2 minutes from Main Square. We got the bus from Airport. Bus stop is outside Terminal to the right and stops outside main bus terminal/shopping centre. Hotel is about a 5/10 minute walk away. Hotel has two entrance doors -"Reception" doors are on the left and you need to be buzzed in and the restaurant entrance is on the right. We just used the restaurant doors all the time. No visible reception area to speak off as office is located in a room to the left of the stairs. Most contact is directed through the bar area in the restaurant. A bit strange but you soon get used to it. You leave your key at reception (bar) when you go out. No lift in this hotel and one main flight of quite steep steps to rooms above. Watch out for the beam at the top of the stairs or accept a couple of dunts as a reminder. We had a room to the side of the hotel above alleyway. Saturday night was very noisy but we did not hear much noise other nights. It is a central hotel so you have to expect some noise - did not bother us but could bother some. Room was very nice and very spacious. Boutique style. Breakfast is served in cafe/bar area at the front of hotel and is typical fare. Tea/coffee is served from the bar by staff which will suit fresh coffee lovers. Restaurant is Italian based - pizza's etc and stops taking food orders at 10pm - but did take our order after this when we came back a bit later on first night. Food was fine but you probably do not go to Tallinn for Pizza. Owners of hotel have another restaurant just off Main Square in street called PIKK I think. - which we preferred. Big portions with small price! Jacuzzi is at back of hotel and down the stairs. You tell staff the day before that you wish to use facilities and they get it ready for you. Changing area might seem a bit strange for some as you change in an area that would not be described as a changing room but is adequate for purpose.
Staff are friendly. Tallinn is a lovely city and this hotel certainly ticks the box for location. As a hotel in an old building setting it works for charm as well but may not suit some for noise or room access.
As a balanced review - 2 minor points. 1. Rooms have safes but ours had no key. When we asked we were told that other guests take away the keys and there were no replacements - so no safe. 2. Rooms have music piped in through speaker system that you can control yourself - ours did not work.

Neither of these points would stop us staying here again though.

Overall a decent hotel in a Central location that is worth your consideration.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hearts1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Interesting, native decorated hotel, exactly in the old town. Cozy, clean and well equipped rooms. Everithing is fine but... some moments were very uncomfortable. FIrst is no lift and very steep stairs! Second is... location - it's a heart of parties, near many restaraunts and clubs. NOICY! Even closed windows will not helps. Moreover, there was no air conditioner in the room. So, to close the window is also not good idea:) Next one is combination of hotel with restaraunt without concrete reception, you can drop keys on bar table or give it to some of personnel. And If you need something to ask you have to catch somebody firstly... I think it's just not comfortable. And last one - taxi can't go to the hotel because of pedestrian zone. Please take your luggage and go to the Viru Gates. Not so far, but if your bags are heavy??? So finally ... we spend here few days without problems but all difficulties described above can be problematic for someone else.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barrancas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Nicely renovated hotel in Tallinn old town, Very touristy with hordes of visitors at this time of year. Not necessarily a bad thing as it creates a great atmosphere. Spoilt for choice when it comes to eating and drinking within a few metres of the hotel. The hotel is clean, comfortable and we enjoyed a week there. Rooms all different shapes and sizes, full of character which we liked as opposed to the standard modern chain lookalikes. Only criticism was lack of clothes storage space.
Breakfasts OK, very leisurely and enough to satisfy most appetites. Drinks a bit pricey but this is not a cheap destination. The hotel operates a restaurant . The food is fine but the kitchen was very slow. We decided to eat there on a Saturday night but there were a few who got sick of waiting and left. Felt a bit sorry for thestaff in the dining room having to make excuses. Management should look at this. Maybe a free drink or a small plate of appetisers to fill the time would help tem as well as the customer.
If you do go to Tallinn please have a good look around outside the centre. Theres a good beach via a short bus ride and lots of shopping. Try the ferry to Helsinki.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
328 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

a 5 star, if not for the noise from the kitchen and the music emanating from the yard.
We had a beautiful room (## 9) highly recommended as a room with a modern bathroom,although a bit on the small side. But, the room itself made up for it.
Location is smack in the middle of the old town - perfect.
Now for the reason I will not stay there again - the hotel is built around a courtyard. Some rooms overlook the small alley, where the kitchen is which serves the very good restaurant.
That's where the problem begins. Every evening until around 11:00 p.m. there is a lot of noise from the kitchen, the employees come out for a smoke, put some music on, quite loudly.
Needless to say, when one travels there are always little things which either make or break the enjoyment of your stay.That did it for us.
If these kind of disturbances don't affect you, by all means, it is a lovely place to stay.
The staff is friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: stay in room # 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Given the glowing reviews I was, well, maybe not disappointed exactly, but not quite as captivated as I was hoping. It is a beautiful old building and our room (no.3) was lovely with wooden beams stretching the whole length (this room is long and narrow with windows over both the front and the back), comfortable chairs and a chaise longue as well as a big double bed, a bathroom with a huge bath big enough for two (probably for three) and plentiful hot water. But there were niggles - a minibar with no glasses, only one small pillow each, a TV which received only Eurosport in German and one other channel which seemed to be mostly films and an occasional news broadcast in Finnish. They can't do much about the noise (they have double glazing), but the revellers in the street are disturbing and they go on long, long into the night. And it was hot - they provide a cold air blower but it isn't all that effective. And they do need to decide whether they're running a hotel or a restaurant that lets out rooms - reception is usually just the till of the pizza place and whoever happens to be there, which means that they deal with you not impolitely but fairly abruptly. It couldn't be better situated for wandering round the old town and we did enjoy ourselves, but not as much as we would have if we could have woken each day well rested and relaxed. The breakfast is very good, no complaints at all about that.

Room Tip: Try to make sure you get one which doesn't look over the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norbiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Tallinn hotels tend to be good quality and boutique style whilst well priced. The staff went out of their way to help us. We have an infant and arrived before check in time, but were provided with a room. We were also able to remain in the room after check out time. This helped enormously. The room itself was large and elegant, I think we were upgraded to the suite (16) because the hotel was quiet (it was midsummer). Our room was on the front of the building, but triple glazed so it remained quiet. As other reviews have stated, soap is not provided at the basin, but there is liquid soap/shampoo in a container in the shower.
We tried the cafe/restaurant on 3 occasions and the food is of a very good standard. Breakfast (included) is small, but good quality and enough. We also tried the small pool/jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. The pool (underground in the 'vaults') is cold, not sure if heated, but if you're in and out of the sauna/steam room then it doesn't matter too much. We were also served from the bar whilst in the pool area. There are a few steps up to the rooms and no lift, but we were able to leave the stroller downstairs. The hotel is well situated for both the port and the main square.

Room Tip: probably go during a quiet period
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milurois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.1 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Three Sisters
The Three Sisters
#10 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel CRU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel CRU

Property: Hotel CRU
Address: Viru 8, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#13 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#17 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel CRU 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Late Medieval architecture in one of the oldest houses in Tallinn together with first-class service and possibilities create a unique atmosphere which connects with the environment surrounding the hotel. When renovating the house we respected both the initial architecture and the strict national heritage protection requirements that ensure that both the location and design of the hotel rooms is as loyal to the original concept of the house as possible. In 1997 Tallinn Old Town was included in the UNESCO World Heritage list and that can be regarded as the highest international acknowledgement to any historic town! In addition to a usual lodging experience we offer you an exclusive luxurious boutique-type experience, deriving from the unique design of the hotel building and its medieval legacy. Since all the rooms are unique and different from each other, the visitors may choose the intimacy or luxury of their preferred environment. Our breakfast is made of self-made or farm-grown fresh high-quality ingredients that are not so easily, if at all, found in shops. Natural and fresh breakfast is a unique experience that lights up the whole day! On the lower storey of Hotel Cru you will find a cosy and highly regarded restaurant of the same name. Hotel guests enjoy 10% off all items on the restaurant menu. Dmitri Haljukov, the head chef of the restaurant Cru, represented Estonia in the chef olympics final Bocuse d'Or in Lyon 2015. CRU Hotel is a good choice for both - leisure and business trips! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel CRU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Viru Tallinn
Viru Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing