We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel in old town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in old town”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Thanks tripadvisor for the recommendation, this hotel had been amazing. Best location, close to high end shops, cafes, bars and restaurants of every kind. Within short walking distances to the old town attractions and Viru square for the city tour buses.
Beautiful old style decor with all the modern functions, great wifi access and showers to spend all day in! The staff are super friendly and helpful, with a great knowledge of things to see and do.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Kelly,

Thank you for your suggestions to other Tripadvisor users!

I am sure they will be as thankful as you mentioned you are. It is nice to see that there are kind enough people to share their experiences, so others can relive them.

Sincerely,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    338
    60
    12
    5
See reviews for
161
566
60
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel has a great location, on a small square in old town and a five minute walk to the town hall square, and easy access to the whole old town area. the room was cozy and well-appointed, and the Mekk restaurant provided the included buffet breakfast and highly regarded fusion dinners. Although my room overlooked the square, noise was never a problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveVA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you for your post!

I am delighted to see that you found our hotel so pleasant.
We would be more than happy to have you back in the future!

Kind regards,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent a very nice annoversary night with romantic add-on with bottle of cava, candles and handmade tryffels Central location and cosy room. Friendly personnel made our visit memorable I'd like to recommend Savoy to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EJM58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Hotel manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear EJM,

Thank you for your kind words!

It gives us a great pleasure to hear that you were happy with your stay here.
Hopefully there will be more occasions that you decide to have here, so we can continue to give you an experience you utterly deserve.

Kindly,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is an excellent hotel, with friendly staff, located on the edge of the old town, which is within a mile or so of the great K. park containing presidential palace & museums. My wife & I stayed for just 2 nights in a suite on 4th floor and it far exceeded our expectations -- beautiful old rooms with modern conveniences. We never made it down to breakfast but the day we flew out at 6am they made us sandwiches, an unexpected and delightful touch. Tallinn is also much less costly than Scandinavia! We definitely plan to return to Estonia.

Room Tip: 408 is a really nice corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Hotel manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Jonathan,
Thank you for your kind words!

It was a pleasure to host you here at Savoy Boutique Hotel and we are already looking forward to the next time!

Kind regards,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
602 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Small boutique hotel with friendly service. Rooms are okay, but the bathrooms are the best. Ask for a room on the higher levels for during the night it can get noisy from the bars across the street. If not, take earplugs like my husband. Wifi is complimentary, but spotty and slow unless you are in the lobby or bar area.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the higher level to avoid noise from bars, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nvlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Hotel manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear nvlinks,
Thank very much for your post!

I am sure that this will be helpful for the other tripadvisor users as well.
Savoy Boutique Hotel is looking forward to host you in the future!

Until then I wish you all the best!
Sincerely,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was our first trip to Tallinn, and we didn't know what to expect. Having read some mixed reviews on the Savoy (after booking), we were more than pleasantly surprised by the high quality of the room, the service, and the location.

Many reviewers have mentioned the location, but I will just remind readers that the hotel is one block into the Old Town, and one block from the square from which you start climbing up to the Upper Town. It is also very close to numerous haute cuisine restaurants. Yes, haute cuisine. I have to admit that after reading so much about Tallinn's preserved medieval architecture and occupation by the Soviets that I expected something much more provincial. I had no idea (shame on me) that Tallinn has world-class hotels, shopping, and restaurants. And if you have been travelling in Scandinavia, the reasonable prices are a welcome surprise.

Some people mentioned noise: we heard no noise from bars, but be forewarned that the Old Town is a popular night spot for young people in Tallinn as well as tourists, so you will hear the occasional reveler. If you keep your windows closed, you probably won't notice anything. There isn't any traffic in the late evening or through the night.

Our room was amazing, but know that we were upgraded to a corner room with a sitting area. The bathroom (marble) had a jacuzzi bathtub, lovely fixtures, a huge window that opened, and luxury amenities.

The bed was extremely comfortable (a Novotel with orthopedic topper) and the linens were silky smooth. Someone on TripAdvisor said the bedding was substandard because the duvets weren't fluffy. Keep in mind that during the summer you are likely to get cotton filled duvets rather than goosedown. This is true all over Northern Europe, even in the best hotels. These are as light but not fluffy and not as warm. You will appreciate the difference that makes in the summer. Our room had two TVs, one for the sitting area, one for the bed. There is a refrigerator (important to us because my husband takes insulin). Robes and slippers were provided as well as several large cupboards and armoires. THe sitting area has an armchair and a loveseat--both very comfortable. Room was exceptionally clean and the linens smelled nice. The staff left little treats by our bedsides. Again, keep in mind that we were upgraded, so I can't say whether any of this is standard. The corner room was great, because if we wanted to open the windows we got lots of air and light. The windows have gauze curtains and wooden shutters inside--very good for darkening the room during the summer nights.

I should also mention that the hotel takes security precautions very seriously. You need a key card to get into your hotel corridor and into your room (and as with most European hotels, you need your key card for the main energy switch in your room). There is a safe in the room. Free wi-fi as well.

The staff was terrific. Very hospitable on arrival, great with maps and directions, told us about the free candy and fruit always available, and generally made us feel very welcome. All the staff members speak very good English. When we had to leave early in the morning, they made sure we had sandwiches, fruit and juice to take with us to the airport (no charge). We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, Mekk, but other guests told us it was very good. The bar also has an outdoor patio by the square: my husband had a local beer, which he liked, the service was excellent, but we didn't order any cocktails so I can't say how the mixologist was. Oh, the hotel called the cab for us to make sure we didn't have to worry about unscrupulous taxi drivers. (By the way, the airport is more modern than most US airports, and is only a 10 minute drive from the hotel.)

I recommend this hotel very highly. During our trip throughout Scandinavia we stayed in the best hotels (an anniversary gift from my husband), and this hotel was the equal of any of them. I do want to emphasize that Tallinn is quite sophisticated: many folks from the Nordic countries and Russia come here regularly, so the first-rank hotels have to be excellent. As do the restaurants--also fabulous!

Since I don't know if I'll be writing more reviews on Tallinn while it's fresh in my mind, I'll mention a couple of things we did that are well worth doing. 1. When you find yourself in the main square of Old Town, do go to the Estonian museum. It is in a wonderful old Guild Hall building, the exhibit is small, but you will get some sense of Estonian history, which will make the rest of your visit more interesting. Not expensive and it won't take a long time. 2. The insides of the churches are amazing, even if churches aren't your thing. Take the time to go into the Alexander Nevsky church. Also, while in the Upper Town (Toompea) go to the two overlooks--one on each side of the Toompea. These are marked on the map you will get in the hotel. The Toompea is a short climb--not strenuous. 3. Make sure you take a stroll down Katerina Kaik and stop in to Master's Courtyard. 4. The old wall is visible at the bottom of Katerina Kaik (walking down from Vene), and there are vendors selling handicrafts in between the buttresses. Across from them are some of the linen shops.

5. If you like art, museums, and parks, you should take a bus or walk (it takes about ten minutes down Narva Mnt. which starts one block from the Savoy) to Kadriorg Park where Peter the Great built a Summer Palace for his wife. The grounds of the park itself are lovely, and the Palace is being restored (the back and formal gardens are completed). You can go into the Palace for art from 17th to 20th century--you can read more about what's there online. We enjoyed seeing the building AND the art. There was a special Repin exhibit, which was quite good, during our time there.

6. THEN walk about 200 yds past the Palace to Kumu, which is a wonderful contemporary building--just great. This has Estonian art through the ages, a fabulous room filled with all kinds of busts (fun!), and this summer an Irving Penn photography exhibit (wonderful). You can also easily take a bus or tram down to the park if you don't feel like walking--Narva Park has high-end hotels up near the Old Town, but becomes shabbier as you approach the park. You will get some sense of the rest of Tallinn when you take the walk--we like that sort of thing.

7. Before or after going to Kadriorg take Lower Koidula (runs into the park from Narva Mnt.) -- just about a half block from the park you'll find Gourmet Coffee. It is a great little cafe with terrific coffees from all over the world and award-winning baristas. We liked walking on J. Poska just next to the park because there are ultra-modern homes next to 18th century wooden homes and even earlier homes. You see an interesting mix of styles.

8. We ate one night at Tchaikovsky, in a lovely courtyard accessible either through the Hotel Telegraaf or on the side street off Vene. Use the side-street entrance (just down from the main square). FABULOUS food, first-rate service, lovely place, and beautiful presentation. Many of the chefs in Tallinn have remarkable pedigrees. This one is amazing, but I can't compare to the others because we only ate out one night.

9. If you take the ferry from Helsinki, you will be on board a mini-cruise ship, complete with supermarket, restaurants, duty-free shops and about 2,000 other passengers. Get to the port early so you don't have to be in the middle of the huge herd. Great people-watching! BUT be forewarned that it is a LONG walk, about half a kilometer, down the passageway to get to the ship. If you have trouble walking, look into a wheelchair for this part of the trip. The walk out in Tallinn is a bit shorter, but not by much.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny! You may want to shut your shutters before leaving in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Molly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Molly,
Thank you for your warm post!

These kind of letters are what motivate us here at Savoy Boutique Hotel to thrive for improvement.
I am eager to see you here again in the future to show you our gratitude with a warm welcome again.

Until the next time!
Sincerely,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel has a lot going for it. The location is great, within a 5 minute walk to the old town central square, but also within a 2 minute walk of a large shopping center where you can buy just about anything you could need. Restaurants are all over the place. And there is a concierge parking nearby (20 euros per night).

The room was nice and comfortable. We had requested baby bed and one was actually there when we entered the room (no reminders were necessary, which is very rare). The receptionists on staff during the weekdays were quite good (though the weekend girl seemed like she had never been in Tallinn before. She told us that on Sunday evening after 10pm no restaurants would be open in the old town, but when we walked through the town, we found no shortage of restaurants).

The breakfast room was very nice, but small. The food offered was good quality but limited. However, when we asked for cappuccinos instead of the standard drip coffee, they were brought with a smile (and no extra charge).

Overall, we were more than satisfied with this hotel. The location was perfect, the price in line with the quality and the service was overall very good. I would certainly return.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor and were quite happy there. There is only one tiny elevator, but that pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Hotel Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Americannj,
Thank you for your warm post!

These kind of letters are what motivate us here at Savoy Boutique Hotel to thrive for improvement.
I am eager to see you here again in the future to show you our gratitude with a warm welcome again.

Until the next time!
Sincerely,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
2,059 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 82 in Tallinn
1,620 reviews
0.0 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
383 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 82 in Tallinn
2,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 82 in Tallinn
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Boutique Hotel

Property: Savoy Boutique Hotel
Address: Suur-Karja 17 | Old Town, Tallinn 10148, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Savoy Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical Hotel Palace, Tallinn reopened in July 2014 after a total makeover. The Hotel is located next to Freedom Square / Vabaduse väljak) and is just 150 meters from the picturesque Old Town. When staying with us for business, you still have excellent opportunity for shopping or sightseeing in the Old Town as major shopping and entertainment venues are within a short walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Boutique Tallinn
Hotel Savoy Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing