We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room overlooking roofs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful room overlooking roofs”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel had great service and breakfast. Our room was with three windows with great views. It was very cozy and completely silent, so we slept like babies. I think the hotel ranks itself five stars, which is a little bit over the top - you cant compare it to a Ritz, but for the price why not let them add as many stars as they like.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Hotel Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear globelove,

Thank you for the amusing and utterly fun post!

I am sure that we can discuss these topics whenever you decide to revisit us in the future.
Until then I wish you all the best!

Sincerely,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    368
    62
    16
    5
See reviews for
178
625
65
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The best advantage of this hotel is:
1) Location !!!!
2) Breakfast (do NOT miss pastry - it's covered by white cloth - the same quality I had only in Paris)
3) staff - friendly, non-meddling

After my stay I disliked only one thing - there was not heating equipment in my room: either central heating nor heating-floor or other. Only locked air-system (I assume it's for summer time). It was nice to stay in the cool room while You are moving - but after a night I had a problem with my throat. (at the same time in the hall it was extremely hot).
So if You like sleeping in cool air - it's great but not for me.

Room Tip: Rooms to the street are lighted by street illumination - blinds will help You. they are a little bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonelyapart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Hotel Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear lonelyapart,

Thank you for your comments!
I am glad that you were pleased with our breakfast and you can be sure that I will deliver the message to the kitchen floor.

As far as your concern about the room being cool, I am sorry that you found it a little too low on degrees. The next time you decide to come here I suggest you to pass your thoughts to reception and they will find you a solution like a hot air fanny or a radiator. Both of them are available for our guests that feel a need to increase the room temperature.

Until the next time I wish you all the best!

Sincerely,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 727 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Where to start with this hotel? It didn't start off the best as our airport transfer we ordered through the hotel didn't turn up but it wasn't a big deal we got a taxi which was cheaper anyway (€7). The receptionist when we arrived was amazing she apologised when we said it was ok she said its not ok which made us feel better to know they cared, check in was extremely easy and fast.

We were given our room key card and the wifi password (the whole hotel has free wifi including all rooms) and told the key would allow us to move round the hotel as each floor is locked, we were in room 308 which was absolutely amazing it is a suite as you enter there is a little lounge area, to the right was a large bathroom with a huge jacuzzi bath in it, then you had curtains in between the lounge and the bedroom with a king size bed the whole room had a romantic feel which is exactly what we wanted for valentines day!!! Our room had two televisions for some reason one in the lounge and the other in the bedroom!! The jacuzzi was one of the best features of the room as it has mood lighting built in which allows you to enjoy a very relaxing soak after a busy day exploring.

The savoy is situated in the heart of the old town which was fantastic as all the places we wanted to visit were no more than a 5 minute walk away. We went for a wonder to find a local shop and found many amazing things, the good thing about this part of town it doesn't matter how far away from the hotel you wander it's always simple to find your way back. Which is one of the reasons this hotel is fantastic.

After we returned from our little explore we went back to the room to find a plate of fresh fruit and truffles to apologies for the transfers which we were overwhelmed by, the apology we received of the receptionist was enough to keep us happy, maybe we are really easily pleased but this was a fantastic gesture. We also had a personalise letter of apology typed on stunning paper. A big thanks to the receptionist on the 13/02/13 your a credit to the hotel . Nothing was too much for reception, they even allowed us to send them an email link so that we could print off our boarding passes for our return flight.

Champagne breakfast was included which was really nice, a small selection of high quality food with cereal, yogurt, and a selection of hot food like sausage bacon and a type of egg there was a choice of champagne, tea, coffee or juice to drink.

We visited the hotel bar which was warm and cosy. They had an extensive range of drinks to choose from. There is a lounge with a real fire that was lovely on a cold Estonian day. The barman even gave us a pint of ice to take back to our room to enjoy a ice cold drink in the jacuzzi!!

On valentines day we received a little gift off the hotel which was a bag of dried fruits and nuts with a little personalised card wishing us a happy valentines day which was really pleasant. We had the most perfect valentine's day exploring the romantic city then spending time in the hotel bar, lounge and our room. In the evening we went to the Drink bar which was amazing and less than a minute walk from the hotel (please see separate review).

Checkout was quick and our taxi ordered to the airport. We were told when our taxi arrived and were so sorry to say goodbye to this amazing hotel. We will be back!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayleigh_M_Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Hotel Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Kayals,

I cannot appreciate your kind words enough and it would be hard for me to express my gratitude through this little message box. Thank you very much!

This is exactly why our staff can still after many many years come to work with a smile on their faces - people like you are inspiring!

I thank you for the sunshine to our gray winder day and will always be looking forward to see you here again!

With kind regards,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Savoy Boutique Hotel is a beautifully renovated hotel with an ideal location. As its website deftly says, it is located "at the very heart of Tallinn – in a place where the city centre meets the medieval old town." True that! Moreover, it is a two-minute walk from one of the stops of the very convenient and cheap airport city bus. The rooms were beautiful: renovated and modern with enough historic details (such as the windows and curtains) to allow the atmosphere of the place to seep in. The breakfast, which was included in our price, was amazing: fresh fruit, vegetables, cold cuts, cheeses, olives, nuts, breads, cereals/muesli, a good cup of coffee, and more. We came down for our breakfast every morning with delight. On our last morning, we had a little snafu with the safe (the battery was out and it wouldn't open) and the staff were very quick and responsive and fixed the safe in no time, so that we could get our passports out. A couple of words of caution: the rooms are very small--once you put in your suitcases and your backpacks, there is not much space left. It didn't bother me and my partner (and I roll out a yoga mat every morning to practice!), but if you like your space, this might not be the place for you, especially if you are not traveling solo. Although the bathrooms were beautiful and the shower great, climbing into the bath tub was no small thing, so investigate further if you have a physical limitation of any sort. All in all, I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1BigBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Hotel Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear 1BigBear,

Thank you for your time and effort that you put into this feedback post!
I am sure that this will help other tripadvisor users to make their choice.
I am also glad that you took the energy to express your satisfaction in a way like you did.

As a remark I will only say that if a person had a physical disability we would offer them a room with proper appliances and bathroom furniture.

But thank you again and if you ever decide to come back to the capital of Estonia you will be welcomed kindly in Savoy Boutique Hotel!

Sincerely,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel was nicely renovated with style. Bathtub and bathrobes and slippers in the room.. No noise from the other rooms, actually really quiet hotel. Comfy beds and pillows in two different sizes. I've visited Tallinn several times and this hotel is the best so far.

The staff was also nice and location really good for exploring the old town. Walking distance from everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeenaKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Hotel Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Leena,

Thank you for your kind words!
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you have found your favorite hotel in Tallinn - Savoy Boutique Hotel's doors are always open for you!

Greetings and all the best!

Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have visited Tallinn on a number of occasions and would not stay anywhere else. The hotel is situated on the edge of Old Town but the modern shopping precinct is also easily reached. The building is quite old and therefore the rooms are not palatial but the standard of accomodation and cleanliness are excellent. The range of food for breakfast should satsify most customers and a full range of drinks and snacks are available throughout the day. However , the thing that sets the Savoy apart from other hotels is the level of customer service. All the staff, without exception, are friendly and helpful. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChepstowMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Hotel Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you very much for your delightful feedback!

It was most satisfying to see you come back again and furthermore - you will be always welcome here in Savoy Boutique Hotel!

Sincere regards,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Good room with a comfortable bed, nice bathroom and toiletries and in an excellent location. The breakfast is also very good and so was the meal we had in the evening in the hotel. The service was very pleasant and prompt. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 123MarkK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Hotel Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Mark,

Thank you for the feedback!

The concrete but savvy comments are just what a fellow traveler would like to see when looking for a hotel in Tallinn and this is why you have been the most helpful for them as well as for us.

Until we meet again!

Sincerely,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,698 reviews
0.0 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
893 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
543 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Boutique Hotel

Property: Savoy Boutique Hotel
Address: Suur-Karja 17 | Old Town, Tallinn 10148, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Savoy Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical Hotel Palace, Tallinn reopened in July 2014 after a total makeover. The Hotel is located next to Freedom Square / Vabaduse väljak) and is just 150 meters from the picturesque Old Town. When staying with us for business, you still have excellent opportunity for shopping or sightseeing in the Old Town as major shopping and entertainment venues are within a short walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Savoy Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Boutique Tallinn
Hotel Savoy Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing