We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully decorated Property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savoy Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Beautifully decorated Property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just stayed here for a visit of Tallinn. The hotel property was completed renovated and decorated fairly recently, since it looks really sharp in the lobby, restaurants and rooms. One of the better designed and decorated hotels I have seen when the property is so historic.

The location is right in Old Town of Tallinn, which was very convenient for us as tourists. We could walk to most of our destinations from the hotel, and there was a tram ride for other destinations in the city.

Breakfast was included with the room, and it was nicely laid out choices for breakfast and excellent coffee and juices to drink. The front desk people were helpful when we needed directions or other information about the area.

The location can be a little loud in the late evening, because there are a number of night spots on the street where this hotel is located. This was not a major problem for us, since we stayed on the top floor, the 5th, and our windows were usually open for cooling the room.

The Euro style shower which allows water to cover the floor is a little hard getting used to for an American, so this was not a preferred feature of this room. I'd much prefer a fully enclosed shower area that contains the water.

Wireless service was included in the rooms and the quality was fine, except on our final day, the wireless went out for many hours and the hotel was apparently having someone work on the problem, with no successful results when we departed. This was not helpful, since I had a little bit of business to attend to during the stay.

Overall, a great stay and I would definitely stay here again if I was visiting Tallinn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor if you don't mind taking a small elevator to the top, or if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IlliniRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Hotel Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Ron,

I appreciate your thoughts and comments on our hotel!

The best possible way to thank a hotel's management is to leave a comprehensive and detailed feedback like yours. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Savoy Boutique Hotel and we would be more than happy to see you back in Tallinn and in Savoy!

Hopefully your next visit to Tallinn will be as pleasing as this one!

Kind regards,

Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    327
    59
    12
    4
See reviews for
160
553
59
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South West
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We found the staff really, really helpful, the food excellent - both breakfast and dinner - and it was a short walk to all the major sights of the city. Our room was pleasant and comfortable, but it was warm so we needed air at night, and unfortunately the square outside is a gathering place for late night taxi drivers picking up a kebab, so you might be better with an 'internal' room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farthingstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Hotel Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for these helpful comments!

I am sure that your notes and tips will be a great benefit for visitors of Tallinn and our hotel.
It is nice to see that you were pleased with our staff and rooms, hopefully this will not be the last time we met!

Until the next time!

Sincerely,
Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Short taxi ride from airport to hotel where you are right in the centre of the old town where everything is within walking distance . Hotel room small but clean and functional for what we required as not in the room for long as so much to do . Beds a good size and very comfortable . Staff very friendly and helpful . Enjoyed breakfast great scrambled egg and a good choice .loved Tallinn and will return again and would have no hesitation in staying at the savoy boutique again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2009zola25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Hotel Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear zola,

Thank you for sharing your experiences!

I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with your trip to Tallinn and also your stay in our hotel. I am confident that these comments will be helpful for people who are planning a vacation in Tallinn.

It is also nice to hear that you will be coming back to Tallinn and we at Savoy Boutique Hotel would love to have you back here!

Best wishes,

Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Very helpful and enthusiastic service trying to help even if it is out of their responsibility. Small but high quality breafest. Stylish rooms and the hotel as a whole.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike11746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Hotel Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Mike,

I am very grateful for your kind words!

Thank you for staying in Savoy Boutique hotel! It is a rewarding thing to see that you appreciated our staff's work, nothing makes the manager of a hotel more happy.

You will always be welcome to visit us again during your future travels in Tallinn!

Sincerely,

Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BD3856
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at Savoy Boutique for three nights during June, 2012. We were there during the "White Nights" - when there was sunlight over 18 hours a day. The first room we were given was facing west (into the sun) and it was very hot indeed inside that room. Luckily we were graciously moved to another room away from the sunny side of the hotel. That room was
much cooler. We tried to get the air-conditioner to work but it never seemed to be putting out any cold air. Having air-conditioning would have been nice. We have read reviews about the breakfast room being too small. That is true. We also read reviews about the difficulty of getting coffee served in the breakfast room. That is also true. We found the selection of breakfast items to be plentiful and delicious. I have already mentioned the "White Nights".
This hotel is located at the edge of the pedestrian area of Tallinn. That means that people arriving by bus or taxi or other conveyance are dropped off and picked up just outside the pedestrian area - which unfortunately is just in front of this hotel. We heard cars and buses and doors slamming and people shouting about 18 hours a day. The bars and clubs in Tallinn close at 5 am and that's when the noise started to slow down. Of course, I realize that outside noise is not the fault of the hotel. I am simply stating that there is a lot of noisy partying going on in Tallinn, a fair amount of which starts and finishes immediately in front of this hotel. We had dinner at the MEKK restaurant in this hotel and found it to be outstanding. A superb meal served by experienced waitstaff. Thanks for a fine dining experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BD3856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Hotel Manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am grateful for your very thorough comments!
Most of all I am happy to hear that you were pleased with our restaurant MEKK. You are absolutely right about the pedestrian area and the white nights. The old town Tallinn is the center of nightlife not only for tourists but for local people as well. In my opinion this means two things. There are of course a slight inconveniences with the loud streets but in the other hand I really think you could not find a hotel better located place to stay than Savoy Boutique hotel if you are looking to go sightseeing or to use the public transport.
I hope the white nights of Estonia gave you positive energy and that you will enjoy your summer at home as well.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Approx 15 mins drive from the airport. The savoy in in the heart of the old town which is just where we wanted to be. A short walk away from all the major attractions and hundreds of restaurants and bars to chose from. On arrival check in was swift and pleasant. Our room was clean large king size bed was comfortable. Pillows could be a bit firmer . When we had the windows open it was quite noisy. There is a lively taco bar just opposite the hotel. Close the windows you don't hear the noise and the aircon is quiet too. Breakfast is catered mainly for continental but the scrambled eggs and meatballs were very tasty!
One restaurant to avoid in the main square is called revalia grill house. The food is average and they con you in by handing out leaflets with special prices and then adding on 20 percent and still expect a tip.
Best way to see tallin is the city bus which the hotel will sort for you.
Would recommend hotel to couples visiting tallin

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bluebluebells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Hotel manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear bluebluebells,

Thank you for your kind comments!

It is nice to see that you would recommend our hotel to others aswell. It is regretful that you did not have a great restaurant experience in the old townd though. During your next visit I hope that you have time to try out our restaurant MEKK in the Savoy Boutique Hotel. I assure you that you will not be dissapointed!

Until the next time I wish you all the best!

Kind regards,

Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed at the Savoy Boutique for 4 nights at the end of May and found the Hotel to be excellent all round.
The Hotel is well furnished with good size rooms, an excellent bar and breakfast and free Wi-Fi throughout.
The Staff are efficient, welcoming, helpful and all look to be enjoying their jobs which is always nice to see !.
The Hotel location is also excellent and you are close to all the main sites and all that Tallinn (which is a fantastic city) has to offer.
I highly recommend the Savoy Boutique for both business and leisure visitors.

Room Tip: You will need to close the windows to obliterate the street noise if you have a room at the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter&Juli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Hotel manager at Savoy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Peter & Juli,

Thank you for your kind words!
Feedbacks like these are the most rewarding moments during our everyday working life!
I am very pleased to hear that you found our staff members enjoying their jobs, this is exactly what we are trying to achieve here: if the personel is happy to have you here, then you will hopefully be happy to be here.

Thank you for visiting Savoy Boutique Hotel, you are welcome back any time!
Have a splended summer!

Edith Mihkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
0.0 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Boutique Hotel

Property: Savoy Boutique Hotel
Address: Suur-Karja 17 | Old Town, Tallinn 10148, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Savoy Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sincere hospitality in an exclusive environment!* Superb location in Tallinn Old Town* A romantic, dignified and cozy boutique hotel* Amidst all cultural events and historic sights, built in 1890's* Houses restaurant MEKK, which tempts you to discover Modern Estonian Cuisine. The Savoy Boutique Hotel is located at the very heart of Tallinn, in the medieval old town. It is a superb place for people who travel for business as well as for pleasure. The capital city's most noteworthy business, entertainment and shopping centers are nearby. The hotel building was constructed in 1890 and renovated in 2006. A piece of luxury that makes you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Savoy Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Boutique Tallinn
Hotel Savoy Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing