We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merchant's House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Lovely hotel with great location. Stuff was very friendly and breakfast ok. We'll surely want to visit there again. Only one suggestion: Please tell people, who come by own car, in advance where to park. It could be difficult to navigate in the old town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura4332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 721 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Brilliant boutique hotel perfectly located within the heart of beautiful Tallinn. The rooms are decorated differently but all are quite lovely. We had a UNESCO Heritage wall in our room. Very nice, helpful staff. Having a to-go breakfast ready for us upon our early departure was just an example of the helpful service. Location could not have been better. Overall wonderful visit - just wish it could have been longer!

Room Tip: Request a courtyard facing room if planning on going to sleep early but if staying up late until the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4EverTraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I enjoyed a couple of days in the hotel with friends. I have visited Tallin before and this hotel is very well located right in the old town adjacent to the square. Breakfast very good - buffet style and we had a private BBQ , brought inside due to weather but very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

we have stayed in Tallinn many times and wanted to try somewhere different.

the hotel is centrally located which helps and the main part of the building is medievil and looks great.

our room was large but for soemrrason the bed was on a large platform which meant getting out of bed was interesting as it was easy to fall. the shower wasn't the best either i remember.

on the whole though the hotel was nice and i would stay there again. there maybe better hotels but there are worse ones too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodentom1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Inside it looks just as the name implies....the former home of a wealthy merchant, with many of its ancient walls and ceilings designated part of the Tallinn UNESCO Heritage site. Our room, with one such ceiling, was huge and comfortably and stylishly furnished.
Merchant's House couldn't be more central in the old town, the downside being the proximity of several very noisy bars (as almost anywhere in old Tallinn). But don't let that put you off; either stay Sun to Thurs - which are much quieter - or book a room at the back.
Breakfasts aren't the greatest, but quite adequate - and the happy hours are very appealing.
The hotel staff are superb..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at The Merchants House Hotel for 3 nights over the May bank holiday.I had e-mailed the hotel before hand to arrange a pick up from airport,driver was waiting for us in terminal on arrival,perfect.Clean spotless car,all very professional for €20.
The hotels location is absolutley perfect,about 20 seconds off the square,dont think you could get better.
We had a executive suite in the courtyard,rooms were great- bath robes,slippers,hair dryer,toiletries,mini bar ect and 2 tvs,one in bed area and other in the seperate lounge area.
The only down side for me was the room was a little dark and a mirror was needed in lounge area were table is,for hair and make up.The room we had 214 was so quiet,i was a little worried when we first arrived as the courtyard is set up with table and chairs for drinks ect but we never heard a thing.
The staff were really friendly and helpful,ringing tourist attractions for us and always very pleasant,we also met the manager,Jonathan,who was great,very knowledgeable and helpful,my mother-in-law is due to visit Tallinn soon with a cruise ship and he told us to ask her to visit the hotel for a complimentary drink and a little tour about,so nice.
We are definatley going to visit Tallinn again,and we will be staying again at The Merchants House Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Executive room 214 in courtyard,very spacious and quiet,our room had a bath with shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigdunc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We enjoyed a 3 night stay using the special offer which included an excellent 2 hour private tour around Tallinn which lifted the veil on what it was really like there both now and in the past in the occupation years. We were treated to a wonderful meal in the restaurant and were the only ones eating there. Every effort was made to make the meal and atmosphere special even with rose petals leading to our table.
Our room (209) was fine and the thing to remember is that this is a really old building with lots of character and eccentricities. If you are looking for the standard international hotel this may not be the place for you, but if you are looking for atmosphere and being in the very heart of the old town, with pleasant and helpful staff then I highly recommend this hotel to you.
Our room overlooked the courtyard, on the first floor and was very quiet.
Thank-you for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Brenda,

Thank you for taking the time on writing a review on tripadvisor.

The hotels private 2hr tour is amazing as Tallinn has so much history to soak up, with many interesting facts.

I am glad that you enjoyed the rose petals and food in the restaurant.

Thank you again for all your comments, which I will pass to the team in the Merchants House Hotel.

Kind regards

Jonathan Poole
General Manager
Merchants House Hotel
Tallinn, Estonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#16 of 86 in Tallinn
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
892 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $97 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing