We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent hotel, great staff and prime location!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merchant's House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Merchant's House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great staff and prime location!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

As our second visit to Tallinn was with friends we required 3 rooms so booked direct with the hotel, they provided the best rates and excellent service. They even arranged transfers to and from the airport for a very reasonable price. All communication before the trip was very quick and extremely helpful, thank you Jonathan and Elenni. Rooms 308 & 309 were occupied by our friends and proved to be extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean, they were surprised at how far they exceeded expectations. We had 310 and found it to be ideal for our needs and even a little larger than our friends rooms (result).
The facilities in the room were very good, though tea and coffee making equipment has to be requested from reception but arrived quickly. The Staff at reception were very helpful and accommodating, even when we had booked the sauna and had to cancel on the last minute because our friends were still Shopping (in the pub!!). Food in the hotel was of a very high standard and breakfast was really nice, a selection of buffet style continental fayre from cereals, pastries and even cured smoked salmon through to a a la carte menu of cooked food, Full English to Eggs Benedict, all delicious. One point though was that on Sunday only the buffet food was available but a selection of hot food (eggs beans bacon sausage ect) was available on the buffet.
We also had the fun experience of tasting a small (large) selection of drinks in the Ice bar and would recommend Vanna Tallinn in the ice glasses... surprisingly warming!
Overall I can not recommend this hotel highly enough, We all had a great time and each of us has promised a return very soon. Congratulations to Jonathan Poole and team, you have created a very warm and welcoming environment that could very easily become addictive.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms 308,309 and the slightly larger 310 at rear of hotel and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeph001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    224
    90
    18
    9
See reviews for
64
342
46
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

The location in the lovely old town is perfect. Very impressed by the friendly & efficient service. Problem with one of our rooms handled quickly & well. The bedrooms are round a courtyard at the back of the hotel, and have character. I would like to have stated longer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimunist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in January with a group of friends for a friends birthday. I had an amazing weekend from the pre arranged transfers that was organised by the hotel to the relaxing spa treatment.

We dinned in the hotel of the 1st evening, and it is one of the best meals I have ever had.

The breakfast was great, nice selection of continental products from cereal to fruit, to meats and cheeses, to the freshly cooked breakfast.

Staff are brilliant and make the hotel, very helpful and always there to help.

I work in a 4 star hotel in the UK and know what to look for in a hotel for service and quality. This hotel is one of the best I have ever stayed in

Well done to All!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonpicik1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was our 5th trip the Merchants House and each time we come and stay it gets better and better. The Hotel staff on reception are exceptionally helpful, friendly and super efficient. The room we were given was out of this world, very romantic and made my birthday extra special - Thank you to the management for the extra special added touches. The rooms are spotless and cosy and the cocktails in the ice bar are amazing. My favourite Hotel in Tallinn situated in the heart of the old town you cant beat the location and its very quiet at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 102Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Terry & Kelly N,

Thank you for such positive feedback. My team and I are glad to hear that you carry on to enjoy Tallinn and the Merchants House Hotel each year.

Again wishing you a happy 4th fo February.

p.s. Eneli the merchants house hotel sales manager also would like me to say thank you for the chocolates.


Kind Regards

Jonathan Poole & The Merchants House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I feel like coming home year after year. Staff and service is super, location is perfect 50 m from Raekoija Platz, rooms are all charming and spacious, lobby even has Cranach's on the wall and they now have free Wifi.







  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Liesbeth v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Mrs Liesbeth V V D,

Thank you for your kind comments on trip advisor.

I glad that you enjoyed your 6th stay at the Merchants House Hotel and keep on choosing the Merchants House Hotel since 2007.

My staff and I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the Merchants House Hotel and Tallinn Estonia.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Poole
Generla Manager
Merchants House Hotel
Tallinn, Estonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here in January with a group of friends for my birthday. We'd arranged the booking online through the hotel, on arrival I received an upgrade to a suite with a bottle of bubbles to share with my friends. All the other rooms were lovely and great value for a hotel literally round the corner from old town square.

We ate in the hotel the first night and had an amazing meal. The staff at the hotel were great, all very friendly, helpful and spoke excellent English.

We all had a fantastic time and I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCL1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were very pleased with this hotel. Fantastic location, and very reasonably priced. Although it is opposite a noisy beer house we had a courtyard room and didn't hear a sound. The staff are delightful, breakfast is generous. The only disappointment was the 'ice bar' which only had a bit of snow on the top and no ice shot glasses. Massive bathroom with underfloor heating, best feature of the room.

Room Tip: Might want to ask for courtyard room as very quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 202Tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Tracy,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Merchants House Hotel and Tallinn.

Presently we our changing and developing the food and beverage operations and the new theme will be up and running by April/May 2013.

I am continously working on developing of the breakfast with additional new items being added in the next weeks. I am glad already about your positive comments regarding this.

We hope to get a chance to welcome you back to the Merchants House Hotel.

Kind reagrds

Jonathan Poole
General Manager
Merchants House Hotel
Tallinn, Estonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#5 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel CRU
Hotel CRU
#18 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#4 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Property: Merchant's House Hotel
Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#20 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing