We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Back again and still as good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merchant's House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merchant's House Hotel
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Back again and still as good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I visited Tallinn again for the New year celebrations and this time brought other members of the family to enjoy all that an Estonian new year had to offer.

I booked the Merchants house and gave my family the Presidential Suite (3 bedrooms and two en suite bathrooms with one large living area split between three floors).

The food was good, the service was excellent and the location ideal - just 15 metres from the Christmas market). The beds are also excellent. I suggest however that you ask for a room overlooking the hotel courtyard as it is quieter than those overlooking Dunkri street. However I gave my family wax earplugs to sleep with just in case and they had no complaints - all slept like babies!

We spent our time at the hotel either in our rooms or around the open fire which is adjacent to the reception area.

There are of course more expensive and more luxurious hotels in Tallinn, but for the old town experience with a higher quality of service delivery, choose the Merchants House Hotel.

Room Tip: My room was 203, a small double bedded room. Perfectly adequate for me. My family of six (4 adults a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasobar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    212
    83
    17
    8
See reviews for
63
328
42
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

If you want a hotel right in the very heart of Tallinn's Old Town then this hotel is in an excellent location.

If you want a comfortable room then, the room we had, was a comfortable room. It didn't have a "picture postcard" view, but the view was unique.

What pulls this hotel from "Very Good" to "Excellent"? The staff. Brilliant bunch. Very approachable, very helpful, and were some of the nicest people I met on my trip.

The only thing I didn't understand was the Ice Bar on the ground floor. Seems ... odd ... without being interestingly odd.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Merchant's House hotel for 3 days last week. It was our wedding anniversary and the welcome at the hotel was as wonderful as it was unexpected. The staff were friendly, the room was spacious and very comfortable and warm with outside temperatures of -15c. The hot and cold buffet breakfast was excellent although the format was changed on the last day to menu based for the hot dishes.

The location of the hotel is superb and can't be beaten for value for money as well as for the warm welcome from the pleasant staff.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet street. There is no lift (elevator) and the rambling corridors might not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamespars0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Nice hotel, in a great location, a few metres from the main square.

Rooms were a little tired. Would have expected a little more luxury for the price. Threadbare towels, broken soap dispenser...

Communal areas seemed totally unused. Ice bar didn't really suit the hotel.

Breakfast was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Without doubt, one the best hotels we have stayed in for atmosphere, occasion and being fully immersed in the history of tallinn!

We stayed in the Boardroom suite which featured a Unesco protected wall, a beautiful carved feature ceiling and a leather sofa seating area. The design had been well thought out and it felt like you we're staying in a real piece of history! Location wise it is superb...a hop, skip and a jump and you are in the town square with all of the snow topped market stalls.

The breakfast was good....it was a nice change to have a choice of hot meal freshly prepared on order (full English, eggs Benedict, pancakes etc) in addition to the standard continental choices.

Reception was very helpful throughout our stay...we wanted to go snowmobiling but couldn't find anywhere....the spent a good chunk of time searching and then organising the trip for us. Very much appreciated.

We will be recommending the hotel to all of our friends. It's just a shame that after a night in Helsinki that they are fully booked for us to stay tonight!

Ten out of ten.

The O'Gradys

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Paul O'Grady,

Thank you for your comments. The staff and I will be looking forward to welcoming you or friends back to the Merchants House Hotel.

I will forward your kind words to the Team.

If you or friends, plan to come back to Tallinn Estonia, please ask them to contact me directly via email or telephone.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Poole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The location of this hotel is amazing, just a few seconds from the main square of the old town, which had the Christmas markets on whilst we were there, so it was really beautiful. The hotel itself is a lovely old building full of character. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was good. Our room, the hansa suite, was a really good size with a huge bathroom with separate shower and bath and its own sauna! This was fantastic in the cold Tallinn November. Room service was good and the room was clean. The only downside to the hotel is that it looks a little bit tired, the doors and frames could do with a new coat of paint, the carpet was a little worn and the dressing gowns provided, although freshly laundered, were tatty and one had a tear in it. It was also a bit chilly in the room. Would recommend this hotel for a fantastic location.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms will be quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingkit_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Located just off the main square in the old town. Comfortable, clean and quiet rooms. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly which made our stay perfect. Excellent breakfast. Would recommend both the hotel and Tallinn for a visit. The Christmas market was just opening up at the end of November and sold lovely locally crafted goods at a reasonable price. Had a fabulous time.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HFG10AO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 stars 1,666 reviews
0.1 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#4 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 965 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Three Sisters Hotel
Three Sisters Hotel
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House Hotel

Property: Merchant's House Hotel
Address: Dunkri 4/6, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#15 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant's House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in local history, the Merchant’s House Hotel stands on a charming cobbled street just a few seconds walk from Tallinn’s beautiful and captivating Old Town Square. The Merchant’s House Hotel has 37 suites and rooms, which all vary in shape and design due to the flexibility and character provided by these 14th & 16th Century historical buildings. Each room in the property offers guests an exciting combination of mediaeval architecture and state-of-the art fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Merchant's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchants Hotel Tallinn
Merchants House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing