We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merchant's House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Swissotel Tallinn(Tallinn)
$165
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Telegraaf(Tallinn)
$191
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $242/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Palace(Tallinn)
$142
$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$188
$158
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$125
$111
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$330
$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveler rating
362
270
108
23
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
270
108
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squarecourtyard suitebeer houseold towntown squareperfect locationchristmas marketraekoja platslovely hotelair conditioninglounge areareception staffsmoked salmonthe ground floordouble roombreakfast is servedlong weekend
Filter
Updating list...
340 - 345 of 773 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Nice hotel, in a great location, a few metres from the main square.

Rooms were a little tired. Would have expected a little more luxury for the price. Threadbare towels, broken soap dispenser...

Communal areas seemed totally unused. Ice bar didn't really suit the hotel.

Breakfast was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Without doubt, one the best hotels we have stayed in for atmosphere, occasion and being fully immersed in the history of tallinn!

We stayed in the Boardroom suite which featured a Unesco protected wall, a beautiful carved feature ceiling and a leather sofa seating area. The design had been well thought out and it felt like you we're staying in a real piece of history! Location wise it is superb...a hop, skip and a jump and you are in the town square with all of the snow topped market stalls.

The breakfast was good....it was a nice change to have a choice of hot meal freshly prepared on order (full English, eggs Benedict, pancakes etc) in addition to the standard continental choices.

Reception was very helpful throughout our stay...we wanted to go snowmobiling but couldn't find anywhere....the spent a good chunk of time searching and then organising the trip for us. Very much appreciated.

We will be recommending the hotel to all of our friends. It's just a shame that after a night in Helsinki that they are fully booked for us to stay tonight!

Ten out of ten.

The O'Gradys

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Paul O'Grady,

Thank you for your comments. The staff and I will be looking forward to welcoming you or friends back to the Merchants House Hotel.

I will forward your kind words to the Team.

If you or friends, plan to come back to Tallinn Estonia, please ask them to contact me directly via email or telephone.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Poole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The location of this hotel is amazing, just a few seconds from the main square of the old town, which had the Christmas markets on whilst we were there, so it was really beautiful. The hotel itself is a lovely old building full of character. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was good. Our room, the hansa suite, was a really good size with a huge bathroom with separate shower and bath and its own sauna! This was fantastic in the cold Tallinn November. Room service was good and the room was clean. The only downside to the hotel is that it looks a little bit tired, the doors and frames could do with a new coat of paint, the carpet was a little worn and the dressing gowns provided, although freshly laundered, were tatty and one had a tear in it. It was also a bit chilly in the room. Would recommend this hotel for a fantastic location.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms will be quietest
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingkit_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Located just off the main square in the old town. Comfortable, clean and quiet rooms. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly which made our stay perfect. Excellent breakfast. Would recommend both the hotel and Tallinn for a visit. The Christmas market was just opening up at the end of November and sold lovely locally crafted goods at a reasonable price. Had a fabulous time.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank HFG10AO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Merchants hotel is perfectly located in the 'Old town' just metres from the main square. The staff at reception are very courteous and helpful. The rooms are very quiet and comfortable.
The hotel management make an effort to make you feel special by leaving a personal welcome note in the room, a nice touch. Tallinn accommodation is not that cheap and given the hotels location it is probably priced appropriately.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brent344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstallinn, General Manager at Merchant's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Mr Brent D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor.

I am constantly updating different prices in the systems and always try to offer guests value for money.

Please dont hesitate to contact me directly upon your return visit to Tallinn, Estonia.

It our pleasure having you stay with us at the Merchants House Hotel and we are very much looking forward to your return visit any time.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Poole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews