We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just your average zoo: some things good, some things not”
Review of Tallinn Zoo

Tallinn Zoo
Ranked #38 of 296 things to do in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It's just your average zoo: some things good, some things not”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

It's a nice zoo and it's a very large area. That fact makes it worse that some animals are living in very small spaces. Although it's clear that they are working hard on improving things (and of course that's not easy, because that costs a lot of money), that does not help the animals right now.

Also, it's not very interactive. There aren't really shows or something, so it's just a place where you can see animals in cages.

There aren't a lot of special species in this zoo. But I like to visit zoos, so I have seen most animals already.

In the end it's just your average zoo. Some things are good, some things just are not.

There is a lot of playground for kids, so if you have kids I'm sure they have a lot to do.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    134
    78
    21
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riihimaki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Some good and bad”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

There is some animals like elephant and hippo that I havent seen before in zoo. Also there is lot of renovation to make better conditions to animals but unfortenately not all places didnt look so good too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PasiPasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A sad experience”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Me and some friends visited this zoo today, I can agree that the entrance is very cheap but seeing the animals in such small cages was awful. Notably the polar bears, bare concrete enclosures with only a small paddling ball and a ball. There were signs to explain that the zoo hoped to get better enclosures if they could get the funding, so they know it is an issue. I don't think the zoo should be allowed to house them until the situation is improved, as who knows then that might be! We also noticed that other animals were distressed in their cages, the park was however clean and easy to access via public transport from the city center. Overall, I think it's better to give this one a miss.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie HC D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outdated but nice”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Starts as a depressing site of animals standing/circling in small cages on concrete but gets better when you get to the newer part. Good move to tell public about future plans to build more "humane" living quarters for animals when zoo receives funding. Bring own snack with you.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

The Zoo may have some old and quite small cages but they are doing their best. They renew cages and make bigger areas for the animals as they get new funding. The park is very beautiful and well taken care of, all animals look healthy and wellfed. Only minus was that no coffee shops were open on the grounds, we would have stayed longer but got thirsty and hungry. The sign said "opening soon" on the door of the coffee shop.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tallinn Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Tallinn Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing