We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location and very quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“convenient location and very quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I went to Tallinn to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary and just wanted somewhere reasonable and this hotel fit the bill. We were very close to the ferry but it was extremely quiet. The hotel was very clean, both bedding and bathroom were spotless. The breakfast was ok, certainly plenty to eat and for what we paid, we thought it was fine. Not too far at night but we could buy a beer from reception which we did. If you want cheap and cheerful with no frills, it's fine

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Linda,

Thank you for your post!
It is very rewarding to see that you found our hotel a nice pick.

Whenever back in Tallinn, come see us again! :)
Kind regards,
Maiken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    145
    138
    17
    6
See reviews for
72
124
51
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is situated across the road from the shipping terminal and is very busy with patronage from the ferries and ships from Denmark etc. Rooms are nice and clean, except the bathroom flooded with extended showering and made it dangerous to walk on.
Convenient location not too far from the old town, and prices were not too bad for what you get.
Breakfast is busy as all hell, with Fins and Danes coming in from the ferries for something to eat, competing with hotel guests. It also seems to be a meeting image for them awaiting embarkation back home. A very vibrant and exciting location.
Otherwise good value for money and I'd stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Peter,

Thank you for your reply!

I am very happy tos ee that you were pleased with your stay here at Portus!
Hopefully we will meet again during your next visit to Tallinn.

Until then I wish you all the best!
Kind regards,
Maiken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Located at the harbour, so a fair walk to the Old Town.. bit there is a bus stop just outside (No 2, going to the centre and the airport!) Basic rooms, all you could need. Corridors feel like Cell Block H! Massive numbers on the door, so drunk Nordics can find their room early hours..Breakfast really good and service outstanding!
One word of warning - be careful where you leave the car. There are limited places for hotel guests to leave the car. After asking reception where I could find a parking space, went outside and there was an over-zealous traffic warden give me a fine. I was at reception 2 minutes !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finnscouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your amuzing yet informative feedback!
I am sorry that you had trouble with the parking but as I can see by your review you are a person who can still find positive from your experiences.

We will be more than happy to have you back any time!
Kind regards,
Maiken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Hotel located across the street from Dterminal of Tallink ferry that can take you to Finland or some other places. Its also pretty quite and not expensive-those are all good points. You have to walk to old town to get to all attractions, depending on a weather it might be not the best location. Breakfast, even though its included, might only attract some nostalgic, soviet era visitors, but at least its hot. Front desk-you cant rely on much information from them, couldn't even tell me where to rent a car, while all information was right on their desks! (no language problem could explain that, im bilingual). Bar is hardly functional-you can get some beer or sparcling wine in small bottles with some chips, all they could offer at 6 pm. There are much better places in Tallinn to stay, overall

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iglana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear iglana,

Thank you for your comments!

I am happy to see that you found our hotel nicely located and comfortable in many points even though you did not find the visit completely satisfactory.

Let me assure you that we give our best to meet each guest's needs and we are sorry if we could not meet yours fully this time.

I hope you found your trip to Tallinn anyways.
Greetings to overseas!

Maiken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Nice hotel near the harbour with reasonable pricing. I have been in hotel earlier and rooms are good and they have excellent breakfast.
For this visit I will give big minus for car parking advice from hotel reception. In arrival staff in service desk informed us by pointing that our car parking was allrigth outside of hotel and we just need to put hotel voucher in window to get free parking. In morning there was parking fine in car and when we asked about the case from hotel they told it is not they problem and pointed from hidden map that our car was outside of hotel parking area. I feel really bad about this kind of cases and I feel that they had contract with parking company for fining cars or they just do not like to have customers with cars in their hotel by giving verbal wrong instructions instead of easy read paper advices. So be carefull with parking advices in this hotel. Otherwise hotel is a good choise for accomondation in Tallinn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superhessu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this post!

First of all I am happy to see that you have found your way to City Hotel Portus for more than once now. Of course, it concerns me that your parking experience was not so enjoyable to say the least.

But let me assure you, that there is no intention on our behalf to make our guests get fined by parking companies with whom we definately do not have any deals on that matter. The only contract we have is to allow our guests to park for free next to our building wall with the already mentioned coupon and I am sorry, of course, if we did not manage to explain it properly.

I hope this doesn´t change the way you feel about the comfort of our location and overall standards!

Kind regards,
Maiken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyväskylä
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel, near by Old Town, price was very good, breakfast was ok, room was big and ok( nothing special). Only few steps from harbour. Parking is free front of the hotel but in the garage 10e/day. Staff were ok. Nothing to complain about!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddyn98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your opinion!
I am very glad that you found our hotel satisfactory.

Hopefully you will find your way back in the future, too.
Kind regards,
Maiken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Situated by the harbor, the hotel is within walking distance of both The Old Town, and the shopping areas of Tallinn. The walk is about 10 to 15 min, and passing some of the harbor-area it is not the worst trip.
The breakfast buffet is ok, considering the price, and the room is comfortable to spend the night in. Small bedroom, but large bathroom. The bathroom was clean, but the floor had a bad tilt, which caused the water to run everywhere but the drain. The moist had also caused damage to the door, but it was no sign of fungus or bad smell. Clean change of towels allowed us to use them as floor mats.
Taxis where in ten folds right outside the door, as this was also outside the arrival by the ferries from Sweden, Finland and Russia. Stick to the Yellow or White taxis, and ask the reception which companies are safe, as there are some private drivers that will try to lure you for more money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oyopperud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback!
I am sure this will be a lot of help to other visitors of City Hotel Portus, too.

Hopefully we can have you back here in the future!
Best wishes,
Maiken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Metropol Hotel
Metropol Hotel
#41 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.0 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.1 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#31 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Euroopa
Hotel Euroopa
#22 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#39 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tallink Express Hotel
Tallink Express Hotel
#33 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallinn Seaport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallinn Seaport Hotel

Property: Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Address: Uus-Sadama 23, Tallinn 10120, Estonia (Formerly City Hotel Portus)
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tallinn Seaport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tallinn Seaport Hotel (ex City Hotel Portus) is located next to the D-terminal of the Port of Tallinn. Seaport Hotel corresponds to the level of a three-star hotel and is the perfect choice for those who value reasonable prices and would like to stay near the Tallinn's Old Town. Hotel has 107 rooms decorated in joyful colors and featuring warm, environmentally-friendly cork floors. All guest rooms are equipped with air-conditioner, flat-screen TV, direct-dial telephone, shower and WC, hair dryer, high-speed wireless access. Superior Double or Twin rooms are extra spacious and feature a comfortable sofa. Family rooms contain two standard rooms with a connecting door. In the morning, Cafe serves the hotel guests a delicious buffet-breakfast. In the summer, guests can enjoy their food and drinks out on a terrace. There are modern seminar and event rooms with the high-quality equipment on the 5th floor of Tallinn Seaport Hotel. Rooms can accommodate up to 150 people. At the cozy sauna of Tallinn Seaport Hotel guests can enjoy Finnish-type sauna, steam bathing and relax in a modern Jacuzzi.The sauna is located on the penthouse floor of the hotel, offering a wonderful view of the Old Town of Tallinn. Parking in front of the hotel is free of charge in case of availability. You may also park at the garage located on the 0 floor of the hotel (extra charge), the garage holds 9 cars with maximum height of 1,7m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tallinn Seaport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing