We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Ranked #41 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hotel was very nice simple with nice interior especially the colour good location and neat. The low point for us was the television was a bit outdated, Breakfast was excellent, workers were quite helpful, the prices were affordable best for cheap travellers. We recommend this hotel to friends and people who are interested in coming to talliin for holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Tiina,

Thank you for the post!

We are humbled upon your compliments and will be looking forward to host you and your friends here at City Hotel Portus in the near future!

Kind regards,
Maiken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
There are newer reviews for Tallinn Seaport Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 415 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

It was a good choice for a short stay. The location is very good for those travelling on from the harbour which is just across the street. The hotel is well-connected to the airport and bus station by public transportation (bus no. 2 - schedule available at the hotel, bus-stop in front of the hotel - Terminal D). However, if you intend to spend all your time in the old city, you'd need to walk about 20 minutes or use the bus each time.
The rooms were clean with average comfort while the breakfast was good and varied.
All in all I can recommend this hotel. A small tip to the hotel management: do replace the rather-dirty-looking carpet floor in the halls.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rope_ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Rope,

Thank you for your thoughts on City Hotel Portus!

We appreciate your positive feedback as well as your critique.
Hopefully the next time you decide to peek in our hotel you will see an improved version of us!

Kind regards,
Maiken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I booked this hotel on previous reviews and its location and neither could i fault. Situated dead opposite the ferry terminal for Finland and beyond, and a stones throw from the Olde Town, it was ideal place for my party to stay for a long weekend. The rooms were well equipped and clean, the buffet breakfast very good, and the hotel staff very friendly and helpful.
The only warning i would reap is be aware of the local taxi's located around the ferry terminal and check the tariffs on the passenger windows before getting in, as some may vary from 50 cent per km to 5.50 euro!!! Overall, highly recommended hotel and faultless.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnyonefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear John,

Thank you for your positive emotions!

We are very glad that you got help from our other guests who have posted tips about travelling here and especcially about you making it even easier to find a decent accommodation by signing a comment yourself.

As for the pirate taxies, I agree and be sure that we are aware of this industry as well and are trying to do our best that our guests would find the right ones. You can ask for suggestions from our staff for example.

All in all, I am looking forward to direct you to your next taxi to the Old Town!

Kind regards,
Maiken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The location is very good when you come by boat. Old town is ten-fifteen minute walk from the hotel. Hotel is clean and staff is very freandly. Very good service.

On the negative side: the air conditioner is noisy and there was smell of drain in the bathroom and the bed sheets is too short. After shower all bathroom floors was wet, maybe need shower curtain?

I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Helve,

Thank you for your post!

We will take your comments into notice and try to improve City Hotel Portus by the time your family arrives!

Greetings to Seattle,
Maiken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The location is good, if you come by boat.It is easy to pull the bags to the hotel. The old town is a ten-minute-walk from the hotel. There are shops and restaurants nearby, too. The biggest liquor store in Tallinn is just round the corner. - On the negative side: the air conditioner is noisy and there was smell of drain in the bathroom.

Room Tip: We prefer top floors with sea wiev. The sea side rooms are cooler, too.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citytraveler981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

No doubt that this will help travelers to find a well located place like City Hotel Portus when visiting Tallinn!
I agree, the view upon the sea is one of the best in Tallinn here :)

Kind regards,
Maiken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The location was excellent: straight in front of Tallink Silja harbour and around 5min walk from the big Rimi supermarket. Staff in the reception were really friendly, and made some effort finding the answers to our questions.

The room itself was modern and tidy. Only the bathroom was a bit outdated. It happened to be quite windy during our stay, and the window seemed to be some how broken because it was making a banging sound every time the wind hit it. Anyway, we slept well, it didn't get too chilly because of the window. Not even tobacco smell came in even if we were straight above the place where other guests were smoking.

I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anni2455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Anni,

Thank you for your comprehensive feedback!

No doubt, these will be useful for us as we try to improv but also to other tripadvisor users palnning a trip to Tallinn.

For this, we owe you our gratitude!
Until the next time!

Maiken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

City Hotel Portus is well-located just next to ferry terminal D in the harbour of Tallinn. It is very easy to travel there also by car. A walk to city centre takes less than 10 minutes. Good service and very reasonable price!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Pixuli,

Thank you for the feedback!

I am sure that this could help some other guests of Tallinn as well as it inspires us to thrive forward every day.

Until we see again, all the best to you!

Best regards,
Maiken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Tallink Express Hotel
Tallink Express Hotel
#31 of 86 in Tallinn
520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Metropol Hotel
Metropol Hotel
#37 of 86 in Tallinn
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Euroopa
Hotel Euroopa
#15 of 86 in Tallinn
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#34 of 86 in Tallinn
979 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
1.3 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallinn Seaport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallinn Seaport Hotel

Address: Uus-Sadama 23, Tallinn 10120, Estonia (Formerly City Hotel Portus)
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range: $48 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tallinn Seaport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tallinn Seaport Hotel (ex City Hotel Portus) is located next to the D-terminal of the Port of Tallinn. Seaport Hotel corresponds to the level of a three-star hotel and is the perfect choice for those who value reasonable prices and would like to stay near the Tallinn's Old Town. Hotel has 107 rooms decorated in joyful colors and featuring warm, environmentally-friendly cork floors. All guest rooms are equipped with air-conditioner, flat-screen TV, direct-dial telephone, shower and WC, hair dryer, high-speed wireless access. Superior Double or Twin rooms are extra spacious and feature a comfortable sofa. Family rooms contain two standard rooms with a connecting door. In the morning, Cafe serves the hotel guests a delicious buffet-breakfast. In the summer, guests can enjoy their food and drinks out on a terrace. There are modern seminar and event rooms with the high-quality equipment on the 5th floor of Tallinn Seaport Hotel. Rooms can accommodate up to 150 people. At the cozy sauna of Tallinn Seaport Hotel guests can enjoy Finnish-type sauna, steam bathing and relax in a modern Jacuzzi.The sauna is located on the penthouse floor of the hotel, offering a wonderful view of the Old Town of Tallinn. Parking in front of the hotel is free of charge in case of availability. You may also park at the garage located on the 0 floor of the hotel (extra charge), the garage holds 9 cars with maximum height of 1,7m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tallinn Seaport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing