We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”
Review of L'Ermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'Ermitage Hotel
Ranked #22 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Being a single traveller, i usually get suspicious about offers of cheap single rooms: they seem to come in shoebox sizes or you are given a double room that nobody wants for a number of reasons. However, when i arrived to this hotel, i was pleasantly suprised. Rooms are spacious, the furnishing is modern and bed and pillows are convenient. Bathroom is clean but since it is a 3star hotel do not expect any body creams or nice soaps: liquid handsoap and gel/shampoo soap of unknown brand are provided, but better bring your own toiletries. Hairdryer is a bit slow: it makes a lot of noise but does not dry much. It was not a problem for me, but if you have long hair better bring your own. Another strange thing is lack of power sockets: i found only one in the room that was not used and none were available in the bathroom. WIFI is free but extremely temperamental: signal is very weak if you are on 6th floor.
Hotel location is simply great: just a 10 euro ride by taxi from the airport and a short 5 minutes walk up a very small hill to the old town. Cannot get better for this price.
All in all, in spite of minor short comings, this is a very good hotel for a short city trip if you are on budget but do not want to stay in a hostel. I would definitely recommend this hotel to any traveller going to Tallinn.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool but trip advisor makes me give points for it. There is a sauna though but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elenkahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 805 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

untrained personnel , they could not help even in simple issues like how to get to the port.
too much stucked into rules (not flexibility in checking in-out, they also charge a lot for late check-out)
during breakfast the service is very slow and no refill in food.
bed sheets were not changed often

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_saint_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We arrived at 12 ish and the rooms were ready and checked in early. The reception team were helpful and with very good English. We couldn't book the KGB tour as there was a big party already booked which was a shame. We ate at the Von Krahli Aed on the 1st night which was great food and really good value with 3 courses each + 2 bottles of wine for 107 euros. Lunch was pizza at Turg, and the final dinner was at La Boheme - very nice and relaxed dining 30 secs from the L'Ermitage.

Beds comfy, rooms clean and adequate, breakfast very good and we had the special at lunch 1 day which was good 3 eur for the soup and 4.5 eur for the main course.

All in all - we enjoyed it and would recommend - remember this is not a flash hotel but good value for money and outside the cathedral in 5-10 mins walking

1 word of warning - there was a woman with her dog under her arm at breakfast and she sat at the table feeding it. If this is not your thing then you might want to chose somewhere else. We didn't have a choice and assumed this is normal in Estonia.

Room Tip: I emailed the hotel and asked for a room at the back - no noise at all !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clairem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We got this hotel at an excellent price, so wasn't expecting much. I was pleasently surprised. The rooms were really clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. There was also a brilliant choice of TV channels in English. We were allowed to check in early, and the staff were really helpful. I would also highly recommend the sauna which was amazing (if a little expensive - although the food menu was cheap)

Only negative was perhaps the breakfast, it had some bizarre options (i.e gherkins). Quite a few of the things had also run out by the time we got there, and there were enough tables so we had to share with some rather unfriendly folks.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandypandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This hotel is well situated about a ten minute (albeit uphill) walk to the Old Town and only a 10 Euro cab ride from the airport. In fact, its location and the price are definitely the main plus points. The rooms are basic and decorated in a slightly old fashioned way but they were clean and everything worked. There is a Sauna and jacuzzi which you can hire out privately by the hour but it is expensive and when we went, we had to heat the jacuzzi up ourselves which took the first ten minutes of our time up! I would recommend this hotel for a budget short stay but not for a special occasion - you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We catched a deal that the hotel placed on Finnish Groupon site (47€/night), and same deal I saw on booking.com. Hotel offered one night stay for the said price, with breakfast, plate of fruits in the room and a bottle of Champagne (0.75l). Simply can say, these people know how to attract customers in the low season. For the said price it was excellent, clean room, nice bathroom, enough space to move around. I also liked that they took my reservation in advance, before I received info about my discount package, and I was able to add the info later - so I was able to book desired dates. Beds are high and soft, room also got minibar, small sized TV (local, some Finnish, some Russian and few global channels), two types of pillows (large and small - one can pick the most convenient, I like the detail). Breakfast was typical continental, choice was not extremely large but you got your typical cereal stuff, muesli, sausages, scrambled eggs, sliced cheese, sliced sausages, some marinated fish... one can eat full, simply to say. Iron was provided at request from reception. As we traveled in winter I can not tell anything about their AC, but they have centralised ventilation. Bathroom got a bathtube, and standard several towels, napkins etc., safe also exists in the room. As it was said here already, hair dryer is funny and weak one, bring your own for some serious hair drying.

Downsides that do not affect overall impression: hotel got free wifi but it is said in their info that's only on first two floors. We had room on 4th floor so wifi was caught here and there, and reception was intermittent, I ended up placing my laptop next to the entrance door on the floor. Okay to send short emails, or check it, but not really for online experience (perhaps you need to go downstairs to get good connection). While hotel is close to Old City, it's not that close to Virukeskus and short transpot connections might be needed for most destinations. Before making calls, check their price list — local call within city was 0.27€ per minute. The closest entrance to Old Town is Falgi tee, walk to Toompea or Kiek-in-de-Kok takes approx 10 mins.

Bottom line - flawless hotel with everything what you might expect from business 3-stars, capable of good bargains, certainly worth 50€ per night and perhaps a tad more.

Room Tip: Wifi: only ground and 1st floor as of Feb 2012.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AskarIbragimov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Just back from a great break in Tallin, we stayed at the hotel L'ermitage, what a great hotel, just minutes from Tallin Old Town. The hotel itself was extremely comfortable, a good breakfast was available every morning, the staff were so friendly and helpful, rooms were spotless. Two things I would point out, in our room, the shower was in the bath, which was quite a deep bath, so if you had any mobility problems it would be difficult to access, also bring your own hairdryer, the one supplied is very weak and if you had long hair or thick hair it would take you all morning to dry it. Not huge problems, but just check it out before you book, on the other hand after a long day sightseeing, the bath is a lovely place to relax. We would really recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have traffic noise,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ftrisholady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#14 of 86 in Tallinn
863 reviews
0.1 mi away
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
0.4 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#21 of 86 in Tallinn
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,389 reviews
0.4 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ermitage Hotel

Address: Toompuiestee 19, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#19 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#22 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $72 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Ermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 4-star Hotel L'Ermitage is located in the centre of Tallinn, just a 5-minute walk from the Town Hall. In total it has 122 rooms, providing a luxurios stay in various rooms, including standard, business, superior rooms and suites. In addition to guest rooms, the hotel also features two restaurants - L'Ermitage and Katze - an all-new contemporary conference hall, and a private sauna with a Jacuzzi. Many attractions, locals favorite bars and restaurants are located nearby the hotel, in walkable distance. The Nordic serenity of Hotel L`Ermitage catches the eye as you approach the building. The interior of the hotel welcomes its guests with a warm and bright atmosphere, encouraging visitors to enjoy our guest rooms, restaurants, conference hall, and sauna, benefitting from Northern, elegant interiors filled with well thought-out detail that always accentuates convenience, comfort, and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your L'Ermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Ermitage Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing