We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a busy hotel in the centre of Tallinn”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tallink City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tallink City Hotel
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Kapelle, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
187 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“a busy hotel in the centre of Tallinn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

What struck me most was the enormous amount of people in this hotel. It seems that many people from Helsinki come to Tallinn just for the weekend. Fortunately, all these people did not cause any problem. Rooms are spacious and clean, drinks at the bar at a good price (that's why all the Finnish come to Tallinn) and I must say that the breakfast was good as well. Did not suffer from any noise made by others.

Perfect location to explore the city

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Fox family,

I am glad to learn from your comment, that eventhough the hotel was fully booked, everything went smoothly during your stay. The walls were thick enough, the braekfast was not too crowded and you had the possibilitie to enjoy Tallinn, which is the most important thing for us!

Greetings,
Siim Ojaver
FOM
Tallink City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    234
    185
    41
    15
See reviews for
100
163
30
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband for 2 days and one night in a superior room. The room was clean and fresh. The service was great. The hotel has fantastic location. Breakfast was average. I would recommend Bonaparte Cafe in Foorum, opposite this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6aidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Jasmine,

Thank you for your positive feedback.
Just a small remark, just yesterday our new chef introduced City Restaurants new menu -
You are more then welcome, to try it out!

Best Regards,
Siim Ojaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

its a very nice location, everything is near: shopping, old town of Tallinn, restaurants, bars, Tallinn port, buses. The hotel is clean and nice, staff is quite friendly. Prices are ok as well. Our double room was a bit small but what else do you need if you are travelling and only spending night in the hotel. Cleaning service in the room was nice and neat also. Did like breakfast as well, except the eggs :) The hotel is quiet, nothing really happened inside the hotel though they had the piano on the first floor. I presume that sometimes they have some music evenings. The hotel's guests are mostly Finnish people.

Room Tip: We have chosen double room for the good price (lower price on the booking site), it was quite small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missViii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Miss Viii,

Thank You for choosing Tallink City Hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay!
You have made a comment regarding hotel breakfast and eggs. Just for the record, we serve two kind of boiled eggs and also eggporrige, all made from Estonian substance.

Greetings from Tallinn,
Siim Ojaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Well situated opposite the main bus station and shopping centre, and trams nearby, but not in the Old Town. This is probably an advantage, unless you like old plumbing etc.
I think our room was bigger than average.
Reception staff were OK, but could be a little more customer focussed.
Breakfast was crowded, but food was good.
We did not eat in as there was excellent food in the basement supermarket across the road in the shopping centre (and we were putting on too much weight anyway!!)
Good value, especially as a package with the ferry to Helsinki.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tnuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Tnuh,
Thank you for your positive attitude towards Tallink City Hotel.

Greetings to the other side of the world!
Siim Ojaver
Front Office Manager
Tallink City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
255 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Outside looking view is beautiful almost luxurious. Receptin and restaurants look wondwful, just like better place. Staff is good and helpfull. First you feel very good. Then rooms that have stayed somewhere 90s. Toilet/bathroom look like from... Standard room is small and everything else than comfortable.
Morning sauna was just a joke. Unbelieveble.
Situation is brilliant, just 10 min walk from harbour and less than 5 min from Old Town.

Room Tip: 10th floor suites are brilliant and it is worth to pay for better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Jari,

Thank you for your stay in Tallink City Hotel.
Your review about City hotel in general, is positive, but some thoughts are left unfinished or need to be specified. Please let us know, by writing to our e-mail address cityhotel@tallink.ee

We welcome you back!
Siim Ojaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarvenpaa, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We visited Tallink City Hotel when coming back from our trip to Riga. We came walking from central bus station. Old town and shopping center are very near and harbor is not too far. We were offered superior room for just little extra. 9th floor room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was just good. Personnel was professional and everything worked just as expected and there were no delays.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jouko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siim O, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Jouko,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for choosing Tallink City Hotel as a place to stay on your drive through Tallinn. I am sure that we will have the oppurtunity to accomondate you and your family again.
Just a friendly suggestion - there is also a Tallink hotel in Riga, it worth a visit!

Best regards,

Siim Ojaver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I sytayed here for four nights recently and had a lovely time, the hotel is quite modern and clean and was busy whilst we were there. The old town was easily accessible on foot through the shopping centre on the opposite side of the road and across a small park, this is where the real charm of Tallinn is. Our room was on the small side and the bathroom had only a shower although the wet room arrangement was quite good, we do like to have a bath but for a long weekend it was perfectly acceptable. Breakfast was good and there seemed to be plenty of everything even when it was very busy, the wait for a table wasn't too bad and all in all we were quite satisfied. We would return here if the price was right but we noticed plenty of other hotels that were worthy of a look too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illi O, General Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Daggle!

Thank you for your review!
It makes us really happy to read, that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We do have rooms with bath, so next time you visit us, just let us know your preferences at check-in. We are more than happy to offer the best solutions.
We hope to see you again in the nearest future!

Welcome back,
Illi Ojavere
Tallink City Hotel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
0.1 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#11 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
#10 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
#26 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tallink Express Hotel
Tallink Express Hotel
#33 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallink City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallink City Hotel

Property: Tallink City Hotel
Address: A. Laikmaa 5, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tallink City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tallink City Hotel is located in the heart of Tallinn and is the perfect place to stay for business travelers and city tourists. Our beautiful rooms offer all the comforts you would expect and our helpful staff do their best to make your stay memorable. In addition you can treat yourself at our beauty center Hera, wake yourself up in the morning sauna and enjoy great flavors at restaurant City. And on Fridays and Saturdays you can show off your dance moves at our own nightclub Cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tallink City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallink City Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing