We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Situation is the best feature of this hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tallink City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tallink City Hotel
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Level Contributor
196 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Situation is the best feature of this hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is at walking distance from the old town and Viru shopping center is just across the street. The rooms are clean and modern, but there is nothing special about them. Breakfast has lot of choice, but rather standard stuff. The staff is not very friendly, which is a pity. One is so used to friendly service in Estonia.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilkki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illi O, General Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Kilkki,
Thank you for your review!
The location of our hotel is really a great trump! Tallink City Hotel is a classic hotel with modern features; where the cleanliness is very important to us as also every day we make an input to keep our service friendly.
We hope to see you again in our hotel!

Welcome back!
Illi Ojavere
Tallink City Hotel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    234
    185
    41
    15
See reviews for
100
163
30
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Siuntio, Finland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Ive visited this hotel many time for business and pleasure. The delux and suite rooms are really spacious and nice. Normal double are the norm-small ones but really ok for a weekend over. Rooms have always been clean. Breakfast is good + good coffee. The hotel has a really nice beauty salon with great treatments. Downstairs bar is a nice meeting point and a relaxed place to hang out and have a drink or two. Only minus is - if you check - in at about 1-3pm it takes a long time.....
Location is really good - opposite of the Viru-shopping mall.
If you need more tips on Tallin - Im more than happy to provide.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illi O, General Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Sari-Saurus!
Thank you for your trust in us and for being our guest for several times!
We contribute a lot in cleanliness, it has always received high points from our guests.
The check-in starts from 14:00, so it could happen, that during this time, +/-1 hour, we have the rush-hour lines at the front desk.
Our nightclub Cellar program includes also live jazz, karaoke and DJ nights.

Hope to see you again soon! Welcome back!

Illi Ojavere
General Manager
Tallink City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuressaare
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Hotel location is very good - center of the city, but there was no parking places and we paid 15 extra euros. Room was very small and the window curtains are not eligible to cut the sunshine
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jüri J, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank for choosing Tallink City Hotel for your stay in Tallinn. Due to the excellent location of the hotel we do have a rather small parking lot for 25 cars to be precise. But we do consider our contract with Viru Center parking lot to be quite cheap as the ordinary price for a night stay would be twice as much.

Best regards,

Jüri Jasska
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estonia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

really good hotel, just amazing location. The hotel is very close to Cinema, shopping centre, old town, bus and city train stops. Breakfast is also very good. On weekends is live music or DJ in night club (this is also inside the hotel).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank august444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jüri J, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a very positive feedback and for choosing Tallink City Hotel as a place to stay on your visit to Tallinn. We hope to meet your expectations again.

Best regards,

Jüri Jasska
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed in the Tallink city hotel for 1 night. It was a last minute booking and paid 93 Euros for 1 night, including breakfast.

Rooms: Last time we stayed here, we had a superior room. We thought last time that was the standard room, but now we got to see the actual standard room. It was very disappointing. A small room with depressing interior. It was a warm weekend and the air conditioning was only gently blowing air, not even cold air. In addition, the curtains did not match the window, resulting in a very light room even at night. See pictures.

Premises: Public area is nice and better air conditioned.

Reception: Very long check in and slow service, but friendly.

Breakfast: Standard breakfast buffet but compared to other hotels in Tallinn, it is quite good.

Location: Centrally located in the center, a few minutes’ walk from the harbour and old town.

Overall: I would not recommend to book a standard room, it was disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helsinki1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jüri J, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are truly sorry that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. The check-in procedure in the summer time is usually a bit longer indeed, as it is the high season and the hotel is usually fully booked. In case of any problems regarding the room we kindly ask to contact the reception so we can see to the matter and satisfy the needs of our guests as we do have friendly and professional staff. We hope you visit us again.

Best regards,

Jüri Jasska
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kontiolahti, Finland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We did one Saturnday night in June 2013. We came with car and got parked to secured place. When we booked room we did choose cheapest one. But in receiption we change to bigger one because change was only small fee. We went breakfast at 8.00 clock. Breakfast was very good selection of everything. Food were plenty and seats also. If you need place to sleep near all attractions this your place.

Room Tip: Choose bigger room small fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jüri J, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Tallink City Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and to see that our customers are satisfied with our services and rooms. Hope to see you next time you visit Tallinn.

Best regards,

Jüri Jasska
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This relatively new hotel seems to get most of their business from boats/ferries/cruises, with a few business people like me mixed in.

The rooms (I'm in a suite) are very nice, well appointed, and comfortable. Like most hotels this far North, there are very thick curtains, but that won't stop the rooms on the morning-sun side from getting warm with the early sunrise. The staff (desk, bell, reservation, and management) was super friendly and efficient at allowing me to swap to the other side. If you're an early morning person, you'll have the opposite problem.

The location is great...about as good as you can get without being IN the old city (which I personally wouldn't like)...and is directly across from a mall. I've used the spa for a massage, which was professional and effective.

The breakfast is nice, if a little busy at about 9am.

Room Tip: If (like me), you're a "night person" (and like sleeping late), consider a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jüri J, Front Office Manager at Tallink City Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Bruce,

Thank you for a very positive feedback. We are glad that you were satisfied with our personnel and services.

Best regards,

Jüri Jasska
Front Office Manager
Tallink City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Estoria
0.1 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#11 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
#10 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
Original Sokos Hotel Viru
#26 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tallink Express Hotel
Tallink Express Hotel
#33 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallink City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallink City Hotel

Property: Tallink City Hotel
Address: A. Laikmaa 5, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tallink City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tallink City Hotel is located in the heart of Tallinn and is the perfect place to stay for business travelers and city tourists. Our beautiful rooms offer all the comforts you would expect and our helpful staff do their best to make your stay memorable. In addition you can treat yourself at our beauty center Hera, wake yourself up in the morning sauna and enjoy great flavors at restaurant City. And on Fridays and Saturdays you can show off your dance moves at our own nightclub Cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tallink City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallink City Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing