We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice small hotel in the old town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rixwell Old Town Hotel
Ranked #44 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed November 21, 2012

A nice small hotel with the excelent location. Stuff were polite and helpful. Some issues in the room but nothing alarming. Possibility to use spa for free which belongs to same company, 15 min walk from the hotel. Also free wifi available.

Room Tip: Ask quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nieminen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 430 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I booked on-line and arrived early, thinking that we would have to wait hours to get into the room. The staff were welcoming and surprisingly, we were able to occupy the room straight away, which left us free to get on with our business in the city. The room, as many have said, are small, clean and simply furnished. A vanity mirror on the wall above the dressing table would have been useful and some nice pictures would have added some atmosphere. The bathroom, too, was small with very basic in the way of toiletries. They badly need to update the TV's in the room and the number of channels available.

The location though is excellent, only a stone's throw from "Fat Margaret's" tower, "St Olaf's" church and the wonderful old city itself.

We were offered a good deal on the Russian buffet in the evening, but decided to eat at a restaurant that we have previously visited and enjoyed. Breakfast at the hotel was perfectly adequate and nicely presented. Our boat back to Helsinki wasn't leaving until the evening, so we were grateful to use the hotel's free luggage room during the day, which left us free to explore the excellent new Seaplane harbour museum nearby. There is a useful late-check out service available which is payable on a sliding scale, depending on how many hours you would like to keep the room after the normal 12pm check-out.
All in all a good experience in a fabulous location. The hotel just needs a little makeover to bring it up to date.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrumboyHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A nice hotel with hosptiable staff on the brink of the old town. Small rooms, but cheap. Ok breakfast, and a nice lobby and restaurant. No problems with water or heat. Good deals with spa hotels in the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianFoWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A delightful hotel in a delightful part of the city.
My partner and I booked this property as part of a city break on a budget and, for the price, I could hardly complain.
The hotel itself is excellently situated and well presented. It was snowing outside but the welcome was warm as was our room, which was a blessed relief in sub zero temperatures.
We arrived earlier than the specified check in but there was no problem- our room was ready and accessible immediately.
The only disappointment was the size of the room. There was barely enough space to manoeuvre around the bed (which didn't feel to be a full double) and wardrobe. Even finding a place to put our one suitcase proved a challenge. As we were out and about exploring all holiday the room didn't spoil our stay, but if you had intended on maybe staying in the room for any length of time (or even if you are a larger couple) it would be quite uncomfortable and annoying.
Having said that, the room was clean and the maid visited everyday. There was sometimes a "drain" smell emanating from the bathroom, but we just shut the door.
The breakfast was fine. Cereals and toast for the lighter breakfast or continental ham/cheese with scrambled eggs and meatballs and hotdog sausages for those looking for something more substantial. There was also a selections of other delicacies I personally avoided (herrings/cottage cheese/salad) but others seemed to enjoy. All served with juices and a selection of teas and coffee.

For the price, this hotel is a winner, but next time I would see if it was possible to pay a little extra for a larger room.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wombattles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Strange title I know...we'll get to that later!

The Meriton Old Town Hotel does the job realy! Well, for a city break. Lovely staff, reasonable 'continental style breakfast' with a few extras such as porridge! No full english breakfast though. Rooms are very small. Beds are uncomfortable and small and are made up in such a way that you have to make the bed again before you go to bed. We had a balcony room but I wouldn't bother because they only overlook a busy road. The front of the hotel has the best views looking down a cobbled street to St. Olaf's Church, but no balconies on the front. For a city break the hotel is OK and is close to Town Hall Square, 10 - 15 mins walk. Big problem for me with the hotel was the uncomfortable beds. If you get a double bed then I think all would be OK. One more thing the hotel can be very hot! But if you get it cheap enough it's a good hotel. The Meriton Grand is too far away from the city centre in my opinion, you can use the pool, sauna etc for free at the Meriton Grand. If you do use these facilities walk to the Grand along the back of the town walls and through some lovely and interesting gardens, its a short cut and pleasant walk. Get a taxi from the airport to the Meriton, only 10 euros. Bus for two cost 4 euros and then you need to walk and find the hotel! St.Olaf's Church is the tallest spire in Tallinn and close to the Meriton Old Town Hotel, so you never get lost!

Now to Tallinn and that title!

Most of the restaurants and bars in Tallinn have very small loo's that are very dimly lit, sometimes just with one candle, cosy but how clean are they? Oulde Hansa is a restaurant with a medievel theme and uses just candles throughout! I thought it was a good gimmick! Tip, if visiting in the winter / autumn and its a bit cold, buy a bowl of Elk soup and bread for just 1 euro at the town hall, very tasty!

BOGS!!!

We went on a full day tour with EstAdventures which had some excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We were a bit disappointed really. Tallinn is only a small town, 2 days is enough to see everything. We were there for 4 days and got a bit bored, so we went on the full day tour of the national park, 50 euros each with EstAdventure. We saw bronze age graves / a bastion tower / a mansion house/ a BOG/ a 'so called ' fishing village and a waterfall. Fishing village consisted of four wood huts and a dilapidated wood boat! Not my idea of a fishing village. BOGS!!!! ..... one pond looks very much like another pond and after two hours walking on planks looking at ponds and moss I almost threw myself in one of the ponds as I 'lost the will to live!'. The waterfall was nice though. We stopped off somewhere for lunch (extra) and this was the best meal we had in Estonia.

Back in Tallinn.... drink off the main square, beer 6.50 euro in the square and 3.50 euro off the square. top tip.... go on the free walking tour of Tallinn near the tourist info centre. Its NOT the tourist info centre its by it. Elle our guide was very entertaining, it last two hours. Give 5 euros tip if you want, otherwise free!

If you want a medievel town and have not been to one before go to Prague / Krakow ot Saltsburg. There is more to do!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lonesomecowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel in the old historic section of Tallinn, this hotel is perfect. It is located just inside the old city wall and, therefore, very quiet location. It is only 5-10 minute walk to the center of the old town where most of the restaurants and shops are located and 20 minute walk to the modern part of Tallinn. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are tiny so be aware. Breakfast was good with many hot and cold selections. I will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virpi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel was situated in the old town. Though it was renovated and modern there were still parts of the old citywall visibel in the hotel. That was funny. Because it is built in the old atmosphere it also had very small rooms. AND very very small beds. I am not so big myself but even i was afraid of falling out of bed at night.The rooms were safe and clean! The hotel offered free use of Spa facilities in another hotel. Nice but we were too busy exploring the city and had no time for Spa. there was a small elevator and they offered free internet. The breakfast was oke. Normal buffet, Good but nothing extraordinary. ( we are spoiled i guess) Location of the hotel is perfect. Once you step out of the hotel you step into the old town with its old atmosphere. Very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaffraanReizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#42 of 86 in Tallinn
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#34 of 86 in Tallinn
987 reviews
0.3 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#16 of 86 in Tallinn
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
#40 of 86 in Tallinn
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 86 in Tallinn
1,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixwell Old Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixwell Old Town Hotel

Address: Lai 49, Tallinn 10133, Estonia (Formerly Meriton Old Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range: $44 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rixwell Old Town Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rixwell Old Town Hotel in Tallinn is the only hotel in town, which is built into the original medieval city wall. The hotel's comfy 41 rooms offer an authentic taste of the Old Town at a reasonable price. This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Tallinn Old Town's restaurant, museum and shopping district. Tallinn's famous Oleviste Church is located on the doorsteps of the hotel and the Town Hall Square is just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixwell Old Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Old Town Tallinn
Hotel Meriton Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing