We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geniune Estonian food”
Review of Liisu Juures

Liisu Juures
Ranked #163 of 1,254 Restaurants in Tallinn
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: International
Description: Liisu Juures is a popular family restaurant, where Estonian national food and family traditions are highly valued. Here you experience Liisu's cordial hospitality and her brother's excellent cooking mastery. You can taste Estonian wines and a variety of best beverages produced in Estonia.
Restaurant details
Description: Liisu Juures is a popular family restaurant, where Estonian national food and family traditions are highly valued. Here you experience Liisu's cordial hospitality and her brother's excellent cooking mastery. You can taste Estonian wines and a variety of best beverages produced in Estonia.
Reviewed November 19, 2018 via mobile

Good local food with no fuss. Lower prices compared to the neighbours on the Town Hall Square or Raekoja Plats in Estonian language. Friendly and fast service.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank MinnaLa58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 125 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2018

This small restaurant is ideally located at the main town square with good views but a feeling of privacy and coziness livened by cheerful upholstery fabrics. I found the service prompt and excellent. After finishing my appetizer, since I was not hungry any more, I asked the waitress whether it was possible to reduce the size of my main course to half. Instead of trying to sell the full main course portion to me, she accommodated my wish, served only half of the main course for half of the listed price. I was satisfied. Also enjoyed the cold local beer on the warm summer night.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kinzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018

On our recent trip there, we stopped there more than once for their good hot food and nice drinks. Their serving personnel are quick and fair and seemed to know us after a few visits. There was no rush to have us leave and on a warm day it was good people-watching and music listening all in one. Loved it.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Anu808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile

2 cold beers , herring and rye bread , good service, friendly and efficient. Right in the centre of town , on a really lovely spot on the square.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank BluePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

The location on Town Hall Square means that the prices are high, which is understandable. However, the quality of food does not catch up with that.
Pike-perch: fish sadly overcooked and at the same time poored over with some sauce; potatoes had definitely been waiting for me for quite some time as they had dried up on the outside and were lukewarm, the salad was honest but would expect something with more taste (yes, even Estonian home-cooked food is not necessarily boring). This 17 euro dish brought back childhood memories from the school canteen... not worth its price. The pork dish shone with its sauerkraut but the pork had partly dried up.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liisu Juures also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Liisu Juures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing