We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Much Food, So Little Time”
Review of Estlander - CLOSED

Estlander
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Much Food, So Little Time”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This restaurant is just off the Town Hall Square, across from a large tourist trap restaurant. Ignore the tourist trap and step into the Estlander for an authentic Estonian meal. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful in explaining what is on the menu. I started with a Lobster Tail Soup... rich and full of lobster, served with a hunk of steaming hot bread. My main course was the "Estonian Special Pride" - 4 meats simmered in a pot overnight (chicken, meatball of elk and deer meat, 2 types of beef). This was accompanied by a stuffed potato, sauerkraut, beans in cream sauce, creamed carrots and marinated pumpkin. There was so much food, there was no way I could finish it. And don't forget to order the Ginger Beer, a house specialty. And all this was about 30 Euros. What a bargain, what a taste, what a meal. I would definitely head back here again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    17
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant for Estonian food”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We came here for a dinner in a cold night. It was quite food and just got one empty table for us.

The waitress were all in traditional dress and they are quite lovely and helpful. They came and gave us a lot of good recommendation. We had "Estlander pate for tasting" and "Pride of Estlander" (with four kind of meats).

They were just interesting. Recommended everyone to try.

I also tried a drink of Kama with ginger... I did not like but my friend liked it a lot.

Anyway, I recommended you to come.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aska_883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Blum, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant I ate in Tallinn”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I was introduced to this Restaurant by my Estonian friend. She was also excited that Estonian food can be so good.
The service was nice and they all dressed up in a middle age style Estonian dress, which add a special atmosphere.
High Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ariyami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good estonian cuisine with high quality service.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The restaurant is located in the very heart of the Old Town. Three dining rooms decorated in old estonian traditions. The food was delicious - they said it is cooked in complete accordance with the old recipes. Anyway I had a stew-like dish of four different types of meat - very tasty. It is served with oven baked garlic stuffed potatoes, oven baked carrots, sour cabbage and beans. As a starter I had jurks - with their proud - home baked bread - looks mouth watering and tastes delicious. You should also try their ginger beer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LokiA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
575 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
“Very much to recommend: unique experience!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The location couldn't be more central, the staff is very motivated, friendly and attentive - they welcome you already outside of the restaurant in their medieval clothings, the interior is old and authentic, so you feel really like centuries ago. Live medieval music is included by artists playing with authentic instruments in authentic clothing. And the food is really good. We recommend the tasting menue: 29 EUR per person, all you can eat. And try the local ginger beer! Overall: very much worth the price, as it's an unique expereince!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Culturetraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estlander also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing