We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food rather bland”
Review of Cru

Cru
Ranked #19 of 925 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Leicester
Level Contributor
166 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Food rather bland”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

A good location, good service. The food was well presented. I had a Caesars salad and then the lamb. The salad was average. The lamb was small. The accompanying vegetables and sauce looked ok but were incredibly bland, and the new potatoes were overcooked. Really average food, given the positive reviews. A tiny selection on the menu so each dish should be stand-out. Unless I just picked the worst two then this was not the case.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank witston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    124
    41
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in heart of Old Town”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

After being recommended this restaurant by our hotel, we were keen to try an Estonian meal on our first night in Tallinn but upon arrival, we were disappointed to be told it was fully booked, so we made a booking for the next night. After walking a few streets, for another restaurant we came across one in the main square (don't eat at any restaurants there as prices, service and food quality are despicable as they target tourists). The following night at Cru, we were given a lovely table inside. The atmosphere was so cosy, clean and the plates were made in Estonia. There was even a video of the plating area of the kitchen. Each of us ordered a different dish and every dish was so beautifully presented and so tasty with such fresh ingredients ( the asparagus was so crisp and fresh ) . We had white fish, seafood pasta , chicken and figs and the Estonian beef fillet...each with its own flavours and colours. Although we were quite full, the desserts were so nice that we succumbed to the temptation and enjoyed each mouthful of the berry sorbet/meringue and dream brûlée. 2 courses and drinks and fine dining and great friendly service by our waitress, Miriam, and the bill came out cheaper than the non comparable restaurant in the town square . We knew we had been "ripped off" as tourists the night before! We loved Cru so much that we went back for lunch today and we were all happy that we could order the meals that we couldn't choose between last night. We were happy to have found one of the best restaurants in Tallinn for food quality, ambience , service, location and will always have wonderful memories of our stay in Tallinn because of our visits to Cru!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen1964Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good and not too expensive”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

inside the old town it's a nice elegant and very pleasant place. you can eat outisde or inside. the service is good. the food is very good, and the price is reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Viaggintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapla County, Estonia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous find amongst many in old town”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Some of the best of Estonian cuisine :) the service is a little quiet but sweet- as it IS Estonia !

The ingredients are as local as possible and it certainly lives up to its top 50 restaurants rating.

It's comfy but averagely pricey apps 8-15
Mains 10-28
Deserts around 5

But the black bread here is some of the best I've had!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cpucc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“perfect respite”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

After looking for a couple restaurants suggested by our guidebook, and being turned off, we found Cru by virtue of liking the look of the side courtyard that it is situated on. It was a wonderful surprise to be served such perfect, elegant, interesting but understated food. Soft touch of regional flavors and presentation, polished and attentive service. A gem.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MooselipsSchenectady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cru also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Cru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing