We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Estonian Health Care Museum
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Review Highlights
Estonian Health Care Museum

This museum helps childen with their bodies and how to keep it in good working order. It is at 30... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Peter M
,
Melbourne, Australia
Fantastic museum!

This is one of the most interesting museums I have ever been to! It has lots of information and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Dani2295
,
Suffolk, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 153 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tallinn
from $42.79
More Info
from $28.53
More Info
from $58.00
More Info
from $14.83
More Info
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
119
24
7
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
119
24
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews human body all ages a lot of fun children and adults interactive fun educational experience two hours couple of hours top floor science death exhibits exposition biology display medicine information
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 153 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2019 via mobile

We visited this place because it was about the last museum that we frequent Tallinn visitors did not know from before. But the experience was just great! Physical and mental properties of human beings are presented in variety of interactive, educative and inspiring ways. History, life and death are covered.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank EijaMaija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2019

Went there with my family and I was suprised how large the exhibition actually was as it doesn't really look like a large museum outside. You can easily spend 1-2 hours here just browsing through the different objects. Had some nice interactive elements there as well that kept my daughter interested as well (8 years old). Kids under 9 can get in free and for adults it was 8 € and for students 5 € for the entrance.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Kalle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2019

And it is here that we entered the realm of positivism, where regional discrepancies (cultures, historical trajectories, perceptions of perceptions ad infinitum) were meant to cease under the optimistic mindset from a theory of everything. Content ad told us that the museum would (also) introduce the history of Estonian medicine; if there were any at all, it was kept to a minimum anyway. The museum was more about the body than a history.

And yet the complexity the discipline would easily surge through simple talks, for it was not only concerned with the body and evolution but more importantly how it could get much worse with interactions with virtually anything. It was thus a rollercoaster journey, to go through our body system by system, knowing what they were supposed to do (sounding more like a science / biology museum, with this emphasis, at times) and then got to the point where diseases were to ensure.

And towards the top floor was one of my favourite areas. It was a small room on ‘death’, and here find yourself under the treatment of eight religious views with their mourning rituals all in one display. It crossed the boundary of evidence-based knowledge that we’ve walked through, into how we could make sense of the something we wished to have known. It was debatable though, that below the display, that the ‘five stages of grief’ was prescribed as it was. Shouldn’t it be in the realm of social science – hence subject to the cruel realities of particularism, especially as a model pretty much critiqued – rather than in the way as to how ‘scientific facts’ were to be shown as in the rest of the museum?

The mysteries of how we could make sense of and tell the difference between odours were nowhere near to being solved. At least the museum cared to give us a ten-category system for all perceivable odours, numbering around 10000.

The top exhibition floor had a temp on sugar. Just pretend you’re there and the surgical air will make you hungry.

~master jonjon

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank thejonpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2018

Very educational experience, and we should have found it more interesting than we did. If you want to learn about life, death and the human body, it's good, but if you're interested in Tallinn and Estonia, it's irrelevant.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank AlanHassall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2018

Exceptionally well laid out and illustrated. You need at least a couple of hours to do it justice. Includes some interesting practical experiments. Something of interest for all ages and levels of medical knowledge. Exceeded my expectations.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank BobC32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews