We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not romantic at all, but candle-lit”
Review of III Draakon

III Draakon
Ranked #10 of 38 Quick Bites in Tallinn
Price range: $2 - $17
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Located under the 12th Century Raekoda (Town Hall) building in the main square of Old Town Tallinn, Kolmas Dragon (or the Third Dragon) is a small medieval-themed tavern. This charming eatery with its beautiful-period interior is hosted daily by a group of petulant housekeepers whose job it is to entertain all-comers with their brusque and rude service manner. However this is all purely theatrical - a style that is closer to the behaviour that one would have received in the medieval ages. Specialities that are served include beef ribs, elk soup, savoury pastries, pickles from a barrel, teas, wines and the famous house beer. All those who enter should therefore be ready for not only tasty foods and beverages but also to some exceptionally entertaining service.
Reviewed June 30, 2016

In a few narrow, candlelit rooms below the beautiful town hall building in the central square (well-worth visiting) is a medieval themed pub and pie shop far more entertaining and relaxing than the nearby Old Hansa restaurant where they really ram their medieval-ness down your throat. No menu, you just order at the narrow bar from a medievally robed 'wench', get your (rather thin, hence the 4 stars) beer in a clay pitcher and your pie (sweet and savoury, elk and veggie options) and/or elk soup, and either sit in the dim candlelight or outside under the Gothic arches of the town hall. Excellent alternative to all the overpriced restaurants that circle the town square.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aihammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (3,117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 617 of 3,117 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2016

we stopped in this little Tavern for breakfast we started with the Elk soup which was divine. Served up in a clay pot. Then I had to have a pie which was also delicious, there were 4 types to choose from I had the carrot and then the spinach and fetta cheese. They were so good. I am going back tomorrow for the apple pastry. The Highlight was spearing a salted cucumber out of a large barrel. The ambience was perfect and the shop keeper in theam of the medieval times. Loved it and it was cheap

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keza69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

We checked out this cafe (tavern?) Upon the recommendation of our guide from Free walking tours tallinn. It helps that the free walking tour end at the same spot.

Most people go for the elk soup and ox ribs. Generally tasty, but I found the elk soup a little too salty and the ox rib a little overwhelming after a few bites. The pastry are pretty tasty too.

The staff does the medival act, which is nice, but some did not bother and were just downright rude.

Overall, will still recommend for you to check it out.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Tengawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

I went in for soup on a rainy day. It is most certainly a medieval theme inside. The place is dark, you get your food and pay for it right inside the door and you sit where there is space.
No utensils are provided. They will tell you "You can use your own weapons if you have them!
If you go in expecting medieval fun you won't be disappointed but don't take the place too seriously. The elk soup is certainly worth the €2 and the pastries are fresh. Overall the food is quite fatty and salty but it keeps with the theme.
There is no reason to go back as it really is a one time experience, but do go if you are in town looking for an authentic lunch give it a try! It's definitely the cheapest meal you will find in the main square.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Zexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2016

This was a fun one - I went in to try the elk soup, but saw someone else eating an ox rib, which was enough to change my mind. The rib was great - I'm not sure what was in the seasoning they use, but it was really quite good. Still wondering what the elk soup tastes like :) The interior was very mid-ages styled, and it was clear a lot of effort had been put in to make it that way (even the bathroom was dressed up to look "old"). Staff was a bit abrupt, but that actually worked with the atmosphere.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank castironskillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed III Draakon also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to III Draakon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.