We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tallinn
from $33.12
More Info
from $85.65
More Info
from $20.00
More Info
from $45.68
More Info
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveler rating
41
45
16
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
41
45
16
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews entrance fee take photos old town library dormitory acoustics signage building chamber history street purchase wall estonia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 106 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile

It’s easy to miss since it is hidden behind the wall but do search it out. A nominal fee grants you access to several ancient rooms hidden away. All are really neat but the library is truly amazing. You can visit the local artist and purchase a had made piece of art if you wish. All in all, it’s an incredible experience.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Z0siaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

Hidden behind an entrance, with little signage, but once u step into the courtyard, it's amazing to find such a beautiful site there!
A lot of people tended to step in to take photos and then leave, but it's worth heading upstairs...even tho the Euro5 entrance fee may seem a little much!
The site is small, a few rooms which were the monks' dormitory, chapel, and both upstairs and downstairs are the old library...all very interesting rooms with such history, which is told to u by the lady who meets you when u enter.
She is truly passionate about this, so take the few mins to listen to her which will give u a little more insight into the history of his monastery.
As other posters have said, it's disappointing to find that there's a separate entrance fee for the cloisters and courtyard next door!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Anfield33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018

... but I got to see it for free. It seems that there is a 3 Euro fee to enter the cloister, but when I was there, no attendant was on duty, the door was open, so I slipped in. It's one of the oldest buildings in the city, but apparently hasn't been fully restored since a band of Lutherans attacked in the 1500s. It's quiet, peaceful, overgrown, with a few panels detailing the history of the site.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank LMOverby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

We were walking along a street, Mueuerivahe, which was parallel to the city wall. We saw a small entrance alley off to the side and a courtyard beyond. We saw the sign for the Dominican Monastery Claustrum but we didn't understand what it was. We felt like intruders but we entered into the courtyard. The atmosphere was instantly calming. There was no one there but we did see the sign for the museum so we felt better about stealing a look. It was so quiet, peaceful, and ancient. Apparently, this is part of a 1246 church building. We noticed the chalk markings on one courtyard door which let us know the Starsingers had been there this year. The year mark had been erased and the 18 added, so the markings were probably from the year before. There were several "cute" features like the ladder garden and the old birdhouse which could be replicated at home! Afterwards, I read that an artist sometimes works in this space. We were grateful and more relaxed to continue exploring Tallinn. Later in the week, we went by another time but the door to the access alley was closed. Stop by if you can. There is no charge and it feels good.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank lynclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2018

I found the cloisters while looking for the Catholic Cathedral. Very impressive. This part of town reminded me so much of those gorgeous streets in Italian towns: nit what I expected in Estonia.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank scmp79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews