We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contemporary Art Museum of Estonia
Review Highlights
Small art museum with free entrance

From outside, the building looks quite shabby. It is a former office building on a deck of an old... read more

Reviewed October 23, 2018
Mikael F
,
Vantaa, Finland
A fantastic building

A very modern building which has desrvedly won international awards. The setting was lovely at the... read more

Reviewed July 2, 2016
nagsNorwich
,
Norwich, United Kingdom
Read all 12 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Tallinn
from $12.56
More Info
from $12.56
More Info
from $79.94
More Info
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveler rating
8
3
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
8
3
0
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 12 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2016

A very modern building which has desrvedly won international awards. The setting was lovely at the end of the park which houses several other museums. You wandered around the exhibits laid out on five floors rather than being guided around in a set directional pattern, but you got used to this. I really enjoyed my visit here

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank nagsNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Tallinn's Contemporary Art Museum EKKM should not be confused with KUMU, the official Modern Art Museum that Trip Advisor have, for some strange reason, insisted on giving us a picture of above! The Museum of Contemporary Art is where you will see the alternative and contemporary shows that give you some unexpected insights into Tallinn and Estonia. When I was there this August, I was lucky enough to see some amazing video works by Mark Raidpere, the artist chosen to represent Estonia at the Venice Biennale in 2005. I was struck by his video where he jogs around the massive Soviet-style housing estate he grew up on, the soundtrack full of reminiscences in conversations with his parents, and also the juxtaposition of a riot in Tallinn in 2007 with the calm and prosperity to Stockholm. I didn't know about the riots (did you?) and so it made me go read about them. This was the unofficial Tallinn I had wanted to find throughout my trip,and I was glad to get there

But it was difficult to find! If you find Pohja Street on a Tallinn map, it shows a street down by the dock. What it doesn't tell you is that the name covers the whole little enclave from the street down to the dock. If you know that, you should be able to find the museum. Just ask! It's in an abandoned warehouse. This is the website: http://www.ekkm.ee/en/. Sadly, it doesn't have a map! But it's well worth the visit.

Date of experience: August 2013
3  Thank ChrisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: May 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2016
Google Translation

Date of experience: August 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews