We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffet lunch with a view”
Review of Cafe Swiss

Cafe Swiss
Ranked #243 of 955 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Café Swiss is located on the eighth floor. It is a lively, cozy and comfortable place to enjoy international cuisine and Estonian cuisine as well as Swiss delicacies. The food is served in buffet-style as well as a la carte and there are also chefs who prepare dishes just in front of your eyes at your service. Cozy atmosphere and eclectic menu make Café Swiss one of the best eating places in the city.
Restaurant details
Description: Café Swiss is located on the eighth floor. It is a lively, cozy and comfortable place to enjoy international cuisine and Estonian cuisine as well as Swiss delicacies. The food is served in buffet-style as well as a la carte and there are also chefs who prepare dishes just in front of your eyes at your service. Cozy atmosphere and eclectic menu make Café Swiss one of the best eating places in the city.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Buffet lunch with a view”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nice venue for lunch. Their buffet is very well assorted and although the quality/variety tends to vary from day-to-day/week-to-week, the standard is good and you can always find something you fancy. Considering the location (five star hotel), view and assortment, I would consider it good value. If you are staying in Swissotel or are in the area and want a save bet, it will not disappoint.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank savimarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of best values in Tallinn for lunch”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Forget the full buffet. Go for main course and soup only and for 10 eur you get very well made lunch - and it's all you can eat, with big selection. A kinda of great find!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tallest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lunch buffet”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I had high expectations for this one but was greatly disappointed. There's not a lot of choices. You have two types of soup, salad bar can barely be called a salad bar, appetizers had good presentation but all of them tasted bland, main dishes were cold (beef, pork, 2 types of fish with 4 choices of side dishes: pesto gnocchi, salad, fried potatoes, steamed broccoli), and there is nothing special about the desserts. I only really liked the french onion soup (which isn't served in a conventional way) and the raspberry sorbet.

Our server was attentive but I got blank stares when I asked other servers for something (eg. when I asked where I can find the teaspoon for my sorbet)

I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lounge at Swiss Hotel”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had lounge at Lobby of Swiss Hotel, first should have only drinks while wife visited Stockmann, service was so excellent that had another drink, great vodka/lime was made by bartender, reading newspaper... wife came and we was told that of course we can eat, had nice cheeseburger lunch, taste was so nice, french redwine excellent ;-)) waitress, young man, enjoy with use when choosed wine gave some special and we can be 100% sure we come back. Have been in Swiss htoel once before, then we had great service to... its not probably Cafe Swiss, but food was from there and at lobby can enjoy too, thanks for this 13.10 saturday afternoon. Sure there is always great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Nice view of the city”
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

For 20 euros, the breakfast buffet has a great selection of very good food including freshly squeezed juices (ex.: green apple, kiwi, and mint). Located on the 8th floor, it offers a great view of the city.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank azur00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Swiss also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Cafe Swiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing