We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Museum”

Lennusadam Seaplane Harbour
Ranked #2 of 296 things to do in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome aboard! Seaplane Harbour is an exciting maritime museum in Tallinn, Estonia for the whole family. Located in the unique and historic seaplane hangar, our interactive exhibition includes a real submarine from mid-1930s, seaplane Short 184, a 100-year-old ice-breaker, two cinemas, many simulators and much more. And while you are here, take a look at one of the nicest souvenir shops in Tallinn or eat local food at our restaurant MARU.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Good Museum”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This museum is quite new and I enjoyed it very much. The space is nicely designed, and I spent several hours visiting the different parts. A very nice and interesting place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaRa4903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,641
    528
    112
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Interesting but misleading name”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This relatively new museum is well-designed for its purpose but is a bit confusing in its overall purpose and technical features. We were given no helpful guidance on entry and found it challenging to use the informative stations that allow you to send their text to your personal email address. It's a great feature once you figure it out, but we were among many who had to call for a museum employee for assistance. The museum offers displays of boats from different eras, ice racing boats, and an old submarine, as well as many buoys, mine sweepers and miscellaneous other sea-related items. There are some fun hands-on exhibits too. I guess my biggest issue stems from the fact the name offers little clue about what to expect nd the presentations are not cohesive. I wouldnot go out of my way to visit ths attraction, although we were told it has been exceptionally popular, celebrating its 200,000th visitor while we were there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sbrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Submarine worth a visit”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Most information leaflets give a wrong opening time (from the 1st of October it starts at 11, not 10 o´clock). The result was a crowd at the doors and an uncontrolled system inside at the ticket counter (takes muscles and nerves to keep your place and try to get forward with the local older women pushing their way through).
They also had some problem with the lights, so the first 30 minutes we had trouble seeing any of the signs and explanations. When that was fixed, we could better get to know the stuff around.
The highlight for us was the submarine Lembit. A bit suffocating and also here the logistics failed, when the people tried to get up and down the stairs at the same time. A person guiding the crowd would have been a great asset.
So - overall the place has interesting things to see and good stories to tell, but the logistics need a big change.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MsKlimt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Ona rainy day in Tallinn we decided to give this museum a try and was surprised at what was in store. About 20 minute walk from the old town it is a mixture of interactive activities and museum.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Manucaz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A very interesting museum with a large number of exhibits. My highlight was the Lembit submarine.
There are lots of things to keep people of all ages entertained. You can dress up in various military costumes and email the photo's to a friend, visit the icebreaker ship which is docked outside plus loads of other things.
A very enjoyable few hours were spent here!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank StockportMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lennusadam Seaplane Harbour also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Lennusadam Seaplane Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing